We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a normal 2-3 stars hotel”
Review of Mercure Batam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Batam
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Batam
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I stayed here for a night with a friend on 13th Feb to 14th Feb before I transfered to a resort to meet the rest of our friends. We got room 603 and 604. From the outside, we were initially disappointed as the hotel looks old. Upon entering it, we were surprised that the interior was actually pretty classy (comparing to the standards of Batam). The staff were friendly although their English was limited. They tried to fulfill whatever request we had if it was within their power to do so.

Rooms were pretty huge, but not surprising for Batam. The toilet was big as well. Cleanliness was not a problem at all. There was even a swimming pool which could be seen from my room window even though I didn't actually went down for a swim. The price I got was SGD 40 per night, which was very reasonable. In Singapore this price can only get you a budget hotel like Hotel 81. The only downside was the location. It was not located immediately in the vincinity of the city area, but could get you there pretty easily by taxi. Taxi is extremely cheap in Batam, and we even chartered a personal driver to drive us around the whole day only at a cost of SGD 60 per day, which translates to around 15 SGD per person (4 people per car). It was good as the driver also acts like a personal guide, introducing you to famous restaurants and other entertainment outlets and at the same time working as a intepreter. He probably got a commision from the joints he brought us to but we were happy as the food and service was also pretty good with the reasonable prices.

Overall this isn't a bad hotel, and I would consider staying here again if I ever go back to Batam.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JyuuGaTsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 338 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2009

So, you can imagine the condition! Mercure management only took over the building / hotel 2 years ago. Before that, it belonged to another management / hotel. So far, the only reno they made were the changing of the furniture - specifically beds, chairs and TV. Basic rooms are fine but poorly maintained room is what no one should ever tolerate! The carpet is dirty, the bedsheets have unidentifiable stains, the AC stutters, the toilet is rundown, the furniture is old and broken. Even the location is 30 mins walk to town (by car is 5 minutes). Don't stay here unless you really have to. Find a better place for a few more thousand rupiahs.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Teddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 27, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

Just return from a couple of days stay.

Quite basic, cheap, would recommend for those looking for low cost & basic necessity only.

However, I wish the management of this hotel can look in the time in waiting for check in and out & the time spent waiting at ferry terminal to transport to the hotel.

The rest like food is general ok.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank allen_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

If you are going to Mercure by ferry, the nearest ferry terminal would be Harbour Bay in Batam. The only ferry service that gets to Harbour Bay (Batam) would be WaveMaster. Priced at $35, $4 more than BatamFast, its much more convenient when you are doing your booking and service provided is excellent.

Upon arrival to Batu Ampar's Harbour Bay, you got to walk out towards the parking lots to get cabs. The hotel taxi's would charge you RP30,000-RP40,000. But my recommendation would be to get a normal taxi from the street and bargain for RP16,000.

Travel time from the terminal to the hotel would be 5-10minutes. Service by the staff is excellent however if you do not speak Malay or Behasa Indonesia, they might have slight difficulty talking to you.

The nearest shopping centre, Nagoya Hill, is within walking distance of 5-15mins. Advisable not to take a cab though you will be horned by taxi's who are willing to fetch you. Again do bargain for RP16,000 though most might ask for RP20,000.

There are eateries along the way but walking is recommended rather than taking a cab. Megamall is one of the newest shopping malls in Batam which is linked by bridge to one of the ferry terminals.

To get there from Mercure, do take a cab from the street rather than those from the hotel. A tip when selecting you cabs, do not wave for cabs that have tinted windows. The difference between cabs from the hotels and from the street would be safety thus if you are waving cabs from the streets, always take a cab with no tinted windows.

Price from Mercure to Megamall again would be RP16,000-RP20,000. But the standard would be RP16,000.

When you enter the hotel, you can smell cigarettes and there is not smoking and non-smoking area even if you are having your breakfast.

The hotel room are nicely done however a little disappointing because there is no table lamps, the bulbs used in terms of colour are not consistant.

You can have white light for your standing lamp and yellow light for your entrance light or vice versa. If you do not want a smoking room, request for a high floor.

I was on the 6th floor but the view was a hill view and the next day requested to change for a pool view. Was given one of the room in the 4th floor and there was smell of cigarettes.

The bathtubs in the rooms seem rather old. Some have the surface chipped while some are stained. The drainage system is rather slow and when you are flushing, you may need to flush a few times.

Pools is good but the gym is under utilized in terms of the space and limited number of equipment.

Overal in service out of 5 i will give a high 3 because they were friendly and efficient however language would be a barrier as they may not really understand what you need and may take sometime to confirm certain details like when we were changing our rooms, they took quite sometime to confirm which room was available and needed their staff to check the rooms.

Quality of rooms in terms of lightings, bathtubs, and overall atmosphere would be 2 out of 5 because of the inconsistent light colours, smoking smell and chipped bathtubs.

Total customer service experience would be relatively subjective but i would recommend Mercure Batam for couples who want to get a short budget getaway and yet have somewhere to really enjoy the pool and time together in your room.

This hotel is also suitable for youths who want to explore batam and not forgetting backpackers who have a little extra cash in hand because you can walk to almost 2 shopping malls without having to get a cab.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SingaporeBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

My husband and I live in Singapore and booked this hotel for a relaxing weekend getaway. We left Singapore on a Friday night expecting to stay until Sunday, but were so disappointed that we ended up checking out on Saturday and coming home.
I attempted to contact the hotel twice by email previous to our stay, but never received a response.
The rooms were very basic... a little on the dingy side. Our bathroom light was broken, our shower was stained brown and the bathroom sink plug was locked in the sealed position.
They gave us a smoking room, despite our request for a non-smoking room. When we got there are realised that there was no non-smoking section in the restaurant or at the bar, so we assumed that there were no non-smoking rooms either.
There was karaoke booming from the hawker center next door until after midnight.
On a positive note, the staff were very friendly which did help to perk up the atmosphere a bit.
All in all, we would not stay at this hotel again. If budget is your main priority, this hotel has decent prices, but do not expect any luxuries.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

It is rare for European tourists to venture to Batam, even though it's only a 1 hour ferry from Singapore.

However, when we got to the Mercure we were greeted with kindness by all members of staff and found the decor of the hotel to be far better than in any hotel photos we'd ever found online. Indeed, previous reviews had suggested that the Mercure Batam (formely Royal Hotel Batam) was to be a bog standard hotel.

It certainly wasn't. The hotel kindly gave us a welcome drink at the bar, the room was cosy and secure, there is a security guard outside that will also direct you to a taxi (at the regular rate) e.g. the 10-15 minute ride from the Batam Centre Ferry Port it is around £2 or $4US. See photo of reception. The pool was also rather nice (if a bit cold!) (see photo).

The hotel itself was around 5 - 10 times cheaper than Singapore and Batam is an excellent gateway to Indonesia. I would highly recommend it.

The only problem we had was the hotel didn't realise our stay was prepaid and we had to insist a bit upon checkout that Travelocity had already picked up the tab!

A great tip if staying at the Mercure is to exit the hotel and turn right, then walk for around 2 minutes and you will get to a wonderful local-owned restaurant. There, for the price of a couple of cans of coke in the hotel minibar, you can have a traditional Indonesian fish curry meal, with rice, side salad and drinks for around £1 or $2 per person. See photo attached.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Stephann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
1.3 mi away
Crown Vista Hotel
Crown Vista Hotel
#25 of 101 in Batam
107 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eska Hotel Batam
Eska Hotel Batam
#4 of 11 in Batam Center
160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pacific Palace Hotel
Pacific Palace Hotel
#41 of 101 in Batam
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The BCC Hotel & Residence
0.6 mi away
Amaris Hotel Nagoya Hill
0.5 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#5 of 28 in Nagoya
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jl. Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Batam
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing