We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Think twice before booking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planet Holiday Hotel
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
1 review
“Think twice before booking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Bad
1. Booked twin room but got room with double bed.
2. Couldn't check in at 2.30pm cos the rooms were uncleaned
3. Toilet had very strong sewage smell
4. Staff at Front Counter very bad in English. Didn't understand what we said most of the time
5. Room had very bad soundproof. Loud booming music can be heard in room at 7th floor, and the music runs through the night
6. 22nd storey Beer Garden is crap.
7. All hotel's website quoted in SGD. Deposit paid in SGD as well. But was charged in IDR at hotel. After conversion, I had to pay almost SGD $10 per room
8. Rate is exclusive breakfast. Pretty expensive. Can get other hotel with breakfast and wifi for prolly another 10 bucks more.
9. Hotel staff tried to get us vehicle to Ferry Terminal @ exorbitant price

Good
1. Located very near to the Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal
2. 21st floor resto & lounge had very good ambience. Excpet the fact that the live band only could play very old songs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    75
    46
    10
    8
See reviews for
32
27
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

A good hotel for its price and rating with a large and varied breakfast buffet. The real qulaity showed up when we found out that our tour agent had not properly booked a return ferry from Batam to Singapore and there were not any return seats until late at night.

The staff stepped up and not only called the ferry company, they did not take no for an answer and got us a booking on the ferry we had originally scheduled.

The only downside is that this hotel is not as close to the Nagoya shopping complex as advertised and the taxi costs in Batam are extremely high. The hotel car is prohibitively expensive but fortunatly my spouse speaks Basha Indonesia so she was able to neogoatiate a dedicated private taxi for the trip. I would recommend that if staying at this hotel you either rent a car or arranged for a dedicated car and driver at the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank China_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

this hotel is one of the better hotel at batam in term of room size but its a pity the disco on the 1st floor is very noisy all the way to my room on the 7th floor.
breakfast is quite nice and the staff is quite helpful

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Planet holiday is a pretty renowned hotel in Batam, and because it's one of the tallest buildings in the city, we could always find our way from around the area back to the hotel on foot. It is within walking distance from Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre.

Rooms were clean and service was very prompt (especially when ESPN was not working well on one night when we were watching a soccer match). The service crew responded within 10 minutes and solved the issues shortly. Front desk staff were extremely helpful with queries on directions.

We topped up our package for a room upgrade to a deluxe room and were given a room on a high floor. The view was great, and if you ask for a city view room, you will be able to map how you would like to walk to the malls or surrounding areas.

Breakfast has good variety, but we were sorely disappointed on the first night with the inclusive buffet dinner. There were a handful of dishes, so we decided to forfeit our inclusive dinner the next night and ate at the street hawker stalls.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unpolished_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

On the 5th of september,i was swimming around 5.00p.m. when i was swimming a glass was stuck on my foot. Then my father inform the pool staff, the pool staff inform the duty manager. The duty manager, ask whether we need to go to the hospital. We went to the hospital without any staff accompany us. Later, we we return to the hotel. The duty manager give us a free porridge and the hotel pay for the hospital bill. We hope in future if anything happen the staff should accompany the guest the the hospital.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mileystargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

I stayed at this Hotel from October 2007 to February 2009 as a long stay guest. Facilities and services is excellent. Staffs are friendly.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexlee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I really love the stay in this hotel. It was one that was truly relaxing. Very friendly and helpful staff who attended to our needs very promptly. I was very surprised that even though their staff couldnt speak excellent English, they could understand what we want to a certain extent. I am going yet again in Aug 2009 for another short trip to the same hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAZZYBEZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.2 mi away
Harmoni Hotel
Harmoni Hotel
#29 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allium Batam Hotel
Allium Batam Hotel
#3 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#4 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#19 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Palace Hotel
Pacific Palace Hotel
#35 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand I Hotel
Grand I Hotel
#12 of 90 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Holiday Hotel

Property: Planet Holiday Hotel
Address: Jodoh Jln. Ali Haji Raja, Riau Islands Province 29453, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Holiday Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be impressed with Batam's Prestigious Landmark, Planet Holiday Hotel takes comfort and elegance to a new level. True luxury with world-class facilities providing every distinctive customer service satisfactions. Just 5 minutes from Harbour Bay International Ferry Terminal or 30 minutes from Hang Nadim International Airport. We are located midway between Nagoya and Jodoh in the heart of Batam`s main business district close to excellent shopping and entertainment facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Planet Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing