We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Minimalistic hotel.. Not for the super fussy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 89 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
89 Hotel
Ranked #24 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Minimalistic hotel.. Not for the super fussy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Went on an impromptu short vacation (3D2N) to batam with 2 friends and a family member. First day, managed to checked into Hotel 89 within the batam center. Wasnt expecting much from it but was pleasing and comfortable enough for us.. Got a junior suite room (1 double bed and 1 single bed in one room and another connecting standard room. Unfortunately it was the only connecting room available and was located right next to the corridors where all the aircon-compressors are lined up.. so one can imagine the sound a compressor make plus the heat it generated. but it doesnt bother us much (cause we slept right through the noise).. woke up to breakfast (not international breakfast mind you but the one where local cuisines are served).. they even have a spa, gym, massage center and a salon in the same building so you get the convenience of pampering urself without leaving the hotel.. the massage center was a good 1.5 hours.. counter ppl and porters were nice (even sent up additional blankets and pillows without any delay).. overall enjoyed it..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddiva77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    56
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
19
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

stay duration: 16/04/2011 - 17/04/2011 (1 night)
number of people: 6 adults, 1 teenage & 3 children
number of rooms: 3 (1 VIP & 2 twin)

hotel is not that far from harbour bay ferry terminal.
exterior & interior (lobby area) looks ok.
dont really have much problem with the reception or other staff as we understand their language.
request for connecting room & additional room next door was met without hassle.

room was a little dark with limited warm lights.
furniture arrangement kinda funny as its difficult to move around the room.
VIP... 2 queen size bed & equip with bath.
twin... 2 single bed but only shower head available.

satelite tv... with sports channel
free wifi available at lobby i think

no doubt hotel is airconditioned... people are free to smoke anywhere, even in the lobby!!! i guess this goes everywhere here in batam.

3rd floor was their activities level... spa, salon, pool table, big screen tv & gym... but aircondition is probably not working. i'm sweating just sitting down watching a game on the big screen. no swimming pool.

lots of eating place by the roadside & a couple shopping complex nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fizmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a good location. Top100, a shopping centre, is less than a 5 mins walk away. BCS, a larger, newer shopping centre, is about 8 mins away. Nagoya Plaza is a 10 mins taxi ride from Hotel 89. There are loads of food stalls, resturants and fast food outlets all around. BCS is huge in Batam standards, and you can wander around for an hour or so.

Now for the bad:
Hotel staff cannot converse reliably in English. I assume that some of them can speak reasonably well, but most are unable to understand simple English. I assume they would have trouble with spelling as well. Their welcome mat was spelt "WECLOME" or similar. I visited the hotel a few months after and saw that they have rectified the mistake.

The lobby is scruffy and looks old and dirty. You hesitate to sit on the sofa set. I stayed there for a few days a week for several weeks so I noticed when they changed the sofa set. Unfortunately, the "new" set looked second-hand.

Some rooms do not have carpet and sometimes the floor is sticky. Sometimes the rooms have carpet, but that is sometimes sticky too.

Aircon may or may not work. It became SOP (standard operating procedure) to check that the aircon is working before accepting the room.

I have been bitten by bed bugs there before, so it is also SOP to check for bed bugs for about 5 mins before accepting the room. I told the reception and I was shocked that they were not shocked. They did not even apologised, just asked if I wanted to change rooms.

Get a room facing away from the road. Otherwise the noise will hamper your sleep throughout the night.

I had to use the gym. The equipment is falling apart. I literally had to put back pieces periodically in order to complete my set.

The resturant is reasonably priced but expensive when compared to food stalls. Expect a 20-30 mins wait for your dinner even if you are the only one in the resturant.

Breakfast buffet is ok. I would stay away from the fruits and veggies that have not been cooked.

Towels are threadbare and do not look completely white.

Beds are iffy and I would not say that they were comfortable.

Cigarette smells are common.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugianto K, General Manager at 89 Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Cheers from 89 Hotel, Batam !

Thank you so much for your constructive comments that are really appreciated.

I do apologize for your unpleasant stay in our Hotel. We have well noted your constructive comments and are really working hard to fix the problem by gradually renovating our entire hotel and upgrading our staffs' service. Your comments has been forwarded to the manager concern and we have asked for immediate improvement to ensure that same mistake will no longer take place and will act according to standard in the future.

We do appreciate your good comment regarding hotel location. Undoubtedly, a fine hotel with perfect location and we often receive good comments regarding impressive service of our staffs.

Once again, we truly appreciate receiving your feedback as it allows us to constantly improving in order to serve you better. We certainly believe that you will find a massive change and improvement. Hopefully, we could impress you further during your next visit with us.

Looking forward welcoming You back the soonest.


Kind Regards,



SUGIANTO K.
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batam hotels

hyderabad
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The hotel is good. The best thing is that most shopping malls are at walkable distance. Service not quite up to mark. They have problem in communicating in English.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisag09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.2 mi away
Gideon Hotel Batam
Gideon Hotel Batam
#20 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#18 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The BCC Hotel & Residence
0.6 mi away
Mercure Batam
Mercure Batam
#36 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
4.7 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Batam
Swiss-Belinn Batam
#25 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 89 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 89 Hotel

Property: 89 Hotel
Address: Baloi Blok VI Jln. Pembangunan | Penuin, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 89 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, 89 Hotel is a right choice for you who are tied up with your business in Batam. Strategically situated, surrounded by offices, shops, shopping malls, food courts and lots more, you will be able to enjoy the uniqueness of Batam in the midst of your busy hours. Nevertheless, if you want to just stay in the hotel, you can indulge yourself with all the facilities provided including broadband internet access, cable television or work out at the well-equipped gymnasium, relax in our Jacuzzi and rejuvenate in the steam room for a complete indulgence. When there is work to be done, the cozy meeting rooms offer an ideal setting for business presentations or seminars, and everything needed for that deal-breaking meeting. At 89 Hotel, you will feel instantly content knowing you have got all the comforts of home with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your 89 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing