We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Formosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Formosa Hotel
Ranked #43 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights.. Great location..3min walk to nagoya hill mall. Next door to Lucky Plaza(electronic device mall).
Tool the triple sharing room. The room is big and spacious but looks old and dated. Most important its very clean and no unpleasent smells. . Bfast has lots of local choices..has in room wifi..so all in all value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azharvedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
15
12
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a 3D2N stay at Formosa, with two friends. I was initially shocked at the exterior facade of the hotel, that seemed rundown. But we were blown with amazement with the standard of service from the staff, who were friendly and accomodating. The rooms were surprinsingly spacious. Tv cable shows were a delight. Great thing was the fact that Formosa was conveninetly located near shopping malls like Lucky Plaza and Nagoya Mall. Convenient stores and money changers were aplenty. Even the availability of transportations was a blessing. Breakfast was simple but fulfilling. In hotel massage was also magnificient. Overall a great stay in experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Hijazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel for our 2 days 1 night batam trip. We exceptionally loved the location as it was near Nogoya Shopping Center and a few others places like Lucky Plaza. Breakfast was excellent too. WIFI was great but only one person per room can login at one time. TV channels were plenty ranging from news to sports. Service was great considering the staff took less than 5 minutes to reach our room when we requested for some help.

Room Tip: WIFI can only be login one person per room at one time. Call the receptionist to request that more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snaem85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I went with my hubby on a 2D1N Package. Is a 3-star hotel but rooms are nice.We stayed in deluxe room. There's KTV and King SPA/Massage on 4th floor. The price for Massage are not bad.Wifi can get anytime but signal at times slow. Service was good and staff able to understand basic english. Breakfast served with Buffet style which is tasty food.Is suits for Couple and Friends stay.Overall is ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aneesa2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

this property has an unassuming facade but take a look inside and you will find a very imviting lobby (by batam standards).

the rooms are huge but there is a little problem with the rooms located at the rear end of the building. most of them look out to a very desolate wall of the neighring block, which i personally found a bit depressing and hence left the curtain drawn all the time to hide the view.some of the other rooms near the karaoke area also can be noisy at night but this should not undermine the good value in terms of the size of the rooms and location of the property.
transportation connectivity is excellent - both taxis and local "angkut" which is good for the adventrous travellers as these converted mini vans can become very full,hot and hence uncomfortable.but they are so cheap...2000RP for rides around the nagoya region.



the furniture a at best functional with little attention to aesthetics.

the amenities provided in the room are sufficient, the bed linen and the towelling being more than adequate.

the staff are an asset of this property. staff morale is high as reflected in their pleasant attitude.

some reviewers of this hotel have adverse comments on the breakfast. i disagree. the breakfast provided is not luxurious but it defenitely more than good to get you going for the day.there is the onsite egg station, cereal station,bread and some danish (with toasting facilities). for the local fare there is congee(rice porridge)with all th econdiments, chicken curry, vegetables and couple of fried noodles. there is also juice station albeit with only one flavour.overall the breakfast is between good and excellent.

overall good value for money and the right place to stay for those interested in shopping ( at the nagoyal hill hyopermart, amere five minute walk0, entertinment like massage or karaoke. night street food is plentiful around the hotel .

Room Tip: as mentioned above if you want good sleep stay away from the karaoke area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajamanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Located in a walkable distance to Nagoya Hills Mall and right next it is Batam Lucky Plaza. Lucky Plaza is well known for it's competitive prices in latest gadgets and electronics. It will take approximately 15 minutes to reach Nagoya Hills Shopping Centre. For its location, it is really worth the money.

The services were absolutely great when I was there. Every staff in the hotel, be it the bellboy, front desk receptionists, security guards, chamber-maids and restaurant personnel gave what was expected out of them. Breakfast were simple yet filling.

I got a deluxe room and a family room which was connected to each other. The room was a little too dusty and cigarette smell was strong. There were stains on the bath tub and the toilet door needed an extra effort in order to close it. Other than that, everything was in order.

Wifi was an issue when we arrived. Our devices couldn't be connected to the internet. After a day, the signal was strong but to stream videos was a little draggy. There's a KTV on the 4th floor and a small gym on the second floor. The gym consists of 2 crosstrainers, 2 treadmills (one of them could elevate) and a multigym machine. No one used it and I had the whole gym to myself.

I believe there are better accommodation in this area. The selling point is the proximity to shopping centres. May try this hotel again in future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Brought 10 of my office staff and stayed the weekend in Formosa Hotel, Batam. The hotel's room were clean, though the water pressure in the toilet is low. Breakfast is simple fare. The great selling point is its walking distance to Nagoya Hills shopping centre. Less than 10 minutes walk. The surounding area is safe and street food and even sea-food is plenty near the hotel. Will I stay here again? A definite Yes. Oh yes, should you wish to explore Batam and I say there is more to shopping please use the tourist van service of tel : 628127524945 of Pak Leo, a Chinese Indonesian. For, Rupiah 500,000 he provides you a van, driver and 12 hours of driving around. normanfernandez7168@gmail.com

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normanfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
1.6 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#20 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Planet Holiday Hotel
Planet Holiday Hotel
#27 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#4 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The BCC Hotel & Residence
0.8 mi away
Gideon Hotel Batam
Gideon Hotel Batam
#21 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harmoni Hotel
Harmoni Hotel
#30 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosa Hotel

Property: Formosa Hotel
Address: City Plaza Nagoya no. A8, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Formosa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotwire so you can book your Formosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing