We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Prawn 933

Golden Prawn 933
Ranked #30 of 337 Restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Indonesian, Soups, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Center Line, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place was great to look at. It was part of a package tour a group of us took from Singapore. I dont eat fish, so they made up for me a rice dish that was ok (I'd brought my own sandwich but didnt need to get it out) Being an American I expected napkins but I guess they dont do that there, but I found the sink and soap a nice touch. It rained so hard once we were in there that THAT just added a nice touch to the experience. The rain stopped as we left. I enjoyed it thoI dont eat seafood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thecattoy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    159
    182
    86
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food poisoning!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is my second time there and unfortunately, I have to rate it v poorly. The food tasted good but that evening when I returned home, both husband and my stomach started churning. By 3am the next morning, we were vomiting and visiting the toilet many times to clear our bowels.
We will probably not visit there anytime in the near future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time catching our own seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had great time catching our own seafood. Cooked to perfection but i have to admit a little toooo much msg and way affordable.

this was my 2nd time with friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoshaEscapades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally Full of MSG”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I think they just ran out of herbs and other quality spices. Instead, only MSG and salt and sugar added. It was as nice as the last few years ago. The quality was crushed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arisandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cookie cutter restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Restaurant features in a lot of local tours. Surprising the seafood is pretty okay, good cooks. Average menu will feature a fish, prawns, crabs, shellfish, fishball soup and a vegetable side dish.
If you like coconut drinks, note the coconuts served here are the less sweet more bitter kind. So spare yourself the agony and get a can drink.
The second time we were here, they couldn't serve the coconut till the meal was finished and no other drinks were provided so the other diners at our table went thirsty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Prawn 933 also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Golden Prawn 933? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing