We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The oldest hotel in Surabaya”
Review of ELMI Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ELMI Hotel
Ranked #69 of 132 Hotels in Surabaya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The oldest hotel in Surabaya”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Not recommended. Very old. Pest issues. You can get much better hotels in Surabaya for the same price. The staff is polite n helpful. They have a nice pool. The bar has an happy hour and is cheap. I stayed for two nights and moved to another hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank viking783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    41
    26
    2
    4
See reviews for
24
22
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here more times over the years we visited. Although the hotel is quite old, about 35 years, and the rooms have never been updated, the shower has! Very good shower, the rooms are clean and big enough for 2. The pool is the best feature! Big,big, big!!! The breakfast is meanly asia orientated. Very helpfull at reception and the staff are very nice in general.

Room Tip: I always prefer to stay on a high floor. For a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garut, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I spent 5 days at surabaya in January 2013 with my family. After two nights at a 3stars hotel, we decided to find another hotel just to feel different area of the city. Then we choose elmi for another 3stars hotel. We walk down from gubernur suryo street and turn right to panglima sudirman street. This street is very green and hide us from sun's top flight before we enter elmi. A spontaneous comment from my 10 years daughter is "it's more cozy, dad". Then we found a better tidy room that pleased my daughters. The pool (some mandatory to my daughters :D) also bigger and located better here. Another mandatory travel for my daughters is book shop, and there it is at the back of elmi. A lady at the front office escort us to find back gate of the hotel to--i think--the biggest bookstore at surabaya. Since i travel with family, what my daughters feels is my concern. They said, it was suprisingly better (including breakfast) compare with the same 3stars hotel. It was also great to let my daughters hear and watch javanese traditional music at the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani_pasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

When we booked here I thought it would be another typical hotel for Indonesia, despite it being rated 3 star in reality it would be one.How wrong was I, apart from the place being a bit old it is in very good condition, the staff are very attentive and all l have spoken to know enough english to make your stay pleasant. Everything in our room worked as its supposed to, the air conditioning is the best l have found in any hotel in Indonesia and to top it of the food in the 24hr Cafe/Resturant was wonderful. At about $55 per night for 3 of us including an all you can eat breakfast its brilliant. Oh and the breakfasts ranged from cereals, fruit, snacks,asian to western style. I will never bother going elsewhere when here.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, if you like to swim alot or have kids try to get on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DPickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I chose to stay in this hotel because its location is pretty close to the concert building I want to look at. And, it has a pool, though I didn't use it eventually, since its location is pretty far from our room.

Our room has view to the surrounding, including the parking lane and the road beneath. Not extra ordinary, but not a disappointment either.

An old building hotel, but its functions is still okay. The hot water ran well.

The breakfast consist of variety of food and yummy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vyaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

we book via phone in advance rp1000000+ for 2nite with brekfast the was big and bathroom was big and cool too with all you need inside big tv mini bar sofa free wifi in room big windows that open cool room service was fast and the pool was very clean and big but if you wana bring outsiders in to use pool you must pay an extra rp50000 perperson if thay swim or use gym as for the food its good too yummm staff are all nice and very friendly and can talk english security is very good we will be staying at the elmi again on our nxt trip to surabaya

Room Tip: malls are good for real deals go to older malls
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebaruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podimore
Level Contributor
285 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was a bit of an odd experience. The staff were to a person helpful and welcoming and check in fine. The lift is more like a factory elevator worth just metal uncovered sides. The room was fine but 30 years out of date. The food was a disappointment after reading some good reviews.
The swimming pool is absolutely massive but needs refurbishment and the various musical entertainments in the lobby and in the dinning room reminded us of a 70's musical backing group complete with electric organ. The gamelan players were distracted,bored and spent the performance texting, yawning and eating.
There are live caged roosters by the hotel entrance and an invitation to book in for a "medical massage" in the room.
Not an unpleasant stay at all but just rather quirky and odd.
Probably wouldn't repeat it though!

Room Tip: High up away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.5 mi away
Bisanta Bidakara
Bisanta Bidakara
#101 of 132 in Surabaya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sahid Surabaya
Hotel Sahid Surabaya
#99 of 132 in Surabaya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Palace Hotel
Garden Palace Hotel
#42 of 132 in Surabaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#18 of 132 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Surabaya City Center Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aria Centra Hotel
Aria Centra Hotel
#53 of 132 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ELMI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ELMI Hotel

Property: ELMI Hotel
Address: Jln. Panglima Sudirman 42-44, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ELMI Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ELMI is a one of legendary hotel in town. Strategically located in the heart of city center. Both for business and leisure. Offers you 140 rooms, from Superior to Elmi Suite Room providing excellent and complete facilities, Meeting Room, Banquet, Convention Hall and The Coffee Shop open for 24 hours. Right after you entering the hotel's gate you will experience the warm welcome and unique services, The Elmi Services. Indonesian ambient, indulgence with daily performance of The Traditional Javanese Gamelan Music in our Lobby Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your ELMI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ELMI Hotel Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing