We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but in busy street”
Review of Mercure Surabaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Surabaya
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Surabaya
Mataram, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel but in busy street”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were in surabaya. Checked in 4 Nov and Checl out on 5 Nov 2012. It was a very short trip as we have to attend for visa interview at US embassy. This time we chose Mercure as I have a Le Club card. so I can earn more poins on it.
Over all the hotel is good , basically it was an old hotel. previously named Mirama hotel but later on changed into Mercure. It was located at Jl. raya Darmo, one the busy street in Surabaya.
I would recommend to stay only for business not for a leisure or with family as you have nothing special to see around.
Welcome to Surabaya.

Room Tip: I would recommend you to take the higher level as it is quite close to the stree and trafinc is busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryanto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budi W, EAM at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mr. Aryanto,

We very much appreciate your comments at Trip Advisor on 6 November 2012 regarding your stay at the Mercure Mirama Surabaya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Windiarto
General Manager
Mercure Mirama Surabaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    334
    128
    32
    16
See reviews for
139
60
62
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at the hotel mercure 2 night. very slow service in the cafe food resto trimurti. very little breakfast. shrimp and no meat. Check-in time is very arrogant and behaving server. i also UNINTERRUPTED sleep time for environment noisy. I WILL NOT COME AGAIN.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zara136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugito A, General Manager at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Ms. Zara,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete comment following your recent visit Mercure Surabaya.

I regret that your stay did not meet up to your expectation. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Mercure Surabaya.


Sincerely Yours,

Sugito Adhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms were ok. Nothing to shout about really. The only confusion was the laundry as it is stated on the laundry form that laundry collected before 9am will be returned on the same day after 5pm while laundry collected after 9am will be returned the next day after 5pm. This is quite ridiculous as I've stayed in other hotels which collects laundry way after 9am and it's nicely hanging in the wardrobe when I return at night.
I called for laundry pick up at 8.30am but no one came to pick up and I had to call twice to a point I got really pissed off and they only came to collect around 9.40am. After all that happened, they initially only offered only 20% discount which is not even enough to cover the 21% government tax. After mentioning that and reminding them that I will not be staying in this hotel anymore in my future trips, I finally only had a 30% discount off my laundry bill-only an additional 9%. What a joke.

I am honestly dissapointed and will never consider staying here anymore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveller617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugito A, General Manager at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you taking time to complete our guest comment following your recent stay at Mercure Mirama Surabaya.

We were sorry to read that your experience did not meet up to your expectation. Your feedback is very valuable to us as it helps us improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs.
Your comment has been addressed to our Laundry Manager for the action.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Mercure Grand Mirama Surabaya.

Sincerely Yours,

Sugito Adhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I spent one night in the hotel. I got there late evening and did not have a chance to venture around the hotel or area. I went straight to the room and found it clean and comforting. I had dinner at the main restaurant and since it was late, service was slow and some food forgotten to make it to the table (the missing food was not charged on the bill). After a restful sleep, had breakfast in the same restaurant and service was about the same. I think it might be part of the culture to leave you alone until you notify staff you need them. Regardless, food was tasty and I was pleased. Upon checkout, the same woman that checked me in last night, Erna, greeted me by my name, which caught me off guard. It made me feel good that she recalled my name. After an easy checkout process, I sat around the cafe for a bit. I was disappointed that the wireless password I was given at check in terminates on check out. So, no free wireless in cafe or lobby. Otherwise, I had an excellent stay and will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugito A, General Manager at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Jeffrey,

I would like to thank you for choosing Mercure Surabaya to stay during visit in Surabaya City and sharing your comment.

We were delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and has been shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Mercure Surabaya.

Sincerely Yours,

Sugito Adhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#24 of 132 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
1.6 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 132 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Alana Surabaya
The Alana Surabaya
#11 of 132 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Surabaya Centerplaza
1.1 mi away
Ibis Surabaya City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Surabaya

Property: Mercure Surabaya
Address: Jl. Darmo 68-78, Surabaya 60264, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#13 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#14 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Surabaya 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated on the main route through Surabaya, next to consulate and government offices as well as tourist attractions such as the Tugu Pahlawan heroes monument and the Zoo. Ideal for business and leisure travel, boasting easy access to Gubeng railway station and the airport, the Mercure Surabaya hotel features 126 rooms including seven suites with exclusive butler service, two restaurants, coffee lounge, pool bar, three meeting rooms, ballroom, swimming pool, fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing