We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bromo Cottages Hotel
Ranked #114 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Basic and convenient”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Cottages are of a convenient size with very basic furniture and equipment. The location is idea as a departure point for the sunrise at Bromo volcano (departure 04h00 a.m.). ~ 3 h drive (220 km) away from Surabaya. The cottages are clean, the furniture is dated and the towels have been white a long time ago; do not expect any luxury. The restaurant is OK without any highlight though in spite of the comparatively high prices.
Practical hint: The place is in the mountains and it can get rather chilly, a sweater and something to keep you warm at night are highly recommended. The cottages do not have any heating or aircon. For the Bromo tour take warm clothes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    48
    115
    81
    70
See reviews for
48
169
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
678 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

the view and the location just nice but the room is so humid and bit dirty, might be from the mountain eruption in the mid year of 2011 but still the food just over priced and the service is poor to average. don't think that they have a heater in the room! its a frozen cold in the night so bring your back up blanket cause the blanket here seem not so often in the laundry.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faozanrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel, and it was sufficient. The rooms are basics, with very little light from outside. The location is however convnient for the Bromo Volcano visit, and it is I think the main reason to go to this hotel.
The price is therefore high co,pared to the level of service. The restaurant of the hotel is quite basic as well. Definitely not a hotel for leisure, but a practical one !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valeriegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

In comparrison with other hotels we stayed in during our tour of Java & Bali, this was dreadfull. Thankfully we were only there a short while to see the sunrise at Bromo, but there must be a better accommodation option?? Rooms weren't dirty, but were of a very poor standard, and old. We did not feel comfortable showering etc. it was also very cold! Food in the evening was very poor, and expensive. Service was non existent. The breakfast was almost uneatable. Hotel came as part of a Kuoni tour, but if you have an option go somewhere else. Views would be the only saving grace, but we were engulfed in cloud virtually the whole time.Standard of other hotels we visited was very good, but this one dates back to the 60's.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

A very simple hotel to stay for a night to visit the Bromo Volcano. Installations and rooms are old and simple, but clean. Very limited food. Staff very attentive.
I just recommend this hotel to stay one night and keep going to the next place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kartikmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Absolutely the worst hotel of my life. Dirty, bad smell, poor food, unfriendly staff. Please go to other hotels in the area

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GR58Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

If you want to visit Mount Bromo, you need to stay at this hotel, because there are no other hotels in the city!

The hotel is very bad and is the worst hotel we have stayed at. The view is good and that all the positive you an say about this hotel.

Food is mediocore and tripple the price of other places on Java. The rooms are not clean and the same goes for the bathroom. There are no heating in the rooms (remember it gets quite cold at night - down to minus degrees celcius).

Our guide told us that she had talk to he owner several times highlighting the bad standing of the hotel. He is of the opinion that guests only visit for one night and most of them only one time. So he don't care...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surabaya
7.3 mi away
SM Bromo Hotel
SM Bromo Hotel
#3 of 11 in Probolinggo
55 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bromo Permai I
Bromo Permai I
#7 of 11 in Probolinggo
262 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hary's Homestay
Hary's Homestay
#8 of 11 in Probolinggo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Clover Homestay
Clover Homestay
#1 of 11 in Probolinggo
61 reviews
44.1 mi away
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
43.1 mi away
favehotel Graha Agung Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bromo Cottages Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bromo Cottages Hotel

Property: Bromo Cottages Hotel
Address: Tosari, Surabaya 67177, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bromo Cottages Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bromo Cottages Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bromo Hotel Surabaya
Bromo Cottages Hotel Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing