We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Surabaya”
Review of The Alana Surabaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alana Surabaya
Ranked #9 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Granollers, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good choice in Surabaya”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great hotel. Good service, nice facilities and clean.

The rooms are fantastic, the bed super comfortable and we recommend you to stay in this hotel in Surabaya.

We would stay here again if we have the chance!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Míriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    232
    49
    10
    2
See reviews for
93
55
22
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is quite new. It has good access from city and the airport. The rooms are clean and the foods are delightful. I had stayed twice and both were nice and comfort. The staffs are friendly and helpfull. Recommended place to stay in Surabaya.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinke_ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Strategic location, close to airport, nice courtesy of staffs.
When I asked room change due to the next door's noisy and loudness, quickly understood and arrange for my request. One of the wise choices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tiket.com

Helpful?
1 Thank chab1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanaSurabaya, Public Relation at The Alana Surabaya, responded to this review, October 8, 2015
Dear Mr chab 1972

Warmest greetings from The Alana Surabaya,

Thank you for your time to give us a very positive comment. We are glad that you really enjoy your stay with us at The Alana Surabaya.
We always enforce our staffs to give hospitality services form the heart, and knowing how you are satisfied is a great encouragement toward all of our staffs..

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we are looking forward to serve you again in the near future.

Warm Regards


Debby
Public Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I was stayed for 2 days at this hotel,my opinion for this hotel is good for service,nice room with minimalism style, only shower and no bathtub,nice city view from my window room and good taste for breakfast with many variance

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dch4ndra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijchen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Alana for 3 nights on a short visit to Surabaya.

++
• Modern, new hotel
• Spacious, clean rooms
• Friendly staff
• Extensive breakfast buffet
• Good value for money

--
• Not near the city center
• Bar staff not proactive/slow. We had to walk up to request items/bill on multiple occasions.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank -_LiveYourLifeNow_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

(+) quite friendly staff

(-) Plenty of choices for the breakfast but the taste is at mediocre the best. Meh
(-) Lack of coordination and super slow response especially for the in-dining staffs. And it happens 3 times! My first order took about 40 minutes (while they said 20 mins). 2nd order, one staff called that the foods that I ordered are no longer available, however 5 minutes later, another staff said that was mistake and it was actually available???! The last order, it tooks almost 2 hours to arrived, first call said it would be another 15 minutes, 2nd call mentioned the same, the last call, I said I will complain, and few minutes later the foods being delivered. unbelievable. Would not recommend this hotel at all, not worth the price.

Overall it was not a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollarstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time stay over here.
Got a room in a corner and that was give a very great view and very nice room.
The room was so cozy.
Also their breakfast and coffee club very recommended.
The price was very good.
Overall alana never let me down :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank angga a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
4.0 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#3 of 134 in Surabaya
319 reviews
4.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 134 in Surabaya
785 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#25 of 134 in Surabaya
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#23 of 134 in Surabaya
340 reviews
4.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Surabaya
2.4 mi away
Artotel Surabaya
Artotel Surabaya
#6 of 134 in Surabaya
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alana Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alana Surabaya

Property: The Alana Surabaya
Address: Jln. Ketintang Baru No. 10-12, Surabaya 60231, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alana Surabaya 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alana Surabaya is four star hotel, blends design, pleasure and comfort. Less than 20 minutes from Juanda International Airport and close to the city's main business areas. Close proximity to Jatim International Exhibition Center, shopping center and the toll road to Sidoarjo and Gresik. Enjoy your stay either for business or leisure, at our spacious rooms and suites with contemporary elegance design, available with free high speed Internet access. Wellness Center and Spa, Indoor Pool & Bar, Lounge, and Coffee Shop, with delightful Indonesian, Asian, and Western menu, ready to ensure you to get a pleasant experience stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Alana Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alana Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing