We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Improvement required” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden View Hotel Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden View Hotel Batam
Ranked #37 of 94 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Improvement required”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is my first time staying at a hotel in Batam so i'm not sure the standard of Batam hotel.
My staff training was conducted here at the 2nd floor Kasuari room. We checked in late afternoon.
Room is spacious and mine is located at ninth floor, facing the swimming pool. The window was very wide with beautiful view of Batam. Bedsheet and towel a bit yellowish. Bathroom with a bathtub, old but clean. Great breakfast. Wifi available at every floor. Good connectivity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junqitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience. We are happy that you are delightful with our location, breakfast and wifi connection.

We apologise for the towels and bedsheets. Please ensure that your comment has been taken seriously by our housekeeping department will take the necessary actions to ensure professional cleanliness standards.

once agian, Thank you for your feedback.We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.


Regards,

Golden View Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    60
    61
    13
    9
See reviews for
50
26
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Golden View Hotel for one night during our 2D1N trip in Batam - it was a tour package. We have been given a deluxe room - if I'm not mistaken - at level 9, facing the Golden Park, ponds, houses, and a beach from far away. The room was spacious and clean. Very minor stain on the blanket though. We slept tight that night, and there was no bed bug. Open WiFi signal was great. Everything was satisfactory, however, the towels really had strange stench. They just didn't smell nice. Besides, the two bottles of complimentary drinking water had strange stench too! Anyway, kettle was provided so water could be boiled at anytime. There was a nice pool yet we noticed people swimming in their normal attire, not swimsuit. Somehow, we got annoyed with that...
The nearby Golden Prawn Restaurant did not impress us. We didn't find the foods very delicious, some of the dishes appeared to be salty. It was the only restaurant in walking distance. There were a bar and a cafe - Cuppa Cafe - in the hotel though, meals could be ordered to be sent to room as well. Breakfast at Cuppa Cafe was average. Initially, we wanted to try some local food stalls at the street located just outside of  the hotel premises, yet we were advised not to take those foods by tour guide to prevent unnecessary stomachache. Famous malls such as Nagoya Hill Mall and Batam Central Mall are very far from the hotel. Location wise, it was not that ideal. Reason being that there were abundant of interesting stuffs and foods in the malls, as well as various kinds of massage - especially Nagoya Hill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. It has been constructive inputs.

All has been shared with our team. Regarding the towels in your room, your feedback had been communicated with our Housekeeper to took immediate action. Going forward, you can be assured that all towels will be fresh-smelling.

Our recreation manager also had been informed of the particular guest who was inappropriately dressed without a proper swimsuit. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and will look into strict rules enforcement.

We will do our best to rectify all that you have mentioned. It is our goal to provide a better service to all our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Golden View.

Regards,

Golden View Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Attended 4-day retreat at the hotel. Suffered from overpowring artificial fragrance and chemicals from toilet auto air fresheners and packets of fragrance refills that are placed almost every where e.g. in the function halls, common corridors, hotel rooms. Yes, not just in the toilets! The fragrance refills are placed at every other air-conditioning outlets and the auto fresheners at columns in the function hall. The auto fresheners squirt chemicals every few minutes and we had nowhere to run to (as we had to be at our seats in the function hall). SuggestIon: engage professional air duct cleaning contractor to clean the air duct system.

Hand towels were not provided by default. We had to request for them. Cleaned towels came with too strong fragrance, felt powdery, and were worn and had old stains on them.

For safety, bathroom design needs improvement to prevent spillage of water onto floor.

Food
Some dishes were too salty and were not healthy choices. Some fresh and unfresh items were mixed and served e.g. cut spring onions (the smell is already off) for the porridge. Porridge was not maintained hot. Butter was always already melted. Need to improve on taste of dishes (but not using more msg) and freshness of ingredients.

Rooms are spacious. This is a plus point.

Staff members are in general courteous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassidy354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time writing favourable feedback on your trip and stayed recently at Golden View Hotel. I have noticed the challenges of getting improvement for the better atmosphere with natural fragrances. We have remained to the laundry to make softener and standard freshener. Food quality also change the system based on standard cooking method.

Once again, Thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Golden View Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed there for just a night. Actually room is included in the package as well.worth the amount paid for. Did not expect the room will be that huge to accommodate 2 pax.the bed was comfortable. There are minor stains on the carpet but it was just a minor problem.

There was a very bad area of leakage just beside of our room. Along the corridor we saw one of the room left their leftovers which they had ordered a day before. It was still there the very next day.

The pool attendant was kind enough to let us swim without our proper swimming attire as we have forgotten to bring one.

There was fitness center, steam and sauna services as well. The equipment of the fitness center was somehow rather not functioning pretty well but thanks to the fitness center staff as well for allowing us to use the facilities without my shoes on.

The breakfast was just bare minimum. Very few options to choose from but then again worth the price we had paid for.

All in all. It was a memorable short getaway for my husband and I as we enjoyed almost everything from the trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavithrapadiachee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valued comments. We're very appreciate your feedback and insights. We have also noted your comments regarding the room services and the stain. Please be assured that we learn from your feedback to promptly address and improve on overall service.

We are glad that overall you had a good time and we look forward to having you with us again.

Best Regards,

Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is somewhat a 3 to 4 star hotel, where the room is very spaceous, 1 queen size and a single bed just for both of us. The only qualms I had was the bath tub is only good for 1 person.

Over all the room, the food/buffet downstairs are superb, the location is ok if you like the seafoods in the gold prawn restauran i think but it's very far from the mall.

Room Tip: If you're nod fond of Malay or Chinese food there's a Western restaurant on the 2nd level wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rye-Yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thanks for choosing Golden View Hotel during your visit in Batam.

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and we are so delighted to receive such an excellent feedback from yourselves. And We also provide free shuttle services to selected malls such as DC mall, BCS, and Nagoya hill. A short 10-15 minutes away from Golden View Hotel.

Once again, Thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.


Best Regards,

Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at Golden View Hotel for 2 nights in the Superior room on the 7th floor. I would say that it is very spacious & clean. The only problem I have with the room is the bathroom. It floods the bathroom after each shower & drainage problem of the basin.

Wifi in the room is very weak. Maybe we were staying in the last room so signal is very weak. Another problem is smoking is permitted in the lobby & Cuppa Cafe.

There is not much variety for breakfast.

We are able to rent a pool table for S$5 an hour. Swimming pool is clean & is great for kids to play.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyThen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation!

Thank you very much for your stay and the excellent feedback. We have noted all the comments regarding our bathroom construction and sorry for the inconvenience caused. Into internet connection signal was weak, our IT has been reminded and are working with our Wi-Fi provider to increase the speed and connection throughout the hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologize for the unpleasant experience on the internet issue. We wish to assure you that if we had fallen short in any way it was by no means intended.

Once again, Thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Golden View Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

It was my first time to visit Batam, Indonesia through a voucher website. My husband and I stayed for the night at Golden View Hotel. Not bad. So far so good. Just right beside Golden Prawn 933. The only thing that I've noticed is that they did not provide bathrobes. Bedroom was big enough. The next day, even though it was a holiday in Singapore at that time, of course, lots of guests, buffet breakfast was organized. Lighting at the Reception, Concierge and bedroom halls was so far not bad. Swimming pool looks inviting ( and clean! ). Will look forward to another stay with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation!

We are so delighted that you had such an exciting experience during stay with us and thank you so much for your excellent comments.

We feel honoured that you have chosen Golden View Hotel to spent your holiday.

Once again, thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Golden View Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
2.8 mi away
Crown Vista Hotel
Crown Vista Hotel
#31 of 94 in Batam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Batam
Swiss-Belinn Batam
#26 of 94 in Batam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#4 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
4.7 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mercure Batam
Mercure Batam
#35 of 94 in Batam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden View Hotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden View Hotel Batam

Property: Golden View Hotel Batam
Address: Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 94 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden View Hotel Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
215 Rooms (Superior, Deluxe, Family Room, Suite Room) have been ready to suits your needs and various facilities: Cuppa restaurant, Rajawali terrace cafe, Murai lobby bar, Pipit kids corner, traditional massage, massage centre, full fitness centre, gym, sauna & steam, swimming pool, jogging track, laundry and valet services, 24 hour room service, booking for golfing, business centre, shopping arcade, free shuttle bus to the downtown, karaoke room. Outdoor activities (Go kart, High Rope team building, Flying Fox, ATV - Motor, paintball, volleyball field). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Golden View Hotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing