We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo
Ranked #44 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Magelang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I slept for 2 nights at room 511. There were no complaints for this hotel at this time. Pros: reasonable price, relatively new building, friendly staffs, clean, even though no window the room is comfortable enough, the location is near to the shopping mall and local restaurants, free coffee tea and ice tea at the lobby, no hotel restaurant but 24 hrs room service, breakfast at 3 and 2 floor was average. Cons: budget hotel so do not expect more. you will only get 2 bottles of mineral waters every day but we can find water dispenser at every floor near the elevator.

Room Tip: if you need room with window, do not choose standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    121
    57
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
65
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The rooms here are good value and the hotel is conveniently located. It´s a 5 minute walk to the nearest plaza and to Gubeng train station. There are always Bluebird taxis outside the hotel too.

The rooms have wifi and the bathroom has a separate box shower. As is often the case in Indonesian cities, the rooms don´t have windows.

Breakfast was ok - a choice of eggs or nasi goreng. Fruit was also available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable price for the service that is provided to guests. Check-in process is fast, the staff were friendly enough. Large bed, with clean sheets. Strategic location. Disadvantages of this hotel during my stay was that my room got no windows, and a bathroom that emit unpleasant odors.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank retta_sims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This New hotel has really good value.LOCATION wise it is a 20min walk to tunjungan mall and thus not so convenient.but taxis are readily available.It is 5 min walk to balai pemuda where cultural shows are held and tourist information can be obtained. FREE WIFI very GOOD ....Breakfast starts as early as 6am, good local variety.good service....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukim1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed for 2 nights. Clean, great bathroom with a door on the shower keeping the water off the floor. Very comfortable bed. Great buffet breakfast included, consisting of all sorts of INdonesian dishes.
Friendly helpful staff who went out of their way to help.
Free tea and coffee on tap. Wi fi
Very handy location, easy walking to good shopping, banks etc.
Only negative was no window in our particular room, but as this is a huge noisy city this may have been a blessing.
Also I would like to recommend the Tourist Information Centre in Surabaya full of good useful information and great maps.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mand203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magelang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was my first experience sleeping in this budget hotel. I slept for 2 nights in room 310. Pros: friendly staffs, efficient check in, low price, relatively new building, clean room with comfortable bed, non smoking rooms, free 2 bottles of mineral water, medium size new led tv, free wifi internet connection with good speed, free flow tea and coffee at the lobby, near delta plaza (around 10 minutes walk) and local restaurants, breakfast area in every floors sowe can take our breakfast near from our rooms, the breakfast taste was good. Cons: budget hotel so do not expect too much, small shower room, a room with no window. In general I have no serious problem with this hotel, but my good perception of this hotel was ruined at the second night. At 11.30 PM some guests who stayed in the rooms beside me were starting chatting noisily at the alley. At 4.30AM early in the morning the started making noise again. They yell, come in and out of their room and take a breakfast very early at 05.30 AM still with their annoying noise.
Inputs for this hotel management: you must put "QUIET PLEASE" (Harap Tenang) in the alley and near elevators doors. if their alot of guests in a group better you give them in box breakfast and ask their group coordinator to share the foods to their rooms and they can take their breakfast in their rooms, so they will not annoy another hotel guests. You must makes a commitment with group coordinator to keep his / her member in quiet. I think "quiet" and good image are important for your hotel because lots of your hotel's guest are not only locals but foreigns too.
At the first time I like to gift 4 points for this hotel. After this noisy accident, I decided to give only 1 point for this hotel. :(. Hope this hotel will getting better in my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Always be feel good when i come back to this hotel. Clean room, Friendly Staff, Good Service, Strategic Location, Reasonable Rates that's what i can discribe about this hotel. Always come to this hotel when 88 Embong Malang are fully book hehe.. I will be back to this hotel for sure. Oya will be nice if their give more choice of breakfast menu :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DewaIndra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel 88 Embong Malang
Hotel 88 Embong Malang
#64 of 134 in Surabaya
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
The WIN Hotel Surabaya
The WIN Hotel Surabaya
#52 of 134 in Surabaya
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horison Suites Surabaya
Horison Suites Surabaya
#45 of 134 in Surabaya
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
favehotel MEX Surabaya
favehotel MEX Surabaya
#40 of 134 in Surabaya
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weta International Hotel
Weta International Hotel
#74 of 134 in Surabaya
28 reviews
1.1 mi away
MaxOneHotels Tidar
MaxOneHotels Tidar
#35 of 134 in Surabaya
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo

Property: Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo
Address: Jln. Embong Kenongo 17, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A SMART HOTEL WITH STANDARD SERVICE AS A TWO STARS PLUS HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing