We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Peacefull

Masjid Al-Akbar Surabaya is definitely a splendid masterpiece. I visited this mosque be my first... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Berhanzk
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Absolutely worth the effort. Very friendly.

I was travelling with three friends. We were on our way back to Surabaya from Malang and we decided... read more

Reviewed April 16, 2022
Patrick C
,
Manly, Australia
via mobile
Read all 384 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Surabaya
from $123.17
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
from $287.84
More Info
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
208
142
33
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
208
142
33
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 384 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

the biggest mosque i ever enter,i used to come there for Friday pray, wudlu place are all over the mosque so no worry of queuing. inside there are a lot of mosque staff that help you to arrange the shaft(line). wide parking lot & there is tower which you can see the view of surabaya city

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank roosita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This big. When you enter the area, you will feel the peace mind and comfort. The facility is good.

The mosque is surrounding by food stall, and some restaurant. I think you will like this place

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank andryantoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Big Masjid with huge capacity and located close to house community. This masjid also provide large wudhu area and parking area.

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank fajridotnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is such a beautiful mosque. We went there to visit and performed our Asr prayer. Beautifully designed. We also went up the tower to see the view of Surabaya

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank MTG010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Opened in 2000 by then President, Abdulrachman Wahid, this is Surabaya's largest mosque. Its website proudly boasts that it covers 11 hectares of land, so if you like your religious sites on a massive scale, this is the place for you. The green domes owe much more to the modern mosques of Iran and Saudi Arabia than anything in Indonesian vernacular architecture, but this kind of thing is all the rage in Indonesia in the new century. Bigger is better and the more Arab it looks, the more religious it must be. We agree with neither of these formulas, so this place really didn't impress us. But at least it is better than the Central Java mosque; some effort has been made to make the structure attractive and well-proportioned.

Date of experience: December 2011
5  Thank camsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews