We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand I Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand I Hotel
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Batam
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice hotel that has everything there. Nice but small pool, bars, restaurant.
If you have to go Batam (have to go!!), this hotel is a good place to stay.
At least the Internet is free (my bug bear with hotels when you have to pay extra for Internet)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjaejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    179
    49
    8
    6
See reviews for
73
77
8
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at superior room which room size is big enough. The water pressure of the shower in bathroom is strong. The free wifi signal is okay which you can check emails, whatsapp & facebook without problems. Just 5 minutes easy walk to Nagoya Mall which you can find massage, restaurants, department store and hypermarket. The swimming pool is not so big but not crowded. There is a jacuzzi but it was out of order during my 3 days visit. The gym is small with adequate equipments. The buffet breakfast is good with many choices. Staff are polite. The nearest ferry terminal is Harbour Bay.

Room Tip: I stayed at higher floor which is quiet with swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Has everything you expect of a new hotel. Upon reaching the concierge we were greeted with a glass of fresh orange juice.

Room was spacious and furnishing was close of perfect. The only gripe I have was that they had ran out of non-smoking rooms.

Short walk through the back exit to a nearby shopping mall. Feels very safe. They even had a person sit at the edge of the property to keep a lookout for our safety.

Breakfast spread was excellent. Chicken rice, fried vermicelli, pastries, omelette, you name it they have it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holyarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from batam i hotel. Overall a greatstay.
Location superb, walking distance to nagoya hill mall thru the small walkway from the hotel and also a sercurity guard is always there at night as the walkway gets pretty dark during the night.
Hotels rooms are clean, service is prompt.
Pool is clean but small. Luckily i was there during the offpeak timings so most of the time we were alone at the pool. Not a gd place to get a tan as there are no loungers there.
Bfast is slightly above average as im pretty particular wth the pastry section. Pastry is definitely below par but the rest of the food items are not too bad.
Hotel Spa treatments is good and cheap, but i was rejected to charge to room wth no reasons given and had to go back to my room to get my credit card.
Trips to other shopping ctrs like batam city square is jist a short taxi ride abt 5-10mins.

Overall a good stay wth great location, good hotel and great hotel spa.

A tip for i hotel management, would suggest like a surprise birthday cake for birthday guest as i requested for a small cake, your restaurant dont provide even if im willing to pay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adknet03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We wanted to try a "town" hotel beside the fequent resorts...
First that came to mind was I hotel since its near to a mall. True enuff, the room, a superior , satisfy our needs. A hugh king bed... pillows were a bit soft though. Ask for more pillows. A clean tub and bathroom. View of the pool and city. There are over 40 channels to choose from the CRT TV ( not a flat screen ). A safe and a lazy couch is provided.

Pool - Its rather small rectangular pool... with a baby wading pool surrounding it. There is a jacuzzi . Open from 6am-10pm. Good for a nice night swim or jacuzzi.

Gym - Just beside the pool. Multiple equipments cramped inside a room. A nearby nutrition bar to refresh u is just beside the gym.

Spa - We tried the Devata spa. Took a full package and a foot reflexilogy. Well, sad to say, felt "nothing" after the spa. It was not satisfying. Skip the spa and try others.

Breakfast - Good. Normal spread of local food, the standard "egg station" , Japanese food, waffle, fruits and many more.

Nagoya Hill Mall - The mall is 10 mins walking distance thu a pathway behind the hotel. Packed with food outlets on 1st and 3rd floor. Jco doughnuts is a must. The suprmarket below is good and cheap.

Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SupsteeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Tis time round after soo many attempts I was damn lucky! Finally I got my wish granted. I got an adjoining rooms wif my sister. I was thankful to the friendly staff who tried her best to get the connecting room after I feedback that I requested not once but soo many times. It's just like one happy family bonding in the rooms wif King beds extra pillow and a bolster in each room to pamper your night respite; after one whole day shopping next door - Nagoya Hill Shopping mall. Breakfast was smorgasbord palatable to suits one tastebuds; replete wif rice, spaghetti, porridge, noodles, bread, croissant, assorted cakes n fruits for desserts. I promised myself I"ll be back for more - truly deeply satisfy and gratify my short n sweet vacation.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the main road above the swimming pool on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeCatlover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

To say the truth, this hotel wasn't my first choice. We were looking at Harris resort and Holiday Inn but unfortunately these two hotels were all fully booked. We had no other choices left. However, I hotel was a pleasant surprise and we would definitely stay here again.

I Hotel is situated besides the largest shopping mall in Batam, Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. It is a 5-minute walk away from the hotel.
Easily accessible to Batam Terminal, less than 15 minutes drive away.
Swimming pool and heated jacuzzi at Level 3 were opened until 10pm every night.
It is clean and big.
The trip started off with the land transfer from Batam Terminal to i Hotel. The mini bus stopped at multiple hotels (Harris, Holiday Inn and many more) before reaching i Hotel. It is a waste of our time as it took almost an hour to reach i Hotel from Batam Terminal although it is less than 15 minutes away.
Read more about batam at http://nainaigrandma.blogspot.sg/2013/01/batam-it-is-so-boring-where-got-things.html

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaiNaiGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.9 mi away
I Hotel Baloi
I Hotel Baloi
#1 of 21 in Nagoya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nagoya Hill Hotel
Nagoya Hill Hotel
#12 of 94 in Batam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
0.3 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#4 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
#1 of 6 in Batu Ampar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand I Hotel

Property: Grand I Hotel
Address: Jln. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29443, Indonesia (Formerly I Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batam
#11 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand I Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully renovated and re-branding with a NEW LOOK to serve you better. Experience the refreshing guest room enhancements at GRAND I HOTEL. Located next to Nagoya Hill Mall, GRAND I HOTEL is within walking distance to entertainment, local and gourmet cuisine, and shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing