We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, dont expect 5star, which it does not profess to be”
Review of Swiss-Inn Batam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swiss-Inn Batam
Ranked #24 of 105 Hotels in Batam
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We use s Swiss hotel for our staff and guests to stay in.usually no complaints.

Stayed: September 2011
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss Inn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss Inn, Batam. We do appreciate your comments and have been forwarded to our staff and team. Indeed it is a good hotel, centrally located in downtown and we often receive good comment regarding the service of our staff.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss Inn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

Was worried about the bed bugs and cleaniniess of the rooms. However upon arriving I feel the rooms are relatively clean. Only set back is that the tv recept is a bit lousy as it keep searching for network.
It's a pity that I din manage to eat any meals there. Staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seira0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss Inn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss Inn, Batam. We do appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel and friendly staff. Your comments have been forwarded to our staff and team. Indeed it is a good hotel, centrally located in downtown and we often receive good comment regarding the service of our staff.
Regarding reception of TV channel, we have passed also to our team for immediate action to ensure all channels are clear.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss Inn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had a night's stay in this hotel through a deal on groupon. Room was great, considering the price. The bed was abit hard though and the springs can be felt. No bed bugs for us, amidst the numerous complaints of its presence. Toilet was acceptable and clean. Room was poorly lit, as the main light was at the closet area. The hotel staff were generally friendly and credits to them for letting us check in early at around 11am. Food was ok, no complaints there.

Now comes the highlight of this review. Never step into Giri Loka Spa! I do not usually write reviews, but due to the severe discontentment that this issue has caused, we personally feel that it is needed to admonish the management of the spa for their disrespect and inferior service standards.

Out of convenience, we decided to have a massage treatment in the hotel itself. A decision which we later regretted given that opulent massage centres or shops were within close proximity. As the picture shows, we took the Giri Loka Secret, costing Rp315,000. When the service was rendered to us, NO footbath was given, their aromatherapy massage had no aroma scent in the room. Not having the choice to choose the type of massage oil is yet another hiccup in its service standard. Worst of all, their conjecture of a facial treatment, is using some water mixed with a certain liquid to wash and rub the face. No mask was placed on the face too, and pardon my long-winded descriptive account, but who in this trade would massage the face by rubbing action starting from the cheekbone to the chin? Is this a new paradigm in getting an anti-lifting effect of the face?

After the atrocious treatment, we headed to the counter and refused payment, describing in detail all the bad points. The guy whom i assume was the spa duty manager that night could still have the guts to say the foot bath was not included, and kept on repeating to pay the amount. We asked to talk to Karbel, the hotel manager, but they say they do not know him. How interesting. Apparently he did not get our point, due to the language barrier, and we reverted to the lobby counter in which we had to repeat our whole story again. After the discussion, the unhappy epilogue was a bill of Rp350,000 and an obviously disgruntled face of the spa manager, leaving without uttering any apologies.

We feel that should this persist, the hotel's space would be under-utilised, as definitely no customers would ever step into this pseudo spa. Furthermore, it would directly affect the overall satisfaction of the hotel stay (as it could be seen now), should anyone set foot into this spa. The hotel is great, but the spa chunked next to the hotel office on the second level should inherently be avoided.

Room Tip: Choose the 5th floor, and facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaime_chu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Batam, 9 March 2012


Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Swiss- Inn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Inn, Batam.

I do apologize for your inconvenience spa experience in our Hotel which definitely is not acceptable the way they provide service to our guest. Your comments has been forwarded to the manager concern and we have asked for immediate improvement to ensure that the spa will provide a good service to our guest according to standard in the future.

We do appreciate your good comment regarding our friendliness of staff and product. Indeed it is our key element that we have to maintain all the time and we often receive a positive comment from our guest.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enable us to continue our improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Inn, Batam.

With kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

As budget travellers, we booked this hotel with Expedia as an affordable option for Singapore. Expedia offered this hotel as an option not specifying that it was in Indonesia or giving any instructions how to get to the hotel.

On arrival in Singapore, we were confused as to why none of the taxi drivers had heard of the hotel, we eventually were told to ask at the port who sold us tickets to get to the hotel. As our reservation was confirmed & un-refundable we decided to buy the tickets ($100+US), however, on arrival to Indonesia, we found out we would need visas for another $50US which were also only single entry (the port didn’t tell us this!), meaning you would need another visa for every visit, not great for 4 nights in Singapore!

Fortunately, the hotel manager refunded us for our extra night’s stay meaning we could move to a more convenient hotel but disappointingly, Expedia maintained it was completely my fault and refused to help or assist us saying that they believed the hotel was a convenient option for Singapore and bizarrely, when I said that there was no mention of the hotel's address & specifically no mention that the hotel was in another country on my email confirmation, Expedia said they were unable to confirm what was said in their email confirmations! Ultimately, is it unreasonable to expect the hotel to be in the country you originally selected when searching Expedia?

The hotel itself was actually not bad, good size room with air conditioning, Wi-Fi, satellite TV etc. and the restaurant was good as well as a great breakfast albeit several food options had run out prior to the end of breakfast. The manager also was helpful and understanding of our predicament.

Nevertheless, although obviously not a convenient option for Singapore, it would be difficult to recommend this hotel to a tourist as the immediate area surrounding the hotel has little in the way of tourist attractions, and visually it’s pretty industrial. Even Lonely Plant said that there is no reason why a tourist would find themselves on Batam Island which is largely a retirement base and industrial park.

I’m sure however the hotel would be ok should you have specific business on Batam but just don’t book with Expedia thinking it’s a viable option for Singapore as its not!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Batam, 6 March 2012

Dear Guest

Warm regards from Swiss-Inn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Swiss-Inn, Batam. We do appreciate your positive comment regarding our room and breakfast.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continues improvement efforts. Please feel free to contact us for your next visit and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss- Inn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Heard about the dirty rooms and bed bugs prior to travelling. On checking in, the room was generally clean, except for the stains on the bed cover. There were no bed bugs though. The hotel dinner wasn't good or satisfying, so it's better that you head out to get your own meal. The rooms were poorly lit, but you could ask for an extra lamp, which slightly mitigates the situation. The brightness is acceptable for just watching TV, but not if you're thinking of doing your work in the room.

Location wise, it is a 10-minutes walk from Batam Shopping Centre, and 5 minutes from Top 100 (which really doesn't boast much). It is also near The Spa Secret, where you can get a really cheap and good massage.

The staff is really friendly at Swiss Inn, especially Karbel, who recommended and brought us to The Spa Secret. Very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geebaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Batam, 4 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss- Inn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss- Inn, Batam. We do appreciate your comments regarding our hotel facilities and cleanliness. Indeed the hotel is located in down town and we often received good comment like yours. We will do follow up and evaluate our dinner menu and lighting in the room to our team for improvement.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continues improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Inn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This hotel we visited 3x,2006,2007,2008. In this time was hotel clean,bed clean too.Every we lived 4 weeks there, without some problem.Never we found some bugs!!!!
Personal is very dear,their english language is perfectly,they are reliably,dear.Service was perfectly, 24 hours non stop.Food was good and sufficiency, very often we was serviced after their working hours,if kitchen was glosed(during night).
This hotel is for us like own home.If we in next time visit to Batam, only in this hotel we will be accommodate. We are very satisfied.
Of course we will be pleasure, if all hotel and his rooms will be improvemented.
We greet all personal including the manager of this hotel Swiss in Batam/, late name is Island Garden.
A lot of success to future and see You later.
Dan and Joseph Benkovský,City - Česká Lípa, Czech Republic, Europe

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Batam, 4 February 2012


Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss- Inn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss- Inn, Batam. We do appreciate your comments regarding our service, cleanliness and facilities. We will definitely pass your valuable comments to our team.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continues improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Inn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My experience at this hotel was absolutely horrible. The first night I had to check out of my room at 4 am because I was itching all night from bed bugs. Dirty Sheet, Dirty Bed cover, dirty room. Food was nasty and they didn't have baked potatoes. Asked for an iron/board and they sent me an old iron with a frayed cord and ironing board was dirty and torn with cushion hanging out. Next room I went to also had bed bugs so I itched the entire 3 days I was there. No swimming pool available which is advertised on their website. Clerk did not want to provide me with a close-out bill receipt, but I demanded to have one and they finally wrote a receipt. Do Not Stay at this Hotel. Website is VERY MISLEADING. My friends and I had to be treated by our Dr for bed bug bites.

Room Tip: If you want to stay at a good place in batam, stay at PT. Tempat Senang Resort. Their website is ww...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YNCSING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Inn Batam, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Swiss- Inn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Inn, Batam.

I do apologize for your inconvenience experience regarding our service and room condition which definitely need up grade or renovation due to lengths of time. And I am pleased to inform you that as our yearly program currently we are doing room up grade by changing linen, bed protector and deep cleaning for all rooms floor by floor.

We do appreciate your comment regarding pool facility in Swiss Inn, however, we never mentioned in our website that we have pool facility.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enable us to continue our improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Inn, Batam.

With kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Batam
Swiss-Belinn Batam
#38 of 105 in Batam
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
89 Hotel
89 Hotel
#23 of 105 in Batam
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Horison Ultima King's Batam
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
0.1 mi away
The BCC Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Inn Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Inn Batam

Address: Jl. Pembangunan, Batu Selicin | Komplek Villa Idaman Baloi, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range: $25 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss-Inn Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Inn Batam are a three-star budget hotel in Batam that caters to the discerning traveler looking for good comfort and value for money—perfectly suited to your needs.We are 10 minutes from the city centre, 30 minutes from the Hang Nadim airport, and mere minutes from the ferry terminals. Our inn is enveloped in shops, offices, shopping malls and hawker centers—conveniences by the bucketload. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss-Inn Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing