We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your choice for a good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ELMI Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ELMI Hotel
Ranked #70 of 130 Hotels in Surabaya
Jakarta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Your choice for a good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Elmi is actually an "out-of-date" hotel and not commonly-known by younger people, particularly non-Surabaya inhabitants.
My first visit here was in late 2010, only to attend a meeting (not staying here). However, I was really impressed with their food (fried noodle, fried prawn, etc). Almost like home-cooking cuisines. It's a rare occassion for me to find good Indonesian foods in hotels.

In mid 2011, I had a business travel to Surabaya, and this time I chose Elmi for my stay. I enjoyed a good dinner in their coffee shop. The next morning, I also enjoyed a good breakfast here.

However, it must be acknowledged, that this hotel is aging, and every parts of the building are clearly showing its age, exterior, lobby, lift/elevator, dining area, and the room itself.
The bed furniture has been quite worn-out, so it made small rickety noises. I also observed some ants in the wall.

But if you are looking for a good food, this hotel is worthy for your stay. As a 3-star hotel, Elmi has a much superior food compared to international chain-hotels in Surabaya, such as Novotel or Ibis.

Additionally, the hotel is located in the center of Surabaya, so you won't have troubles on accessibility to places of interest in the town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiG-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    41
    26
    2
    4
See reviews for
24
22
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great location..walking distance to tungajuna mall..

Rooms were clean and spacious.

Service and staff were courteous and helpful.

Big swimming pool..breakfast was nice

Always rely on blue bird taxi service to move about. Very few people understand English.

Room Tip: Check out the price from website and hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aditiDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, malaysia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

I checked in the hotel through internet booking. The booking was fulfilled. When I reached there it was about 9.00pm (Indon. time) then I tole them I wanted to have some thing to eat ( dinner) as my wife and me are hungry. The receptionist showed the way to the restaurant. It is beautiful and bit cosy type. Upon ordering I told them to cook in a bit of oil and of course no sugar. (All indonesian foods do contain sugar even Pizza from Pizza Hut or any bread that is stuffed with chicken or fish).so I got to my taste.
I checked in to the room, for the price of US $60.00 a day it was a good room, very clean. It is a standard double room. The bell boys are the one that took our bags into the room without our presence as we were having dinner. they even boiled a jug full of water and comlimentary fruit basket by the hotel and 2 bottles of mineral water were provided.
2 bottles of water were provided daily for us. The next day we wanted to go to a Hundhu Temple and told the nreceptionist that we do not know the address of the temple and through internet they took the address and gave the way to go to Jaggat Kerana (Hindhu Temple) They even arrange a hotel vehicle and a driver who were very kind to show the way. Overall the staff are English spoken are very friendly even the restaurant staffs are too friendly and can speak english. To communicate with them is very easy. This hotel is in the middle of the city and very easy to get taxi to move around.. I told the staffs that I wanted to see some Javanese cultural song and one day they arranged it for me. How nice are they?

Room Tip: Contact through the internet and get some dicount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santhira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Only stayed here for one day, but it was very pleasent. Nice room with good beds and helpfull staff. Free access to a large swimmingpool. The hotel is near Surabaya's largest shoppingcentre.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Converse1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

Don't go here. I don't want this place to become popular because I love it so much, but since it's in Surabaya and not in Bali (waikiki of asia), I don't have much to worry about. If you like smoking and french toast. This is the place for you. Five ashtrays in my room. I've stayed here many times. Once there were two ashtrays in the bathroom alone. My kind of place. Even after I quit smoking, I come here. It doesn't stink, and it is class through and through. They have prized roosters at the entrance. Maybe not a good place if you only speak English, tho'.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChimichangaFreud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

I went to Surabaya with 2 families, staying in Elmi Hotel for 3D2N. The hotel location is within Surabaya's business district. So, it is quite convenient for most. My first impression was: this hotel is labelled a 3-star, but the amenities can include this hotel to a 4-star. They look aged. But still, if you come here, let's say, 15 years ago, the interior would look classy. The staffs were nice and polite. Checking in/out was smooth. The variety of food served are nice. So, if you plan to get a culinary experience of Surabaya/East Java, but lacking the time, just order and dine in. I think the price given compared to the overall experience is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aji2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

A good standard 3* hotel in the heart of surabaya and at approx USD45 per night with breakfast great value! Staff were friendly and the coffeeshop worked well as also did the friendly small lobby bar with live music. Rooms were average but well maintained with International TV channels. My only disappointment was the swimming pool at the time was not in use! More of an Indonesian style hotel but hey i'm in Indonesia!!!

  • Liked — It was well maintained and clean.
  • Disliked — Swimming pool not in use!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.5 mi away
Bisanta Bidakara
Bisanta Bidakara
#101 of 130 in Surabaya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sahid Surabaya
Hotel Sahid Surabaya
#99 of 130 in Surabaya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Palace Hotel
Garden Palace Hotel
#43 of 130 in Surabaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#18 of 130 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Surabaya City Center Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aria Centra Hotel
Aria Centra Hotel
#58 of 130 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ELMI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ELMI Hotel

Property: ELMI Hotel
Address: Jln. Panglima Sudirman 42-44, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ELMI Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ELMI is a one of legendary hotel in town. Strategically located in the heart of city center. Both for business and leisure. Offers you 140 rooms, from Superior to Elmi Suite Room providing excellent and complete facilities, Meeting Room, Banquet, Convention Hall and The Coffee Shop open for 24 hours. Right after you entering the hotel's gate you will experience the warm welcome and unique services, The Elmi Services. Indonesian ambient, indulgence with daily performance of The Traditional Javanese Gamelan Music in our Lobby Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your ELMI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ELMI Hotel Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing