We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dapur Cokelat

Dapur Cokelat
Ranked #335 of 1,530 Restaurants in Surabaya
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Dapur cokelat have a many chocolate or other cake. the price is fair enough for the quality. they have a many helpfull staff, love it

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pram92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not that good chocolate, but excellent cakes!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Dapur Cokelat should've been a chocolate shop. But their chocolate are not that good. It's too sweet, and doesn't really have the chocolate flavor. ]
But they have a tasty cake. I really love the rainbow cake. The cream and the cake blends perfectly, Not to sweet. Also their Opera and Chocolate cake is a must!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lackluster chocolates, good cakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I'll start with the good. Dapur Cokelat makes pretty good cakes. Whenever they hold a 50% sale, every location will have a long line for the entire day! The cakes are indeed a good deal at that price. Even at regular price I think some of the cakes are worth buying, especially the opera cake. Other places tend to use too much buttercream but Dapur Cokelat's opera cake is the right balance of fat and sweetness.

And then the bad. Despite its name, Dapur Cokelat does not make good chocolate. Their chocolates don't have any "snap", meaning the chocolate has not been tempered properly and/or it has been adulterated with other oils. Compare this to Igor's truffles, which give a satisfying, resounding "snap" when you bite into them. I haven't bought DC's cakes outside of sales, but the cakes I bought aren't made with high-quality chocolate (though the cakes themselves are quite well made!). I love chocolate and look for the nuances in taste and the different aromas. DC's cakes use chocolate about the same quality as Nestle's Crunch bar: dull, sweet, and uninteresting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SBYcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best rainbow cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

i like the taste of rainbow cake not too plain but not too tasty also, it just about right. what i like the most from this place is the cake

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is okay. It was very close to the project site I was working on, so I came here several t”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

It is clean, and cool... it really helpful, when I needed to cool down a bit !
They have home-made chocolate... and of course chocolate cakes...and chocolate cookies.... :-)
I dont know, if this is the only place about chocolate in Sby or there is another one ? The price was very good, I think, if i remember correctly its Rp. 10k for a cup of chocolate drink...? Sorry, it was 3 years ago...so forgive if you there, and it is Rp. 20k by today. :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank mkawuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dapur Cokelat also viewed

Surabaya, East Java
Surabaya, East Java
 
Surabaya, East Java
Surabaya, East Java
 

Been to Dapur Cokelat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing