We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The BCC Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The BCC Hotel & Residence
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Antigua
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

From a western solo traveller perspective,this hotel was disappointing.
Rooms were spacious as stated but were lacking many usual 4 star amenties.
No Minibar (although the price list was there) No iron,poor choice of TV channels etc.
Breakfast had poor choice for Westerners but was just about OK.
The reception staff were pleasant and helpful.
Location is Ok for shopping and food court as mentioned by others but a taxi away from main centre
Taxis are expensive and not metered compared to other Asian cities.The hotel taxis charge double the regular and whichever driver you need to negotiate hard.
I found one driver ,Supri (08 1372391800) who would take you anywhere in the city for RP30,000(US3.25) and for 2 hour tour charges Rp$50,000 per hour which is reasonable.He speaks good English and is friendly and well informed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEILCAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    245
    154
    36
    53
See reviews for
214
131
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Book 2 apartment rooms + 1 deluxe room for my family outing in Batam. Was impressed by the positive reviews from trip advisor. I am utterly disappointed the service from BCC Hotel is not up to standard. Upon check-in at 1.30pm, only 2 out of 3 rooms are available. My own family room is not ready and was adviced to wait. However, waited till 3pm and I am still waiting! Also, extra cot requested for the 2 ready rooms were not provided upon check-in. I had to call several time for my relatives to request for the cots... No sense of urgency from the hotel staffs. Utterly disappointed with this highly rated 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojiko_gk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

nice hotel situated in a convenient location.just beside the bcs and a food mall that sells a great variety of food.making sure we won't go hungry in the night.comfy bed (2 twin beds were allocated to us even though i booked for a superior room.but beds were able to push together and ending up with quite a large sized bed...)big room with cable channels tv.had a peaceful sleep. breakfast spread so-so,nothing to special.usual spread of bread with jams,porridge with condiments,cereal,buffet items and the egg station. overall,will return as i enjoyed the stay there.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jas0n_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked this trip to Batam through a local travel agent. The room given to us was a deluxe suite. It was spacious and modern. We really loved the couch area as the view was quite good. No complain about the bathroom though there was no bathtub. Located beside BCS Mall was a plus point and the night food centre located behind the hotel offered a wide range of food choices however, we did not get to try them. If you venture down the street, there is an outlet store (selling T-shirts, cap, POLO tee etc), a Batik boutique and a market area.

The service in this hotel could be improved. The first day when we checked in it seem like we met the shift changing hour. There was only a male receptionist and he took quite a long while to check in or check out the guest in front of us. It also took him about half an hour to check us in as he could not find our registered name in the list. He finally found our name after a female receptionist pointed out to him that our name is written beside the tour agent/agency name. The keycard was another problem. It appeared that most people stay there for 2D1N (we stayed 3D2N) and the hotel seem to deactivate all the keycards on the general check-out day. We had our morning breakfast and upon taking the lift back to our room, we realized our only issued keycard was unable to access our floor. We went to the reception counter to activate the card and it took us awhile to catch the receptionist attention. We had the same problem again in the evening.

I would recommend staying in this hotel for it's good location and spacious room.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmiharuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Travelled with my father-in-law, sister-in-law and husband. We got ourselves the 3-bedroom apartment and it is HUGE! Guess it can fit up to 30 people easily. When we spoke, there will still be echos. The apartment is well equipped with kitchenette, TV in every room, the living area, dining table and sofa. The window is overlooking the pool and lush greeneries, which made it all so peaceful. Breakfast was a wide spread of variety of food! Waiting for the omelette can be quite long though, but worth the wait! Just beside the hotel, is the BCS mall, down the road, there were rows of massage parlours. Our driver brought us to a nearby awesome authentic seafood place where we had the freshest Gurame fish ever, the sambal chilli is to die-for!
Overall, superb location, spacious rooms, nice breakfast, internet was a breeze, TV channels were not boring, bathroom was like those of a Ritz Carlton's and definitely worth the every cents!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules_Pinksapphire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Decided to go batam for 1 night stay in BCC after many good reviews. The hotel superior room we stayed is spacious for us with a 1year old child.
Breakfast at hotel are with limited choice.

This hotel is just next to the BCS mall, with a supermarket and other retail stores. 1st level with lots of shop for baby and children items. Pigeon products are cheaper in Indonesia as some are manufactured locally.
Wide selection of restaurants such as Godiva cafe and many other western restaurants available in BCS mall.
Behind hotel is open air food court which serves lots of local and seafood, open for dinner only.

It was a comfortable stay and definitely worth coming back with the nearby amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for the high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiuChing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stayed in the 2-bedroom apartment for a night.. when we arrived at the hotel at about 6.30pm to check-in, the receptionist said that our reservation wasn't registered but he will reserve for us now and proceed with the booking.. we booked the room through agoda though so the room was already confirmed and paid for in advance. we took a whole 20min for the check-in procedure.

we were allocated room 404.. pictures are as attached. there was only 1 room keycard. there was no bathtub, not even in the master bedroom. bathroom amenities all there, toothbrush, shower stuff etc. hairdryer only upon request. bed was comfy and so were the pillows. no cooking utensils etc, no stove either, but there was kitchenette area with fridge and hot water kettle.

initially, the 2nd bedroom was a little cold so we adjusted the temperature up by 2 degrees, but subsequently the whole room became really hot, and no matter how we adjusted the aircon was just not as before. hence we didn't really get a very good slp as the room was really hot and stuffy. also, i could hear the voices of the kids and people down at the pool from 6+ in the morning onwards, even though our windows werent open. there was also no tv in the 2nd bedroom.

if you request for a bowl of ice cubes from room service, it costs you S$1/RP7800.. there's also an in-room safe in the master bedroom cupboard. there were 4 complimentary bottles of mineral water for us.

breakfast was not too bad. gym had a workout floor, and other equipment such as 2 treadmills, weights, etc. but aircon wasnt v strong, and televisions werent switched on. there was sauna and steam room too.. and the pool seemed of a nice size.

location wise its pretty good. just next door to a2 food court & bcs mall. we took the hotel taxi to planet holiday hotel and it was RP50,000. from nagoya hill to bcc hotel was around RP40,000.

think this place is alright for a short stay. would consider staying again for future trips due to the location, but prob will request for a room on a higher floor or less noisy, and will leave the aircon alone next time :P

Room Tip: choose a room on a higher floor and away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_imperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.0 mi away
I Hotel Baloi
I Hotel Baloi
#1 of 21 in Nagoya
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gideon Hotel Batam
Gideon Hotel Batam
#20 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
3.1 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Grand I Hotel
Grand I Hotel
#12 of 90 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The BCC Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BCC Hotel & Residence

Property: The BCC Hotel & Residence
Address: Jln. Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BCC Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The BCC Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing