We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, clean, will come again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alana Surabaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alana Surabaya
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Malang
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New, clean, will come again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Alana is a crisp, new hotel (as of Dec 2013, at least), with fairly good prices. Previously we'd stayed at the Novotel in Surabaya, but it was booked up - so we went w\ the Alana - not as resort-ish as the Novotel, but the Novotel also has some very rough edges, depending on the room you get. We booked the suite at the Alana - it wasn't huge, but it did have a living room and bedroom, 1 1/2 bath, great views (from the 17th floor), the pool looked great, though we didn't have time to use it, and breakfast was sufficient, if not great. Also, we got a great deal ($85) for the suite, perhaps because the place is still new.

Room Tip: I'd choose a higher floor, and if you need room for the kids, you can always try to book a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    222
    45
    9
    2
See reviews for
87
53
22
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel located in the outside of central surabay, while you will find the clean, nice, modern room amelities, with 40" of lcd tv. Large shower area plus see through bathroom view (of course there is a curtain behind it)
Superb breakfast menus and vary - the breakfast equal to 5stars hotel. Swimming pool + free gym and sauna located in 6th floor.
Parking area, the only things need to improve. Dusty and limited space

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Desniar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I was really surprised when my mother told me she will stay at Alana. I never heard about it, so I thought it just a decent hotel at the border of Surabaya. But this hotel proved me wrong. The room is really nice, the service is good, and the staff are friendly.
The only reason that kept me from giving 'Excellent' is the parking area... I think the one who designed the parking area don't have any experience or never see how a car works before... Just try the parking area and you will know what I mean...
Fortunately, this weakness is neutralized by free valet parking :)
(But, it still annoying though)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hosea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Well stayed in this hotel because it wad brand new rooms are big the food is mediocre how ever breakfast was good and complete. Cleane staff are ok since it is new they were still working out their teething issues

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aldhie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Warm & friendly staff. Nice rooms and facilities, variety of breakfast are complete enough. I think that this hotel has a highest swimming pool in town and that's surprising. The location is near with a mall and KFC. totally recommended this hotel!!!

Room Tip: A high floor was recommended so you could see the small part of Surabaya
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy_ong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banjarmasin, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed at Alana from 7 until 10 of November. check in was efficient and fast. And when i got into the room, i said it's a very nice and cozy rooms yet perfectly clean. All the staffs are helpful and friendly. The restaurant is not large enough but the food is various and tasty. I flew directly from Banjarmasin to Surabaya to attend some meetings with my colleagues. It is indeed that this Hotel makes me feel home away from home.. Thanks Alana

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Overall I love staying in this hotel. Although i experienced a bit problem with the wi-fi connection because it was not stable, i pretty much impressed with their hospitality.friendliness,food and also the hotel architecture

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank yoicepaulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
4.0 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 129 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
4.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 129 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite
Grand Darmo Suite
#23 of 129 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#24 of 129 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Papilio Hotel
BEST WESTERN Papilio Hotel
#26 of 129 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
YELLO Hotel Jemursari
YELLO Hotel Jemursari
#12 of 129 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alana Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alana Surabaya

Property: The Alana Surabaya
Address: Jln. Ketintang Baru No. 10-12, Surabaya 60231, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alana Surabaya 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alana Surabaya is four star hotel, blends design, pleasure and comfort. Less than 20 minutes from Juanda International Airport and close to the city's main business areas. Close proximity to Jatim International Exhibition Center, shopping center and the toll road to Sidoarjo and Gresik. Enjoy your stay either for business or leisure, at our spacious rooms and suites with contemporary elegance design, available with free high speed Internet access. Wellness Center and Spa, Indoor Pool & Bar, Lounge, and Coffee Shop, with delightful Indonesian, Asian, and Western menu, ready to ensure you to get a pleasant experience stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Alana Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alana Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing