We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Batam
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed there twice in February. Hotel is refurbished nicely and looks nice compared with the completely run down Batam Island.
Internet (free wifi) was very slow first visit, but was fine second time. Food was OK and breakfast plenty although it took the staff quite some time to clear tables.
No shopping mall within walking distance, but plenty of electronic shops nearby.
Swimming pool a bit small and a boring place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larsen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    243
    182
    51
    33
See reviews for
136
97
37
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 nights. Even though the building looks kinda run-down from the outside, but the rooms were just like new. Located very near harbourbay ferry terminal. Decided to order room service, but we couldn't find the room service menu even though it was stated that it was in the room, and had difficulty trying to get the menu as no one answered the room service hotline when we called, and when we asked the operator for help, service was still slow, we had to call twice again to get just the menu. Hotel breakfast was so-so. Quite a variety of selection but the foods were kinda cold. There are no shopping malls located within walking distance of the hotel, which is a pity.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank xxYinGxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Feb. The room is clean and comfy. Overall ambience of hotel is pleasant. Buffet breakfast was good, with many choices. The only drawback is its not near to any shopping mall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I travelled to Indonesia with my friends and we stayed at Hotel Novotel Batam for 3 nights. It was overall very good experience. We enjoyed a lot and had a lot of fun. The rooms were nice and clean also the view was very good. Higher floor rooms are very good. The food was also nice. The staff was very good and provided us a very good service. We really had a very good time.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolPraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

In Batam, there's no 5 stars hotel, so a 4 stars hotel is equivalent to the 5 stars hotel in Singapore. Usually hotel which has swimming pools, would be considered 4 stars.

The hotel was great. We asked for a smoking room (from previous reviews, understand they comment that there is a "smell". Well, it was a smoking room so smell is from the cigarette. If you don't smoke, of course ask for a non-smoking room.)

The room was of a great side. Huge couch for us to smoke. A study table. King size bed. A big enough bathroom with bath-tub. Quite a decent size wardrobe. Breakfast at The Square was good - delicious in fact. Also did tried their in-room service, food was awesome too and huge portion for the Yang Chow Fried Rice! Service was good & prompt. =)

There is a convenience store across the street if you need anything! Open for 24 hours.

Overall, our stay was good! Enjoyed our stay there. Excellent customer service! =)

P.S.: However, we didn't visit the indoor pool. So, that we aren't sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miyenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

i have been staying here quiet often for work in Batam.And untill now,i am satisfy with the room and their warm services.But some tips for you,prefer the room that's not opposite with traditional market or if you have to,take higher level.Cause it's sometimes a bit noisy in the morning.Overall its nice,with free shuttle service to Nagoya mall and some other area in Batam city.

Room Tip: Told you above, :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddyfernand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed there for just 1 night and i am satisfied with the room and cleanliness of the hotel. There is a wide variety of food provided for the buffet breakfast and the services provided is good!
Just a note; you need to deposit SGD$50 upon checking in, which will be returned back to you once you checked out.

However, the swimming pool was very small. Despite that, they have gym, jacuzzi, sauna room and small pub & cafeteria at the basement. Thank god for the cafeteria, as we do not need to go out of the hotel to buy dinner for ourselves. I think the seafood dinner buffet was worth the money, alot of various dishes to choose, costs about SGD $24++

The pisang goreng cheese was nice and comes in big quantity!

Location wise, it was quite a distance from any shopping mall..It is quite near to a convenience store, just need to cross the roads.

Transport wise, i think it is quite easy to get taxi/motor taxi from the hotel. You just need to take extra precaution when taking them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saffygreenfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.3 mi away
Allium Batam Hotel
Allium Batam Hotel
#3 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#19 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmoni Hotel
Harmoni Hotel
#30 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Palace Hotel
Pacific Palace Hotel
#35 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand I Hotel
Grand I Hotel
#13 of 90 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
3.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Batam

Property: Hotel Novotel Batam
Address: Jln. Duyung | Batu Ampar, Riau Islands Province 29453, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Batam 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Batam is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Batam, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Only 45 minutes from Singapore by ferry, the hotel is located in a commercial area facing the sea. For our corporate guests, we offer a businesscentre, meeting rooms and WiFi internet access. Also perfect for holidays, guests can take advantage of our pool, health centre, sauna and Kids Club. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant or a relaxing drink in one of our two bars. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Novotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Batam
Hotel Accor Batam
Batam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing