We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“933” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Prawn 933

Golden Prawn 933
Ranked #16 of 357 Restaurants in Batam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“933”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

the food here is quite nice and very resonable compared to back home. service is not bad. u can get interesting fresh sea food if the season is right. not too far from town but a little touristy for me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    176
    189
    87
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
284 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Not too bad, but too many flies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Food is okay, at least for the price I paid.
Reasonably okay, but just too many flies flying around, that I cant eat in peace.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eteo232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth a trip down just to eat here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Not sure about the prices here in this restaurant as the two times I ate here was part of my day tour package. However, for what I paid for as part of my package, to throw in a lunch like this as part of the tour makes the package seemed good value. Total close to SGD100 inclusive of all seaport taxes for a hotel stay, massage, city tour and a lunch here.
Lunch menu included sweet and sour deep fried fish, vegetables, deep fried prawns, shellfish, deep fried cuttlefish, fish ball soup, chilli flower crab.
The menu may seem tantalizing however the freshness of ingredients fall short of expectations. None of the seafood are of the freshness that you would expect from a SEAFOOD restaurant. The freshest seafood are be best served steamed, therefore not surprisingly, all of the dishes were fried and heavily doused in sauce to mask its ingredient's lack of freshness. Even the watermelon served is pale pink in colour, totally devoid of any sweetness.
I wouldn't hold it against the restaurant for serving sub-fresh seafood to tour groups as I think they need to cover costs. They probably make money from the touristy-priced gift shop in front of the restaurant to cover their profits.
I would give them the benefit of doubt that fresher ingredients would be used for paying diners but I wouldn't make a trip down just to test it out. There should be better alternative seafood eating places elsewhere in Batam. If you happen to dine there as a paying diner, my guess is that its your taxi driver cum tour guide who " highly recommended" you this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelvinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
317 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food is fresh, tasty and not expensive - i have been there to eat every time we are in Batam! Even my fussy in laws love the food and overall, quite clean and hygenic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Littlepods18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Touristy Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Price of seafood was acceptable. However, the sotong was not fresh at all. The fish was crispy & I especially loved the chilli & black pepper crab.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pinkypinku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Prawn 933 also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Golden Prawn 933? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing