We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Almost the ultimate hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gideon Hotel Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gideon Hotel Batam
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Almost the ultimate hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location walking distance from BCS mall and A2 food court. Friendly staff and good service for 4 star hotel. Breakfast average but great food available in neighbourhood. Dare to venture into the Penuin wet market just behind and be rewarded with great exchange rates, deals and local fare.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    90
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
56
45
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is my first visit with my family to Batam after 15 years so I do not know what to expect. Booked a hotel with day tour through groupon for 3 days 2 nights stay. As there is a variety of hotels avail, decided to pick Gideon for its newness and location.

The location of the hotel is its best value as it is located right smacked in chinatown and within walking distance of all food outlets and shopping centre. The A2 foodcourt have a variety of foodstalls like seafood, and local cuisines. There is also a big screen for screening of sports and Singapore channel. The price is cheap and good. An ice tea cost S$0.50 and 2 pieces of stingray cost $10 only.

The BCC shopping centre is a mixture of small shops and departmental shops. The prices are reasonably cheaper than S'pore. Bought 2 Puma and 1 Converse T-shirts at less than S$50. The quality is original but made in Indonesia. If you are bored, there is a bowling centre at $1.50 per game. If not, catch a movie at $2.50 per ticket. The cinema is clean and comfortable.

The hotel is clean but you must request for a higher floor. I made the request when I make my bookings but the hotel shoved me a 1st floor rooms which is noisy. I refused to accept it and insist on a higher floor. They buckle in to my insistence. Normally they have high floor rooms but will not give it to tourists. The bed was comfortable with 3 different sizes pillows which is soft and cushy. There is no fridge which doesn't affect me and it is a breeze during check out as there is nothing from bar usage. The toilets are clean with a fantastic big forest shower head.
There is a 42 in TV mounted on the wall with international english channels and movies.

There is only one negative point. I requested and paid for an extra bed for one of the room but they just put a mattress on the floor insisting that this is the standard and they have no more portable bed and refused my wife insistence. I went to the front counter and reason with them, told them to give me a upgraded room if they do not have a portable bed which I'd paid. We're no beggars to sleep on the floor. After making so much noise at the front counter with other guests checking in and listening to us, they relented and sent us a bed.

Finally, do not patronise the massage parlour on the 1st level. The service is bad and the massage is terrible. For S15 per hour, i suggest going to the massage parlour outside the hotel.Went to Sawadika massage centre near top 100 shopping centre and the massage was excellent. One last thing, there is no swimming pool nor gym in the hotel....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mongsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We had 2 superior rooms but 1 of the toilet reek of abit of urine smell. The rooms are clean n its new so no complaints. Beds are super single size with soft pillows. The air con are cold and the buffet breakfast is acceptable. Opp the hotel has a big food court & BCS mall has lots of shops but its old looking in need of a refurbishment. There are no branded shops & a few nail shops. Will go back only for very short staysas batam has limited offerings for shoppers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMaMa7_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I took the Junior Suite. It comes with safebox, refrigerator etc. Room is clean, big and comes with toiletries. Centrally located (2 minutes walk to BCS Mall and about 15 minutes away from Batam Centre)

Manda, the reservation officer, also help out to get the cake for my friend's anniversary, but when the cake comes, it was written as "Happy Birthday". LOL.

Two things I did not like :
1) The breakfast, not really that delicious but acceptable.
2) Wifi is slowwwww.. I tried uploading photos to FB but it was still not loaded the next morning I woke up! My whatsapp also wasn't working well.

My room was 230, wifi modem is just outside the room but still :(

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaneyDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

It was a great stay! Heard that this hotel is new (the swimming pool was still in construction when we went in feb earlier this year during cny), so cleanliness is undoubted. Service was great, and the morning breakfast was good-buffet style.

Location is good, near to a big shopping mall.

Overall, good stay, value for money!

Will definitely stay at this hotel if i visit batam again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NaomiTanWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We only visit the hotel overnight. 3 star hotel is relatively new, about 11 months, a strategic location, close to the BCS mall, spacious rooms, comfortable beds with soft pillows, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is quite diverse and it tastes good. Only there was no refrigerator in the room, wifi is rather slow and the hallway leading to the room, the heat, the aircon does not feel / off. Gideon Hotel, the right choice when staying in Batam ...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yossymaswir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baling, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Where to start, broken aircon, and mosquitoes galore. Breakfast is so so.
The only good thing was the hotel's standby driver was good and we hired him to drive us and guide us. Never returning to Gideon ever again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rohimat-Hasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.1 mi away
The BCC Hotel & Residence
0.6 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
I Hotel Baloi
I Hotel Baloi
#1 of 21 in Nagoya
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
0.9 mi away
Grand I Hotel
Grand I Hotel
#13 of 90 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
89 Hotel
89 Hotel
#25 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Hotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Hotel Batam

Property: Gideon Hotel Batam
Address: Komp. Penuin Center Blok AA No. 1 | Penuin, Riau Islands Province 36000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gideon Hotel Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gideon Hotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing