We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for business”
Review of Grands I Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grands I Hotel
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Batam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

i have stayed here many times and always find the hotel perfectly suited for a business traveller but also very good for when I bring the family along. Breakfast is so-so but better than most in Batam. Rooms are comfortable. Beds and pillows really made to sleep on!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stevenbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 417 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

The fact that I Hotel constantly gets some of the best reviews among Batam hotels makes you wonder about the general quality of accomodation in this island.

I find the overall experience of staying in this hotel mundane. This is a characterless hotel popular because it is new, clean and next to Nagoya Hill mall.

There is nothing wrong with the room and the public area but it is like your arevage 3 star hotels in this region and paying S$140 is not worth it. Buffet breakfast is however bad. The look and taste of most stuffs were not good that I did not go for second round which is rare as I love heavy breakfast.

Swimming pool is rather small and the gym was not well ventilated when I was there.

I would not stay there again if I have to pay over USD100.

One bright spot is the local lady singer in the piana lounge is very good and worth having a drink for at night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel twice so far. Nice clean and spacious room. Restaurant has reasonable buffet spread for breakfast. Very close to Nagoya shopping centre and hotel provides shuttle if you don't feel like walking. Free wifi available at lobby and 1st floor. If you want so good sleep you need to ask for floors above 5th so that you don't get too much noise from the music at night. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajghazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed in this hotel over the weekend with my family. There is a security check before our vehical enters the hotel compound. After alighting us at the main lobby, we have to go thru another round of scanning before we can enter the hotel lobby. The i Hotel looks rather new and spacious. Check in was fast as we have already made our resevation over the internet. Our room was located at the 9th floor. We need the room card key to access the elevator to our floor.

The room was spacious but upon entering, there seems to be a strong smell which lingers for about an hour after turing on the air-condition. Our room overlooks the swimming pool and the low lying houses opposite. The TV channels were sufficient and with good mix of local, Singapore and International Channels.

We decided to go shopping at the Nayoga Hill Shopping Centre which was just behind the hotel. It was raining that day and we were surprised that the hotel staff walked us with his umbralla to the shopping centre which is less than 5 mins away.

We had our dinner, Karaoka and shopping done at Nagoya and returned to our hotel at about 9pm. Although it was a little dark, what really impress us was there was a security staff station at the back of the hotel just beside the shopping centre. It gives us the added security as it was rather dark when I return with my wife and young daughter.

The breakfast was good with a good mix of japaness, local and international mix. Overall the hotel meets our expectation as it is so near the shopping centre and we don't need to bargin and get rip off by the taxi which does not run on meters. I would recommend this hotel for family and those that love shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VinceVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I went back to I Hotel once again with my classmates due to the service and quality of the hotel provided. We were on a 3D2N stay and the check in of the hotel was swift and prompt.

The stuff was friendly and helpful and there was a choice of a smoking and non-smoking room. As usual there is a deposit, the room service and food was of high quality and worth the money.

The room was well kept and it as also high speed internet connection!

Breakfast was served at the restaurant and on the first day there is a wide choice but on the second day the quality of the food had dropped probably it is due to the independence day.

There was also a swimming pool, gym and aerobics room where a locker was allocated upon request. Towels were also provided.

The location was next to nagoya shopping center! Overall it was a nice experience for us!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine_Ho154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I hotel is situated right next to shopping mall. there is a newly constructed path from the hotel to the mall. breakfast spread was decent- porridge, noodles, eggs, cereal, waffles, bread, fruits, mini sausages. the bathrooms were very nice, clean and modern. only downside was that room faced the back and it was a little bit noisy at night because the staff motorcycle park was just below our window.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Given it is so close to Nagoya Hill shopping that it is only 5 mins walk to there and there is walkway at the back of the hotel shorten the walk to Nagoya hill and it is quite well lit that you do not have to worry about coming back when dark. Added touch was there was a guard station there.
Service is good and breakfast though not as well spread as Holiday Inn Batam it is still reasonably okay.
Would stay there the next round.
Spa at the hotel though slightly higher is price, it is well worth the money for its ambience and service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pheng2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.1 mi away
Nagoya Hill Hotel
Nagoya Hill Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nagoya
283 reviews
1 mi away
I Hotel Baloi
I Hotel Baloi
#1 of 28 in Nagoya
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Radisson Golf & Convention Center Batam
0.6 mi away
Allium Batam Hotel
Allium Batam Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nagoya
455 reviews
1 mi away
The BCC Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grands I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grands I Hotel

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly I Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batam
#9 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range: $68 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grands I Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully renovated and re-branding with a NEW LOOK to serve you better. Experience the refreshing guest room enhancements at GRANDs I HOTEL. Located next to Nagoya Hill Mall, GRANDs I HOTEL is within walking distance to entertainment, local and gourmet cuisine, and shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grands I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing