We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to chill at night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jembatan Merah

Jembatan Merah
Ranked #23 of 101 things to do in Surabaya
Attraction details
Ampang
Level Contributor
134 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A place to chill at night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

There is nothing much to do here. Well, was told that this is another place to shop during the day but since we came at night, so i guess the excitement could not be felt.

There is a traditional music show by local lads on every 1st Saturday of the month played on the square. We had the chance to watch this. Well, nothing to shout about but the traditional music "gamelan" was fun to listen to.

The weather at night is quite breezy and cold when we were there.

The square is just by the roadside and is within walking distance from Ibis Hotel.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    56
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Busy old trade center market in Surabaya”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Same like Pasar Tanah Abang in Jakarta, in Jembatan Merah you will find any kind of things that will be sold in acceptable price. Don't dare to bargain while you were here. You also will find many old Chinese building in Jembatan Merah

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fivangga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A (bit) Heroic Places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have expecting more before visit this place, and what I've got here not too high as I expected as Jembatan Merah will gave.
In my dream about this place, is that I can saw a huge monument or what similar, that describe about how important and how that bridge become a silent witness of Arek-arek Suroboyo fight againts Nederland for Indonesia independence before.

Helpful?
Thank _dita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not so great and nothing to see....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Your experience here will be underwhelming... For all the stories that are told about this bridge, the actual bridge itself is just a bridge, nothing else.... Good to pass through once on your way to see the old Chinatown or the nearby Jembatan Merah Plaza, but otherwise skip it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Lorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Not Much To See Anymore But Eye Catching”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just for tourist who want more, there is nothing to see and enjoy from this place. But if you appreciate of old Dutch architectural, this is the place you may enjoy. Still many well preserve old Dutch building with unique design and imagine how good they exist almost 1 century. Jembatan Merah is just 100m of bridge span on Kalimas river but in the old day this is the quite the crowded area in old Surabaya city. Ibis Hotel is right beside the bridge and quite cheap to stay.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4nn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jembatan Merah also viewed

 

Been to Jembatan Merah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing