We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting side trip”
Review of Barelang Bridge

Barelang Bridge
Ranked #2 of 79 things to do in Batam
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting side trip”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Its the getting there that is difficult unless you are prepared to pay for a taxi. We used a combination of city bus, mini bus and taxi to cover the distance. The bridge is impressive but there is nothing much else.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    197
    147
    26
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go for the views”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We heard about this bridge from the hotel concierge who said it was an iconic landmark in Batam, so we decided to have a look. It took us close to an hour from the BCC hotel. The bridge structure is unique, but I think the views are the ones that are worth a trip for. We could see the sea into the distance and also the islands. It's a good place for some photography as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank srrsSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special here”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

at the first day I come to batam, my family ask me go there.. They just said, this is a very long bridge there. And guess what, this bridge is so so long .. It's connecting 7 islands (3 average islands: "BAtam, REmpang, gaLANG" and 4 small islands). Many people come here just for take a picture and most of them just reached to 2nd bridge, because nothing to see(just tree and more tree) in there just take more time and really long journey to reached the last bridge

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mimitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so special”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This water is beautiful but the colour of the bridge is so ugly.
But I really like the grilled corn along the road. It is very delicious

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TrungHLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Giant Bridge vs Giant Fried Crab”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Giant Bridge vs Giant Fried Crab
it was great trip to Batam. tooks 3hours from bali by connection flight.
one place i should visit and a must is Barelang bridge, which is connect three island ( Batam - Rempang - Galang )
best time to visit is about three o clock local time, it was blue sky and great water refflection.AWESOME.
another item, that makes your visit to Batam memorable are, Giat Fried Crab.its so tasty, those crab are taken from the swamp around the bridge, and naturaly grown.
witing for the second visit . . .

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank UTOMO-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barelang Bridge also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Barelang Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing