We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Prefect place for family escape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Planet Holiday Hotel
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Prefect place for family escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Located at the center of the city, it is deal place for a family to spend week end.
Nice lobby followed by lift to guest rooms overviewing the pool on roof top.
rooms are clean and spacious. Not much choice in breakfast on the restaurant on top floor.
Booking should be made through local contacts, it is expensive for foreigners booking directly, not less than 100USD/day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amitbhattu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    83
    49
    11
    8
See reviews for
35
32
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed there for 1 night recently and plan to go back next weekend.The Hotel has something for all ages and International tastes.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macca082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

The hotel is old and everything inside the room is old. The front desk are friendly people but they don't speak fluent English. There is nothing to see in the neighborhood, but it is the nearest hotel of the company I will be visiting.

Terrible telephone system! Cannot call room to room, all I hear is static, and when there is a dial tone and I got connected, the call is cut after a few seconds. When I informed their front desk, they said there is no problem and did not send any technician to check it out!

The hotel restaurant is serving good food but the staff who took our order cannot speak English. She served the dessert first and the main dish after 20 minutes. Moreover, there is one dish we ordered that was never served.

Now the painful part was when I checked out. After paying and my baggages with me, I told the front desk I am having breakfast in their restaurant. After 1 hour I proceeded to the ferry station, but on the way I noticed I forgot a bag full of giveaways inside my room! I rushed back to the hotel, and when I asked the front desk, she said "Oh yes there is a bag of goodies there." They knew but they did not inform me while I was eating breakfast for one hour in their restaurant, not even attempted to contact me through my celphone.

Sorry, I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noel_mrcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batam hotels

Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

Bad
1. Booked twin room but got room with double bed.
2. Couldn't check in at 2.30pm cos the rooms were uncleaned
3. Toilet had very strong sewage smell
4. Staff at Front Counter very bad in English. Didn't understand what we said most of the time
5. Room had very bad soundproof. Loud booming music can be heard in room at 7th floor, and the music runs through the night
6. 22nd storey Beer Garden is crap.
7. All hotel's website quoted in SGD. Deposit paid in SGD as well. But was charged in IDR at hotel. After conversion, I had to pay almost SGD $10 per room
8. Rate is exclusive breakfast. Pretty expensive. Can get other hotel with breakfast and wifi for prolly another 10 bucks more.
9. Hotel staff tried to get us vehicle to Ferry Terminal @ exorbitant price

Good
1. Located very near to the Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal
2. 21st floor resto & lounge had very good ambience. Excpet the fact that the live band only could play very old songs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

A good hotel for its price and rating with a large and varied breakfast buffet. The real qulaity showed up when we found out that our tour agent had not properly booked a return ferry from Batam to Singapore and there were not any return seats until late at night.

The staff stepped up and not only called the ferry company, they did not take no for an answer and got us a booking on the ferry we had originally scheduled.

The only downside is that this hotel is not as close to the Nagoya shopping complex as advertised and the taxi costs in Batam are extremely high. The hotel car is prohibitively expensive but fortunatly my spouse speaks Basha Indonesia so she was able to neogoatiate a dedicated private taxi for the trip. I would recommend that if staying at this hotel you either rent a car or arranged for a dedicated car and driver at the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank China_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

this hotel is one of the better hotel at batam in term of room size but its a pity the disco on the 1st floor is very noisy all the way to my room on the 7th floor.
breakfast is quite nice and the staff is quite helpful

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Planet holiday is a pretty renowned hotel in Batam, and because it's one of the tallest buildings in the city, we could always find our way from around the area back to the hotel on foot. It is within walking distance from Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre.

Rooms were clean and service was very prompt (especially when ESPN was not working well on one night when we were watching a soccer match). The service crew responded within 10 minutes and solved the issues shortly. Front desk staff were extremely helpful with queries on directions.

We topped up our package for a room upgrade to a deluxe room and were given a room on a high floor. The view was great, and if you ask for a city view room, you will be able to map how you would like to walk to the malls or surrounding areas.

Breakfast has good variety, but we were sorely disappointed on the first night with the inclusive buffet dinner. There were a handful of dishes, so we decided to forfeit our inclusive dinner the next night and ate at the street hawker stalls.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unpolished_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.2 mi away
Allium Batam Hotel
Allium Batam Hotel
#3 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmoni Hotel
Harmoni Hotel
#30 of 94 in Batam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Batam
Hotel Novotel Batam
#3 of 6 in Batu Ampar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#4 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
0.7 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Holiday Hotel

Property: Planet Holiday Hotel
Address: Jl. Raja Ali Haji | Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Holiday Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be impressed with Batam's Prestigious Landmark, Planet Holiday Hotel takes comfort and elegance to a new level. True luxury with world-class facilities providing every distinctive customer service satisfactions. Just 5 minutes from Harbour Bay International Ferry Terminal or 30 minutes from Hang Nadim International Airport. We are located midway between Nagoya and Jodoh in the heart of Batam`s main business district close to excellent shopping and entertainment facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Planet Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing