We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mecure Surabaya”
Review of Mercure Surabaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Surabaya
Ranked #21 of 131 Hotels in Surabaya
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    334
    128
    32
    16
See reviews for
139
60
62
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Centrally located. Not that close to Tunjungan Plaza or the Zoo as touted. 5/10 minutes away is actually BY CAR.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Kencana, Papua, Indonesia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed there for a night on business trip. Actually I had the option of staying at my parent's house, but decided to try this hotel. I have known this hotel for more than 20 years (through various ownership changes) but I just never went inside.
1. The staff are very helpful, service is excellent. Check in and check out process are fast.
2. The room is quite roomy, not too big not too small. The bed sheet is one of the softest that I have had. Although more pillow will make it better.
3. Only tried the restaurant for breakfast, but it is quite good.
4. The price is very reasonable for a hotel with that standard.

Overall, I would love to try this one again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilibona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel. I stayed on the 8th floor, which is the 'ladies floor' - my room had one wall painted pale pink and pink pillows on my bed. The bed was amazingly comfortable, and Im pretty sure this hotel had the best pillows in Indonesia. Also, another 'perk' of the ladies floor was the toiletries. There was an extra box with moisturiser, colonge, body wash, bath gel, a sanitary pad, and cotton tips.

However, as a solo female traveller it was slightly out of the way for me. I'm 24 and quite happy on my own (Im an Australian who speaks Indonesian) though I did feel slightly uncomfortable walking around the near-by streets alone. I was respectfully dressed in a floor-length skirt and a long-sleeved cardigan despite the heat, so I wasn't showing a rude amount of skin or anything. I guess being pale and blonde made me stand out too.

There was also a lack of restaurants/warungs in the area, unless you want to eat at the overly priced hotel restaurants or McDonald's. I ventured down a street and managed to buy some 'nasi bungkus' which I took back to my room - it was very good.

The staff were helpful, if bemused by me. I'd say this hotel is more suited to business people, though I still had a very pleasant stay. However, my one complaint is that breakfast was NOT included and I wasn't too keen on speading nearly $20 for beakfast, so I went without.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollycrownmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

rooms were clean and of a good size.

spa was great. extremely good value and the therapists were very good.

nothing negative about this hotel. had a most wonderful stay here and would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weiyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The rooms were not that luxeruous than the Crowne Plaza in Jakarta, but i was surprised about the many tv channels you have in your room. The swimmingpool outside was not so attractive and was also seldom used by other gast. The personel was very friendly and service was great.

There is not really a lot to do in Surabaya, but i would recommend to go to the House of Sampoerna; an old cigarretfactory that is still operational.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#23 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
1.6 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 131 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Alana Surabaya
The Alana Surabaya
#10 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Surabaya Centerplaza
1.1 mi away
Ibis Surabaya City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Surabaya

Property: Mercure Surabaya
Address: Jl. Darmo 68-78, Surabaya 60264, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#12 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#13 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Surabaya 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated on the main route through Surabaya, next to consulate and government offices as well as tourist attractions such as the Tugu Pahlawan heroes monument and the Zoo. Ideal for business and leisure travel, boasting easy access to Gubeng railway station and the airport, the Mercure Surabaya hotel features 126 rooms including seven suites with exclusive butler service, two restaurants, coffee lounge, pool bar, three meeting rooms, ballroom, swimming pool, fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing