We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A short Getaway....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of KTM Resort Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KTM Resort Batam
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A short Getaway....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had a small getaway from Singapore during the weekends and we decided to head to Batam.

We were under a tour package and they housed us at KTM resort after the whole day of eating, shopping, sight seeing and massage.

The resort seemed a bit run down.

Our group of friends (four ladies) were automatically upgraded to a 2-room villa, where my friend and i were placed in the smaller villa closer to the beach.

The sea view was beautiful and the food was average and cheap. The swimming pool water was cloudy and had a funky smell. We didn't bother to try the pool.

Since it was under a package, we didn't have much expectations of the place. A quiet and rustic place.

Room Tip: travel in four to get upgraded to a bigger 2-room villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohanEzran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    93
    74
    20
    23
See reviews for
56
78
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed 2 nights, supposed to be 3, in a 2 bedroom villa. We picked this resort because we wanted to leave from Harbourfront instead of Tanah Merah ferry terminal because it's closer to where we live. They arranged pick up from the ferry. The food was good, though not a lot of selection and mostly sea food, the massages and spa services were also good. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were not impressed with the beds, which were two mattresses stacked on top of each other and so hard my husband couldn't sleep. There was no beach, even though it's waterfront, although there was a pool which looked nice and then a strip of sand on a lagoon thing. There wasn't much to do either, besides eating and the spa. You could pay extra money to play poor or karoake. The map said there was a bar, but it was really just the restaurant and I think it closed at 10:00 pm. There was nowhere else to go nearby so really you just had to stay on the resort. I think it would be a good place to go with a large group of people and rent up several villas or maybe just one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjoydrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batam hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a beach villa room for 2d1n. The booking was made via email and they replied promptly with no hiccups. KTM resort arranged a transport pick up from Sekupang ferry terminal to the resort which was 5 - 10 min ride.

Check in was hassle free, once done - they send us via car to the beach villa.

Did not expect the room to be that small, but nonetheless it was clean and aircon was working perfectly fine. Sea view setting with a chance to catch the sunset. The plus point to us is that the resort is really quiet. I did not try the in-house breakfast and food though.

If you need a cab to Nagoya hill shopping centre, it cost $12 SGD per way which is about 25min ride away.

Room Tip: I stayed in room #218 which was the far end of the beach villa. Absolutely very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ymyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Prefect getaway from the busy and chaos life in Singapore. If you live quiet and nature this is the place for you. The full body massage is not bad and I strongly recommend the food from K.T.M. the price is alright. Price is about SGD 15 for a meal for 2 depending on what you're ordering. The seafood is very fresh. If you have a group of 6 you may from the hotel for transport to nagoya shopping mall.
The price for booking a taxi from K.T.M to nagoya shopping mall is about SGD 20+ dollars for a 2 way transport and the cab driver will pick you up after you are done with your shopping. Be sure to pay the driver after you return to your hotel.
The only downside I would say will be the mosquito and also the toilet flushing system which we are not very used to.
***Be sure to bring along mosquito coil or some electronic mosquito killer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Came here for a short 2d1n short-getaway. Driver who fetched us from Sekupang port was friendly and waited us for an hour after we missed our first ferry. Reception staff was helpful (bilingual in English and mandarin) and answered our question patiently, arranged transport etc.

Room: Overall we're satisfied with the small but adequate room. Tv is new with good reception of Sg programs; air-con is also new and cooling. One of my main concerns of hotel/resort room is the cleanliness of bathroom and this does not disappoint me. In fact the bathroom is even cleaner than most resorts/chalet that I went to before. Hot water shower and is also available. Safety is good even though 2 rooms shared a balcony. We’re lucky that during our stay, the room beside is vacant. On the second day, the couple beside tried to open our door from outside, thinking there’s nobody inside! Luckily we locked the door.

Food: Quite surprised that the free breakfast comes with sufficient variety of western and local delights. Had an enjoyable breakfast by the sea ☺. Food is not that oily and is of reasonable standard.

Facilities: Spa area looks fully furnished but is quite costly. Swimming pool is special seawater pool. During our stay there we did saw them doing maintenance and cleaning the pool. They also have gym and pool. WIFI however is quite weak and we can’t access to it from our room.

Environment: Very relaxing just to sit at the balcony and watch the sea. This resort is suitable for those who just want to relax and de-stress, and not for those who comes for shopping as city area is a 30 mins ride away. A big Guanyin statue and temple stood by the sea and whole surrounding area is serene and beautiful.

Con: Quite far from the city and transport to city is a problem. Had an unpleasant experience with the taxi driver there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownLovesCony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

-Away from the busy city life.
-Affordable price for the stay.
-A Simple design living style.
-Relive the old living atmosphere.
-Located on the hillside.
-Good view for the beach view stay.
-Staffs are friendly.
-Recommended for couples, families and friends as well as for corporate functions.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Overview:
Brought my two sons along to KTM (Batam) with my wife's colleagues. It was her company retreat. We stayed for one night in a spacious two bedroom chalet on the top of the hill. The view from the chalet is fine enough (on a clear day you could probably see Singapore quite clearly) and the staff at the reception and around the resort are friendly and genial. But there were some absolute NO-NOs which mean I will not stay at this resort in the near future.

Rooms:
Rooms are generally clean and functional. But we really had an issue with the hot showers. The hot water was erratic and it was problematic especially with children. Water pressure was sometimes very weak and when my wife and I had a shower (after the two boys) late at night, the hot water ran out on us!
The resort provided anti-mosquito spray. Generous bottle, but I'm not sure it worked. Was up at night because my son and I were stung quite a few times.

Food:
Food at the restaurant is above average, though on the oily side. We had one sit-down 8-course lunch included in the stay and that was tasty (but like I said, slightly too much oil). At night, the company had a pool side BBQ which was handled and presented by a group of friendly and sincere gentlemen. While the food was generally quite nice, they were quite obviously unprepared to serve up food for a group of 26. So food came in dribs and drabs.

Things to do:
My wife and I went for the Spa Package that included a Foot Salt Bath, a Hydrotherapy Bath and a 1-hour massage. It was quite a pleasant experience, even if we did feel that the Foot Bath was a bit of a rip off. They merely massaged (10seconds) some salt on the feet and dipped in water, felt like we were being marinaded... The Hydro bath was a small couple Spa Tub, simple and relaxing. Plus the view from these massage huts is the open sea, nice! The massage is also done quite professionally.
Guanyin Statue and Monkey God Temple. These were situated on the resort grounds and provided some novelty to a resort (I think this must be one of a few resorts with a temple as part of its attractions).
Now I come to the part that I absolutely detested. The pool. My kids love to swim, so we had been looking forward to this being a beach resort with a supposedly salt water pool. BUT while the pool looks well-sculpted, it was filthy and very badly maintained. When we went in, we realise the colour of the water wasn't merely a result of the colour of the tiles, but because of the algae that coated the tiles. Besides that, the pool had NO filter system visible and along the side of the pool there were no drains to "catch" the dirt that fell into the pool, making the pool just a terrible, murky experience. There was also a lagoon area that looked good from our chalet at the top of the hill, but when we got closer we see how it was totally unappealing and dirty. In the 30 hours we were there, I did not see ANYBODY venture near it, not even to the "beach". And for good reason, because we witnessed how certain wash basins near the restaurants seemed to drain straight into the sea.

FINAL COMMENTS:
The people are friendly, the place is passable, but the facilities turned me off.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the walk, the rooms on the hill overlooking the sea are quite pleasant. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
8.5 mi away
Batam View Beach Resort
12.9 mi away
Nongsa Point Marina & Resort
8.9 mi away
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
8.2 mi away
Radisson Golf & Convention Center Batam
4.3 mi away
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
#2 of 2 in Waterfront City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTM Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTM Resort Batam

Property: KTM Resort Batam
Address: Jl. Kolonel Soegiono | Tg. Pinggir - Sekupang, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
#16 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KTM Resort Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All accommodations at KTM Resort are designed in a Balinese style and fully furnished with everything guests need for a perfect stay, including location. Retreat yourself with fresh seafood while enjoying the breathtaking views of the sea at the nearby restaurant on stilts which can accommodate up to 1,000 people. Take this opportunity to explore the iconic Kwan Im Statue towering over 23 meters high. The activities feature water sports, billiards and karaoke rooms, swimming pools, BBQ pits, mahjong, card games, and the all-time favorite - night-squid fishing. If guests are looking for a holiday destination that will keep you from the busy world and place you in quaint tranquility, then KTM Resort is the best option for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your KTM Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pt. Ktm Resort - Batam Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing