We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookie cutter restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Prawn 933

Golden Prawn 933
Ranked #34 of 321 Restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Soups, Singaporean, Halal, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cookie cutter restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Restaurant features in a lot of local tours. Surprising the seafood is pretty okay, good cooks. Average menu will feature a fish, prawns, crabs, shellfish, fishball soup and a vegetable side dish.
If you like coconut drinks, note the coconuts served here are the less sweet more bitter kind. So spare yourself the agony and get a can drink.
The second time we were here, they couldn't serve the coconut till the meal was finished and no other drinks were provided so the other diners at our table went thirsty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    152
    173
    82
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fresh seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Okay2 dining. There were a number of dishes. The calamari and prawns were good. But do not recommend the chilli crab and the sweet and sour fish. The place is huge and can see big fish swimming in e waters around the eating place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Asmarelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Okay for vegetarian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had veg options there
Tender Coconut, Veg fried rice, Plain rice and Veg Curry, fried Cauliflower, etc
Average rated.
Built on water (but its dirty water :-( )
Little more waiting time because .. it looks like Service crew to the number of tables is less !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PramodP0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average Tze char village”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Food was ok, nothing to rave about. We had lunch, included in our package, 7 dishes served. I like the fried calamari ..only that is yummy..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alexistang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Famous Golden Prawn?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Fish is fresh and we can choose it directly from the "tank", so it's kinda like guaranteed fresh. Squid is alright, not on display, so you just order the size and how you want it to be cooked. Clam though we can choose it, but you can hardly tell thich is alive, thus we wasted like 30% of the clam as we can't even open them. Veggies are alright, no strong feelings about it. Avacardo chocolate drink is good though, one of the signature drink that you must try in Batam.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CozzetteXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Prawn 933 also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Golden Prawn 933? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing