We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to rest and for short getaway”
Review of Swiss-Inn Batam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Inn Batam
Ranked #26 of 99 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place to rest and for short getaway”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Place was ok, but the staff were really nice and patience. The hotel premises has no ciggies smell which was a plus plus point. Breakfast buffet was a small spread but the cooking station has provide some seafood (eg: fish slices, squids,chicken etc) and different types of noodles for your preference and the cook will whip up dishes upon your selection. Room was ok, the air condition as mentioned in some reviews takes quite some time to cool down the whole room.

Room Tip: High level is recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomsib, Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Dear Kelly,

Warmest greetings from Swiss-Inn Batam and we do thank you for your staying with us and for sharing your views with other travelers.

We are so sorry for lately reply your feedback and we do thank you for your positive comment.

Now we already renovated room and changing old air condition with bigger power than the old one and also we improve for breakfast menu.


We do thank you for your views and we do hope we could serve you again and for next visit, please do feel free to contact me in my mobile: 0813 6458 1058 or by sending email to fomsib@swiss-belhotel.com or rdmsib@swiss-belhotel.com.


Sincerely yours,



Karbel Panondang Sagala
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    98
    57
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
48
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Truly impressed with the services of the hotel staff.. All our questions werea answered patiently. Our request for extra pillows was even done without any delay.. Though we stayed for just one night, it really has given me a memorable stay...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasniah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomsib, Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this review, March 16, 2016
Dear Ms. Hasniah,

Warmest greetings from Swiss-Inn Batam and we do thank you for your staying with us and for sharing your views with other travelers.

We are so sorry for lately reply your feedback and we do thank you for your positive comment.

Now we already renovated room and changing old air condition with bigger power than the old one and also we improve for breakfast menu.


We do thank you for your views and we do hope we could serve you again and for next visit, please do feel free to contact me in my mobile: 0813 6458 1058 or by sending email to fomsib@swiss-belhotel.com or rdmsib@swiss-belhotel.com.


Sincerely yours,



Karbel Panondang Sagala
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A last minute scrambling for a hotel in December led us to Swiss-Inn. Although my stay here was just for 1 night, it left a good impression on me an my family. They are willing to make this hotel one of their accommodations.

We got a non-smoking room on the 5th floor. The rooms smelt great. Basic necessities were provided and THEY WORKED except for the fused doorway light. Bed and pillows are sleep inducing. However, if you get the room that faces the residential area, like I did, be prepared for an early wake up call from the rooster at the residential area.

The toilet is clean and is equipped with hot water. There is no bathtub and the toilet is a little small for my liking.

Room service and maintenance were swift to react to the minor doorway glitch. Staff here are very polite and made us feel very comfortable.

All-you-can-eat breakfast buffet is another highlight. The food tasted good. What more can I say?

For a one night stay, I must say that this hotel impressed me. I wouldn't mind coming back here for the next visit. It is worth every penny spent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomsib, Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this review, March 16, 2016
Dear Mr. Rammy,

Warmest greetings from Swiss-Inn Batam and we do thank you for your staying with us and for sharing your views with other travelers.

We are so sorry for lately reply your feedback and we do thank you for your positive comment.

Now we already renovated room and changing old air condition with bigger power than the old one and also we improve for breakfast menu.


We do thank you for your views and we do hope we could serve you again and for next visit, please do feel free to contact me in my mobile: 0813 6458 1058 or by sending email to fomsib@swiss-belhotel.com or rdmsib@swiss-belhotel.com.


Sincerely yours,



Karbel Panondang Sagala
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days 2 nights during a recent family vacation. There were altogether 6 of us and we have booked through the hotel website at least 3 weeks ahead requesting for a connecting room as we have children in the group.

When we arrived at the ferry terminal 45 minutes later due to a delay at Singapore side, the hotel shuttle service was already waiting for us. A gentleman, whom I did not manage to get his name, who was our driver for the to and return trip to the terminal provides top-notch service. He assisted in making our return arrangements and it was done in a quick 10 minutes. During the drive to the hotel, he shared with us what are the places to visit and a brief history of Batam. He speaks good English and very amicable.

We had one room for early check-in at about 12noon Batam time and was told that they were unable to give us any connecting room. No choice though request was made weeks beforehand. There was a very strong stench of cigarettes smoke upon entering the room but overall, a spacious room. Soon, we left the hotel for our lunch at a nearby grocery mall, Top 100 which is about a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. For those who love grocery shopping, you will definitely need to bring a big luggage because the stuff here is at least 40% cheaper due to its currency exchange. In terms of food, only Texas Chicken is available.

When we returned to the hotel 1.5hours later, about 1.30pm (Batam time), we were told the other room was still not ready but the staff promised to deliver the key to our room once it is ready. So, all the 6 of us settled in the earlier room first. We also requested an additional bed which only arrived 40 minutes later and the staff placed the bed next to the wardrobe where the safe is. How on earth can i access the safe and the wardrobe with the bed next to it? Ended up we have to shift the bed ourselves after he left. At 2.15pm, I called to ask whether the other room is ready and they finally agreed to send the key to our room. Had I not called up to ask for the key, I am sure I will never get to check in. Infact, in my entire overseas vacations, this is my first time encountering such late check-in though it was stated that check-in time was 2pm. The hotel was quiet throughout my 2-day stay and the more I cannot comprehend why there was this delay. It may only be a 15-minute delay but it speaks volume on the service. I also highlighted that we need an additional towel and though one of the room was already equipped with three, the other room had two. The towel never came until our return from our shopping that evening at 9pm after making my fourth request. Throughout our stay, the aircon in one of the rooms give us problem as it would stop at every 10minutes interval.the gentleman who sent us to the ferry terminal explained that it was due to a timer issue but we did not meddle with the controller. Breakfast is decent but the flies is definitely a terrible sight.

Overall, the location of the hotel is near to Top 100 and BSC, a mall filled with eateries but avoid those "quieter" reastaurants. The hotel provides free shuttle to Kepri mall and this is a more suitable mall for Singaporeans as compared to Mega Mall. We patronised 933 Golden Prawn but several items were not available, such as the gong gong and sambal kangkong. And that was only at 5.30pm, way before dinner time! The crabs were small and as we had children, we ordered the salted egg crabs which I personally feel has no standard at all. The fried sotong is the only decent dish that we enjoyed besides the crabs, vegetables, claypot beancurd and the tiny fried prawns. It costs us $60 for 6 persons. I am sure there are better seafood restaurants in Batam but unfortunately, the taxi driver was not able to offer any good one due to language barrier.

In a nutshell, the service of the hotel staff is good, expecially Ms Emmy who has been most patient and helpful in answering all our queries but the "hardware" is lacking. Had it not for her profuse apologies, I would have kicked up a fuss over the several lapses since check-in. There were also a few "yellow towels" and there should be a curtain to prevent the water from splashing out of the tub and wetting the entire bathroom. I will probably try another hotel if I viist Batam again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 304 due to its faulty aircon. Pick a higher level if possible and request for non-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TotoChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Batam, 28 December 2013


Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss-Inn Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Inn, Batam. We do appreciate your comments and have been forwarded to our staff and team.

Thank you for your positive comments for our driver and Front Office staff, Emmy. We have shared this compliment to the team. However, we do apologize for your inconvenience experience regarding some issues in the room and late follow-up of your request, we have deeply briefed to the departments concerned for the immediate follow-up and improvement. Training has been continuously done and we will make sure you have the best experience on your next visit.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Inn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

well done hotel friendly staff, great breakfast congratulations to all swiss cafe crew, any promo all you can eat at swiss cafe, great buffet with live cooking, a really all you can eat, location good, hotel recoman

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Batam, 17 December 2013


Dear Mr. Will,

Warm regards from Swiss-Inn Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Inn, Batam. We do appreciate your comments and have been forwarded to our staff and team. Indeed it is a clean and nicely done hotel, centrally located in downtown and we often receive good comment regarding the service of our staff as we have been conducted several training to maintain our standard.

Thank you for your positive comments on our staffs as well as your dining experience. We have shared this good news to team and will improve for the better to make sure you have the best experience on your next visit.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Inn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is located in a fairly central (likely walkable to Nagoya Hill) though I took a taxi (about 5 min/400k Rp). The service at the front office was good, staff always smiling), breakfast buffet was better than expected (spread good enough for lunch) but I saved my stomach for nasi padang at Selero Basamo) right across the road. The hotel is older than its other new sister hotel at Harbourbay n could do with some upgrade and bath towels changed. MY room package included ferry ticket back to Singapore at 15:30 but on the departure date I had to go back early and Mr Karbel the room division manager was most helpful and prompt in solving this for me....two thumbs up! Mr Karbel is indeed the star and the reason for me to only use SI again. The experience more than compensate for the gaps. Thanks Mr Karbel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Batam, 17 December 2013


Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss-Inn Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Inn, Batam. We do appreciate your comments and have been forwarded to our staff and team. Indeed it is a clean and nicely done hotel, centrally located in downtown and we often receive good comment regarding the service of our staff as we have been conducted several training to maintain our standard.

Thank you for your positive comments on your breakfast experience and thank you for the compliment for Mr. Karbel, he is indeed one of our best staff. We have shared this good news to the team and will improve for the better.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Inn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly good for a 3 star hotel. Receptionist & staffs are friendly. Room was clean. Aircon so so. It took a while to cool up the room. Breakfast was satisfying too.Will definitely come back should we want to hang around Baloi.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindasmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Batam, 17 December 2013


Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss-Inn Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Inn, Batam. We do appreciate your comments and have been forwarded to our staff and team. Indeed it is a clean and nicely done hotel, centrally located in downtown and we often receive good comment regarding the service of our staff as we have been conducted several training to maintain our standard.

Thank you for your positive comments on your breakfast experience as well as our Front Office staffs, we have shared this good news to them and will improve for the better.

We do apologize for your inconvenience experience regarding the AC issue in the room, we have deeply briefed to the departments concerned for the immediate follow-up and improvement. We will make sure you have the best experience on your next visit.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Inn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
1.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Batam
Swiss-Belinn Batam
#23 of 99 in Batam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
89 Hotel
89 Hotel
#24 of 99 in Batam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Batam City Hotel
Batam City Hotel
#8 of 26 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Zest Hotel Harbour Bay Batam
2.9 mi away
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
1.1 mi away
Allium Batam Hotel
Allium Batam Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Inn Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Inn Batam

Property: Swiss-Inn Batam
Address: Jl. Pembangunan, Batu Selicin | Komplek Villa Idaman Baloi, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss-Inn Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Inn Batam are a three-star budget hotel in Batam that caters to the discerning traveler looking for good comfort and value for money—perfectly suited to your needs.We are 10 minutes from the city centre, 30 minutes from the Hang Nadim airport, and mere minutes from the ferry terminals. Our inn is enveloped in shops, offices, shopping malls and hawker centers—conveniences by the bucketload. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Swiss-Inn Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing