We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room oke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo
Ranked #55 of 136 Hotels in Surabaya
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice hotel, clean, even small room it has. Best for transit. Cheap for the price and in the lobby,has welcome drink like coffeee and tea, take everytime you like and with your own taste.But the breakfast not variative, waitress minim responsibility. This hotel near delta mall.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank desianti n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 230 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

As my title speaks, this hotel is a bang for your buck. Good price and decent expectation from a budget hotel. The location is ideal and near Delta Plaza & Plaza Tujungan. The staff were friendly, rooms were clean, and breakfast was decent.

Perfect stay for a business traveler as the hotel provides wifi and free coffee at the lobby to give you a boost of caffeine. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a budget hotel in surabaya.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here twice on the way and back from bromo region trip. Overall the stay wad pretty good value at 350000 rp per night. wifi signal was strong and fast for both visits on different floors. Rooms were clean, comfortable, modern and very plain. air con TV etc worked. TV had a good selection of English channels inc HBO and news channels. Breakfast was nice with a good selection with the usual Indonesian items including fresh watermelon, YUMMY. Maybe not sp good for coffee fans though. Location was central near the malls and train station. We were quite surprised at how impossible it is to get around on foot in surabaya. We ended up getting taxid to places under a kilometer justt because we couldnt cross the four lanes of FAST traffic. That said there was always a bluebird cab on hand outside the hotel and they were only about 9000 to get to the shopping plaza even on the pne way systems. Surabaya is a huge city in desperate need of a rapid transport system I feel sorry for the guys that have to dral with that traffic everyday

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherineg186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel has very friendly and helpful staffs. The location is near Surabaya Plaza and Monumen Kapal Selam, but not in the main street so it's quiet. Very clean room but several rooms don't have window and unfortunately the water smelly, taste salty and sticky.

Room Tip: ask the room with window
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank hertii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel one night on my way to Banyuwangi (going to Bali) by train, so its close distance to Train station was my major consideration. Then I found it is only 5 minutes walk from Surabaya Plaza, which has tons of good clean restaurants, a huge super market and everything else.

Pros:
at $41.00 per night (tax and service included) a good bargain
The hotel and the rooms are new and superbly clean.
The shower has good water pressure, and hot water is good.
The staffs are very friendly, helpful, and speak sufficient English.
The bed linens were high quality and bed was very comfortable
AC works well

Cons:
The breakfast is terrible and I couldn't eat it. So, I thought just having a cup of coffee, but I couldn't find not even one clean cup. So, I challenged the attendant to find me a clean cup and after 10 minutes search he gave up too. I passed on coffee too.
There is no safe or wardrobe in the room
TV channels are limited
No shampoo and the soap was useless since it wouldn't foam.
I had drainage problem in my shower.
The window in the room is tiny for no apparent reason.
There is complimentary coffee at the lobby, but no creamer and coffee taste terrible.
The hotel and rooms all white and dark brown lacks any character and warmth.

On the whole, I would stay here again if I was passing through using train station, mainly for it's great location and bargain price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rad_Cyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

As expected good hotel, very clean room and friedly front office staff. Booking for the hotel at the airport will be cheaper, but if standard is full then have to pay for deluxe. If paying for deluxe, it is better to pay a bit more and stay at Grand Hotel, bigger room
more luxurious and next to the Shopping Mall.
Hotel 88 is located opposite to Hotel Kenaga, can take a short cut to Surabay Plaza by walking
through the carpark of Bank Indonesia.
Can also book for tour to Bromo.

Room Tip: Higher floor got better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldmantvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a stop over on the way to Bromo and this hotel was perfect for that. It's close to Gubeng railway station, rooms are very clean and staff is very friendly. The hotel however lacks atmosphere and breakfast options are quite limited.

Room Tip: Breakfast is served on floor 2: might be a bit noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank B84L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel 88 Embong Malang
Hotel 88 Embong Malang
#59 of 136 in Surabaya
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel NEO Gubeng
Hotel NEO Gubeng
#31 of 136 in Surabaya
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Hotel Surabaya
Best Hotel Surabaya
#71 of 136 in Surabaya
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Prime Royal Hotel Surabaya
Prime Royal Hotel Surabaya
#72 of 136 in Surabaya
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
favehotel MEX Surabaya
favehotel MEX Surabaya
#41 of 136 in Surabaya
446 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Surabaya
Red Planet Surabaya
#8 of 136 in Surabaya
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo

Address: Jl. Embong Kenongo no. 17, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 136 Hotels in Surabaya
Price Range: $21 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Smart Hotel With Standard Service As A Two Stars Plus Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 88 Embong Kenongo Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing