We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average kind of hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Utama

Hotel Utama
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Utama
Ranked #20 of 35 Batam B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average kind of hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our agency transfered us to this hotel just a day before our trip. We were rather happy to have a free upgrade from the previous Golden gate (budget) hotel to this three star hotel. The lobby of the hotel is very nice and cosy and there are sofa for us to sit and put our bags while we check in. Some of the receptionist could not speak English and we had to get our tour guide to translate for us. They should have asked another receptionist(who speaks English) to attend to our requests. Despite this language problem, their service was very good and efficient as they managed to help us add an extra bed into one of our rooms even though we requested it very last minute at check-in. They have receptionists who can speak chinese and english.
We stayed at the second level, the rooms were small especially when an extra bed is added and placed in front of the dressing table and all the walking space become much narrower. It is also rather noisy as we could hear people speaking along the corridor. The booming sound from the karaoke rooms at level one is also heard in some rooms and this makes it hard to fall asleep.
The towels seems to be clean but i spotted some grey spots on them and decide to use my own. They provided shampoo cum body lotion at the corner of the wall opposite to the nozzle in the toilet. The soap smells rather fresh but i did not think that it is suitable for use as a shampoo. There is no hand soap at the sink as they probaly thinks that the guest will stretch his hand all the way to the corner of the toilet to use the shampoo cum body lotion as soap.
The bedsheets were clean and cosy though the bed can be very shaky when you sit down very hard. I found a very small amount of sticky thing under the bedsheet which feels like rubber or gums but its still okay for me to sleep in it. The furnitures in the rooms are old and have black spots on them. The upside is a mini fridge below the mini-bar and the electric kettle for boiling hot water.
The paradise cafe at the lobby has a very nice design which makes you look forward to the buffet breakfast in the morning. However, the breakfast spread was not up to my expectation but still good considering that the hotel is three stars B&B. There were only around two long tables full of breakfast items inlcuding rice, fried bee hoon, curry, fried fish, potato on one side and bread plus two type of toasters, kaya, jam, chocolate rice, watermelon, puffs on the other side along with tea, coffee etc. There is a chef frying eggs on the spot and cooking the half boiled eggs.
Nearby and beside the hotel has coffee shops that sells very nice bak kut teh and satay(10 for rupiah 27,000) and pandan pancake. There are quite a few people queuing for the pandan pancake as it is very nice especially the one with pineapple filling(rupiah 25,000). There is a seafood eatery shop too but the food are okay okay only.
The hotel does not restrict people from smoking so there are cigarette smells in the lobby and in the karaoke rooms and along the corridors of the hotel rooms which can be irritating.
Karaoke rooms are free as we had ordered drinks worth SGD75.
There is no vegetarian food at hotel nor near hotel.

Room Tip: Choose corner rooms so that it you will not be affected by the sound of people walking past your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qingyue_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We actually went to Batam without making any prior reservations of any hotel. Unfortunately it was on a weekend and we failed to realise that everywhere would have been fullybooked. Our friend who lived in Batam had to drive us around, looking for a hotel for a night's stay at past 11pm. Hotel Utama was obviously our last destination and we managed to book a family room that was fitted with 2 queen beds. On top of that, we got 2 extra single mattresses brought in so that the room fit 7 people.

The staff were accommodating and they provided all the extra pillows, towels and toiletries that we required. The room rate was affordable, considering that it was about S$80+before adding the extra beds.

The location was kinda near a club, can't remember what it was called though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Despite its lack of exterior grandeur, this hotelmprovides dec3nt room, quite clean but oldy, its close distance to batam's business area is a privilege, so for the money you pay, you get your share of quality, not too shabby, just ok to stay unless you r looking for facilities to enjoy in the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Went there with our preschool child...our experience are as follow:

Cleanliness:terrible....the bathroom tiles are dirty..water seeps out whenever you use the bathtub and that makes the floor area kinda flooded..if you are not careful enough..you may slip and fall.
If there are any beverage spill..they don't bother to clean it...the cups were unwashed...the room floor are dirty(after so called daily room service cleaning)

Bed sheets are quite in a bad shape...it makes you itch as the surface of the bed sheets has been damaged...

Food:average

Staff: some housekeeping staffs and F&B Staff are helpful but the laundry service are horrible...no proper care for the garments...but if you have no choice but to send it ...pls don't ..as there is no laundry list for you to leave a special instruction..they only provide the laundry bag but no laundry list for you to inform them in anything in regards to the laundry matters

Location:very near to DC mall...quite far from Nagoya hill(matahari shopping mall)

Ambience: neutral....



No Internet connection...however are generous with mineral water

Not recommended at all

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jangankepoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batam hotels

Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here with my family and relatives for my mum's birthday. My auntie arranged for us.

Nice cozy hotel located near DC mall. I dont fancy that mall as i prefer Nagoya mall instead. But then location was good for all my family members.

Hotel is cheap n busy with free internet access all around the hotel. There is massage parlour but nothing like a true spa like tempat senang, secret spa n so on. Karaoke lounge is available at the lobby. Many choices of music you can choose from like in SG. Breakfast and overall service of staffs was good too. Security of hotel is good too.

Ask me if i would stay there again....yes with my family of course hehe....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asiadreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We booked 2 rooms a family suite and a junior suite. Both rooms were simple. There is no swimming pool. Though there is a jucuzzi just 2 both separated from each other male in a room and female in the other. We were given just 2 breakfast coupons for the family room and 2 for the junior room. Though the rooms were for 4 persons and 3 respectively. Rooms number 321 and 322 were not that big. As said in agoda website it was suppose to be 56 sqm which seemed to About 25sqm only. However it was alright but not what I expected. The prices seems to be the same booking directly from utama walk in rate.

Room Tip: Room 321 junior suite was 1 queen and 1 single bed. Room 322 family suite was 2queen size bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.0 mi away
Triniti Hotel Batam
Triniti Hotel Batam
#8 of 21 in Nagoya
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Batam Center Hotel
Batam Center Hotel
#49 of 90 in Batam
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#18 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gideon Hotel Batam
Gideon Hotel Batam
#20 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
I Hotel Baloi
I Hotel Baloi
#1 of 21 in Nagoya
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utama

Property: Hotel Utama
Address: Complex Paradise Centre Blok F, No 1, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Utama 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Utama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing