We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nothing special. Pool a zoo? Bad taxi exp.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Batam
Ranked #28 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nothing special. Pool a zoo? Bad taxi exp.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Room
- nothing special, just normal, clean rooms.

Location
- not near the malls, so have to take a cab. Get the staff to get for you, else may get ripped off.

Food
- breakfast was international buffet style. Not bad.
- they also provide bbq seafood buffet by the pool at around 30+SGD. Quite a good deal, just that we feel it is better to explore the local foods at the mall 10min drive away!

Pool
- the indoor pool sounded like a great idea for those who wants to swim regardless of rain or shine
- however, one side of the pool faces the cafeteria (where throngs of people have breakfast), another faces the main road, and yet another faces the stairs to the lobby. It feels weird being watched while you swim, especially if you are a lady and it is a Muslim state, where ladies should not be indecently dressed (but how not to when you are in a pool?).

Taxi
- in most countries where the denomination of the money is humongous, usually you just close an eye when they don't have change for some cents. But we grab a taxi for a 10min ride to the nearby mall, and the taxi driver didn't have change and decided not to give us the change of around 2sgd. We had to go to a shop in the mall on our own to get change. Next time, make sure you have smaller notes with you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    239
    181
    50
    33
See reviews for
136
97
36
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I never stay in here before, but i just want to sharing my experience before. That time i was thinking to stay on this hotel, but the telephone operator is not really have friendly voice and she pass to the receptionist or reservation.
i asking about hotel information, and that girl really dont know about their hotel. After that when i ask ask again suddenly she talk in Indonesia "....................." that i not really understand but i hear her voice is like angry, then she hang my phone.
OMG, i feel like is it their service to inform the guest, and i decide never try this hotel !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batam hotels

Maroochydore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everything is so cheap and the staff are so friendly it compensates for some of the short falls. My wife and I both enjoyed our stay at the Novotel (3 nights). If shopping is your thing then Batam is for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BnJ373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The decor of the room was a bit dark but because it has been refurbished, it is still alright in general, except that the bathroom door cannot be closed completely.

There were much varieties for the breakfast spread considering the standard of the hotel. We had dinner at the same restaurant too as our friends had recommended the BBQ dinner buffet. It is not exceptionally good but worth the try.

For shopping, we took the free shuttle to Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall and took a cab back to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CitiNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed there twice in February. Hotel is refurbished nicely and looks nice compared with the completely run down Batam Island.
Internet (free wifi) was very slow first visit, but was fine second time. Food was OK and breakfast plenty although it took the staff quite some time to clear tables.
No shopping mall within walking distance, but plenty of electronic shops nearby.
Swimming pool a bit small and a boring place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larsen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 nights. Even though the building looks kinda run-down from the outside, but the rooms were just like new. Located very near harbourbay ferry terminal. Decided to order room service, but we couldn't find the room service menu even though it was stated that it was in the room, and had difficulty trying to get the menu as no one answered the room service hotline when we called, and when we asked the operator for help, service was still slow, we had to call twice again to get just the menu. Hotel breakfast was so-so. Quite a variety of selection but the foods were kinda cold. There are no shopping malls located within walking distance of the hotel, which is a pity.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank xxYinGxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Feb. The room is clean and comfy. Overall ambience of hotel is pleasant. Buffet breakfast was good, with many choices. The only drawback is its not near to any shopping mall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.3 mi away
Allium Batam Hotel
Allium Batam Hotel
#3 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#19 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Palace Hotel
Pacific Palace Hotel
#34 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
0.8 mi away
Grand I Hotel
Grand I Hotel
#13 of 90 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Batam

Property: Hotel Novotel Batam
Address: Jl. Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Batam 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Batam is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Batam, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Only 45 minutes from Singapore by ferry, the hotel is located in a commercial area facing the sea. For our corporate guests, we offer a businesscentre, meeting rooms and WiFi internet access. Also perfect for holidays, guests can take advantage of our pool, health centre, sauna and Kids Club. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant or a relaxing drink in one of our two bars. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Novotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Batam
Hotel Accor Batam
Batam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing