We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place to enjoy time and Mother Nature with friends or family.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riau Islands Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Mountain Kelong
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3d2n with our children aged 5&8yrs old, which was just perfect to enjoy and appreciate the wonderful nature.

Everyday we have great seafood, poultry, fresh grown vege and fruits, cooked by chief Ah Shui who is really friendly and more than happy to catch the numerous fish and squid we catch at the kelong.

The rooms are spacious and clean and you will sleep with the waves just below you. It can get a little stuffy when the generator power is turned off late at night. But just a matter of getting used to or moving the bed to more ventilated place.

It's great for those who like to fish, lots of different variety of fish to catch though not very huge, but the flesh is sweet and yummy.

Children can run to the beach, visit their papaya, chilli and vege plants or just kick football there.

At night, we just lie on the deck to enjoy the stars splashed across the night sky, we caught a glimpse of 2 shooting stars.

I would recommend this place for retreat to be away from the city and enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Blue Mountain Kelong, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thanks for your kind review and it's really great to know that our guests at the kelong enjoy the place as much as we do. And my apologies regarding the issue of the generator, i will be reviewing it with the management to improve the overall guest experience. We look forward seeing you and your family again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

07-09 march
I would highly recommend this place for those looking for an extremely quiet getaways from the hustle and bustle of city life. The scenery is beautiful and the water is crystal clear. You can see tons of fishes constantly swimming under you!
Perfect for nature lovers, fishing enthusiasts and people who want to get out of urban claustrophobia.

Andrew

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrewhkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Blue Mountain Kelong, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thanks for your very kind review and glad to know that you have enjoyed the natural experience at Blue Mountain Kelong. Thanks for taking the time to review and hope you see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My family and a few friends decided to stay at the Blue Mountain Kelong last weekend (21-23 Feb'14) after hearing raving reports about it from my daughter....and indeed it did not disappoint!

The resort is located at a small island off Batam. Getting there from Singapore includes an hour's ride by high-speed ferry from Harbourfront to Batam Center Ferry Terminal, about another hour by land transport to Mongak Dam, and then another 30-40 mins by boat to the Kelong. We caught the 9:30 am ferry from Singapore and arrived at the Kelong just in time for lunch.

The boat to the Kelong is small (can take up to maybe 7-8 pax) but adequate and we got some splashes as it cut through the waves in spite of the great skill of the boat man - but that was just part of the total experience and served as a good introduction for what was to come ;P [Note: wearing clothes that you don't mind getting a bit wet in is recommended. Also bring along a poncho or groundsheet, or maybe large trash bags, if you want to keep your bags dry. Do sit further inside the boat if you want to keep dry - but it is not as fun!.]

Once on the Kelong itself, one can't help but let out a "Wow!" (especially if it is your first time there). The cool sea breeze, the rustic-ness of the whole place, the beautiful view of the sea and horizon...immediately sets you in a relaxed mood. We were ushered to our respective cabins to freshen up/change.

The cabins were spacious and came with two single beds, and a roll-out bed - all hand-made with wood. The beds came with mattress, clean bedsheets, pillow and bolster. As the cabins were built over the sea, you could see and hear the waves through the gaps between the floor planks (just be careful not to drop any small items!). The cabins were airy because they were designed to allow the sea breeze to cool it naturally as there is no electricity to run fans for most part of the day (a generator is used at night for a few hours just to provide some lighting). Each cabin also came with ensuite bathroom/toilet bowl (sitting type) and a small sink. Water is provided to the Kelong via a pipe that had its source from a fresh water spring on the island. Understandably taking a shower will be with the cool spring water (no heater) which is really very refreshing! [Note: Do plan to shower before the sun goes down as it does get quite chilly in the evenings. Also no toiletries, besides toilet paper, are provided so you need to bring your own soap, shampoo, toothpaste/brush, bath towel etc.]

All food was prepared in the Kelong's own kitchen and we got lots of fresh seafood (crabs, prawns, gong gong, calamari etc..), chicken, pork, vegetables, rice, and papayas (from their own plantation on the island). The food was more than adequate, very tasty and delicious! Dining was communal with about 10-12 on a table, and the hosts always tried to make it a point to dine with us. This gave us a wonderful way to know them better! We particularly enjoyed our long chats with Uncle Lincoln, who owns the place. He shared about how he came to the island, taught the village children English, and his big plans to expand his business so that he could help the villagers become more self-sustaining and less dependent on fishing (with climate changes in recent years, fishing is getting more challenging). Drinking water was provided everyday - tapped from the spring, filtered and sanitised - it was the best mineral water I have personally tasted as it had a natural, slightly sweet taste!

Other than eating and sleeping, the rest of the time we spent on just lying/sitting on the jetty chatting and reconnecting with each other in our group. There was also plenty of time to catch up on reading, reflecting, and just recharging. It was the ideal place to have a spiritual retreat, and the scenic views and constant sea breeze somehow just melted away all the tensions and worries of every-day life, and allowed us to just spend some quality "me" time with God.

For the more adventurous, you could take the jungle trail. Arrangements can be made with the Kelong staff and they will be happy to come along as guides. Do wear long pants (jeans) and walking shoes and be prepared to do a bit of "bashing" through the jungle and climbing over rocks! A few of us tried that and it was enjoyable to look at the flora and fauna of the island's jungle.

Those who are interested in fishing may also bring your own lines - the sea around the Kelong is full of all kinds of fish!

For arrangements to visit the Kelong, you may check out their website. One flat fee per person includes tickets and fares for all transportation, all meals, and lodging - so more or less everything is taken care of :)

All in all, it was a wonderful way to unwind over a weekend, to find spiritual refreshment, have great seafood, have deep and meaningful chats with family and friends, and we well looked after by the friendly staff of the Kelong! I would recommend this place for groups looking for a quiet place for a silent retreat, or planning retreat, or teambuilding; family bonding; or even a personal retreat.

Really looking forward to come back again and to bring others along!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ATKA166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great place to be for peace and relaxation. No tourists, no traffic, no shops, no noise, no jobs!
Only peace and calm and the glory of God's creation. Be ready to give up your computers and tv shows. Fresh air and water and brilliant stars. Great sea food. For nature lovers only.

Room Tip: come with friends or family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lincoln o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Overall
- A very basic and peaceful place to relax, fish, swim in the sea, eat delicious seafood and contemplate life as you listen to the sound of the sea.
- Bluemoutain is a remote and secluded kelong (series of traditional wooden stilt houses built over the sea).
- Its location means it's hard to get to (about 3 hours in total by ferry, van and then boat from Singapore), but for those who need a complete break from urban life, it's worth it.

Rooms
- Each room can sleep about 4 to 6 people. Mattresses are thin, pillows are uneven in quality and there is no fan or air con, but somehow we always sleep well there. If there is a storm (which is dramatic and beautiful), it can actually get quite cold in the room.
- As there are only partial partitions between rooms, it's rather communal (as kelongs are meant to be), so it's more suitable to go with a group of friends or be willing to get to know others well!
- The biggest concession to modernity is the ensuite toilet in each room. Bear in mind that everything, including the toilets, is made of wood. Each bathroom has a seated toilet, a small sink and a shower. We preferred to use the pail for showering which helps you to quickly get used to the cold water. Although it's a shock to the system at first, the cold showers out of the pail were extremely enjoyable. Trust me, they make you feel so good afterwards!

Food
- Local, plentiful and delicious!! The calamari, gado gado, grilled chicken wings, steamed crabs were fabulous.
- All meals are included (as there is no where else to get your food). You get 5 meals - breakfast, lunch, a tea-time snack and dinner. The fried bananas for tea are yum.
- There will be a barbecue on one of the nights.
- Coffee, tea and water are included. You can buy beer for a reasonable price.
- Best to bring your own snacks and drinks if you are worried about not having variety.

Others
- As there is a fair amount of climbing on/off boats, it is not suitable for those who may find this a physical challenge. Having said that, a physically fit 80 year old managed it when we were there.
- I would not recommend this to families with very young children as the kelong is open on all sides and they could fall off if not careful.

Do check the website for more information.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Beach-chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riau Islands Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
597 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Canopi
The Canopi
#1 of 6 in Lagoi
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Grand Meranti Hotel
#105 of 149 in Riau Archipelago
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Kelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Kelong

Address: Riau Island, Pulau Jemera, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Riau Islands Province
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil retreat situated on the island of Palau Jemera, Riau Archipelago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Kelong Indonesia/Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing