We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for family” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Planet Holiday Hotel
Ranked #24 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not for family”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stay at this hotel for 1 night. First impression, the service was not good, no room boy assisting to carry my bag or show me to my room. The lobby is smoking area, so if you bring your family to Batam, dont stay there. They also have pub which seem famous at Batam. The toilet is not good, but it quite large, they have bathtub and shower (since i stay at junior suite). My room face the pool, i see 2 Jacuzzi there, but haven't got chance to try it yet.
I try breakfast at 17 floor, the executive, but it seem nothing exclusive from that breakfast, not much option available for western food.

Room Tip: They say that some rooms are disturbed by the pub sound, make sure you check your room are good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ipin4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    74
    44
    10
    8
See reviews for
32
25
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The room is clean. The security is good. The food is good. Next to the hotel are a few shops where we can buy extra mineral water, and other needs. It is only 10 minutes drive to Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal to Singapore. The hotel taxi service is very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnyvale74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was my 4th stay in the hotel. The 1st & 2nd stay was in 2009 & 2010 repectively. My 3rd stay was for valentines day celebration in feb 2012. Got a good deal for the executive suite promo rate at $100 nett inclusive of breakfast for 2 pax and mini bar items. The room was just perfect, nice, cooling, spacious etc. Since it was an off peak period, breakfast was not crowded and selection of food is good. Unlike the previous 2 experience, Jacuzzi pool was somehow overheated this time. We had our dinner on Top 21 which is located on 21st level and had a good view of the batam/singapore night view. Overall, a prefect stay.

My 4th stay was 8/6 - 10/6/2012 (Fri to Sun). Executive suite was fully taken so we had the Premier suite for 2 nights, breakfast for 2 pax and mini bar items. This promo includes a free aroma therapy massage at The Natural Spa on the 5th floor. I was rather impressed with the service and tipped them at the end of the session. However, this time falls within the June holidays so the price is $128 nett per room night. Jacuzzi is back to normal this time. But breakfast was really unpleasant on Sunday due to the hotel running full house. All dishes were whipped out & slow replenishment of food when we reached the coffee house at 9am. Another unpleasant experience was that eventhough we were on the 11th floor, we can feel the loud music vibration from the disco till 5 or 6am in the morning. The disco & KTV had many free lance guests relation local girls so it is not a good choice for any female or if you are travelling with family to patronize.

Staff are friendly and courteous. The hotel can improve their services by implementing free shuttle to Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall / HarbourBay Ferry Terminal / Airport etc.

Room Tip: Request a room on the right side of the hotel as the disco is on located on the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leesll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed for a night, for its price it is considered value for money.
Clean room, nice swimming pool and decent breakfast.

What I don't like abt this hotel are;
Location - there is nothing to look forward to nearby.
Room Service - Firstly, when the safe cannot be opened and it took them abt half an hour to send somebody to the room. Secondly, request for some ice cubes and it took them 15mins.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Li33iee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 1night in end Feb2012. This was the 2nd time I stayed in Plant Holiday.
Overall I find it value for money.

There's a snooker salon located just outside the hotel. Hotel has a big lobby and breakfast spread was good. Nice swimming pool.

The hotel is about 10mins drive away from Nagoya Hill shopping mall.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The room is spacious and you can see a big part of batam dowtown if you stay in high floors.
Room is clean but smell of fading cigarette smell. Bathtub is kinda small even for asian. Not a great place to be when you are not a smoker like me as people are smoking indoor. The food at the restaurant is nice but limited choice. The famous Nagoya Hill Shopping is 5min ride and the ferry terminal is just 15 min ride.

Room Tip: Choose high floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoteru_critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Rooms, cleanliness and services are excellent. The lobby decor might be too much though, too extravagant. Buffet breakfast are excellent, you can have various local cuisine. The view and the location are not that great. Rooms are great, typical 4 star hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.2 mi away
Harmoni Hotel
Harmoni Hotel
#30 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allium Batam Hotel
Allium Batam Hotel
#3 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#19 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Palace Hotel
Pacific Palace Hotel
#34 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Batam
Hotel Novotel Batam
#28 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#4 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Holiday Hotel

Property: Planet Holiday Hotel
Address: Jl. Raja Haji, Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Holiday Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be impressed with Batam's Prestigious Landmark, Planet Holiday Hotel takes comfort and elegance to a new level. True luxury with world-class facilities providing every distinctive customer service satisfactions. Just 5 minutes from Harbour Bay International Ferry Terminal or 30 minutes from Hang Nadim International Airport. We are located midway between Nagoya and Jodoh in the heart of Batam`s main business district close to excellent shopping and entertainment facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Booking.com so you can book your Planet Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing