We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Padang and Very Clean Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sederhana Restaurant

Sederhana Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 331 Restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Padang and Very Clean Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The cleanest and very yummy Padang i ever tasted in Batam. The place is so relaxing and the waiters were super fast. I don't mind eating Padang Food in here everyday. LOL ...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arisandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    38
    23
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was eager to have a nice dinner there as we read reviews and alot was singing praised about them. However when we went there we were served with many dishes but all was repeated dishes.. we had like 3 plates of the same fried chicken served, 3 plates of gulai ayam, 4 plates of some green chicken and 2 plates of fried paru which i think was re-fried dont know how many times. Asked them to take away whatever plate that we doesnt want. Had to specially asked for the rendang then it was served to us. Total cost was about S$30 for 5 people and we just had a plate of rendang, gulai ayam, ayam goreng and fried egg. Was totally disappointed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maryNwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Plenty of choices to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Typical Padang food. How much you would like to eat depends on your appetite. Staff are friendly and clean place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajghazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3rd place..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lunch-3 Feb 2013. Branch: Komp.Tanjung Pantun, Jodoh Batam.
Group: 8 adults & 3 kids.

Liked: Clean. Modern layout. Friendly and attentive staff. Provide musollah (makeshift prayer room for Muslims). Cheap (abt SGD60).

In term of taste, we found that this Sederhana branch was in third place after Mak Ateh & Puti Bungsu (Puri Garden / the Hills). However, in other aspects, this branch came out 1st and that's being the reason why we graded it "Very Good".

Maybe, the other 2 branches of Sederhana in Batam are much better in taste. We don't know. Hope to try out the other branches if we visit Batam again.

Also, last year, we patronized 2 branches of Sederhana in Jakarta. Both fared better than this branch.

p/s: Well, we agreed that Taste is a subjective matter. :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank as3djom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We tried the branch near to Harmoni hotel. Sederhana serve a very satisfying Padang style dishes that rarely disappoint. Fuss free & quick are their hall marks. When we ask for help for cab, our waiter unexpectedly went out of his way to catch a taxi for us in the rain.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khairil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sederhana Restaurant also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Sederhana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing