We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and different”
Review of Artotel Surabaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artotel Surabaya
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Affordable and different”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in Artotel Surabaya on September 26-27, 2013. I like the interior, very artistic and never seen before. The room is simple and clean, but the telephone is too small, like a toy. The corridor is also hot even it is in the night. Every time I leave the room, all electricity will be off. The problem is it takes a while to make the room cool again. AC is so slow in cooling the room! I had to leave before 6 am but I could take away my plentiful breakfast. Good service! The price is very reasonable. Good for your business!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BWS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    234
    65
    9
    1
See reviews for
69
84
40
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very nice hotel decoration ,the room with street view are big enough but impossible to sleep ,toooo Noisy if the isolation was better it could be perfect hôtel.the breakfast is good,the front office team very helpfull,and the manager also, Hassanudin .
Taxi always avalaible front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not on street view. But only small room in other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abdeljabar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here for one night only during my recent trip to Surabaya because I received a good deal from an online reservation website, I may return to stay here again during my next business trips to Surabaya for a few reasons:

1) The hotel has a unique, fun artistic style and thus it offers a refreshing look
2) The room may be on the small side but the beds are comfy and there is cable TV with international channels available
3) FOIE GRAS NOODLES!!! Right now it is still unique to this hotel. It is a unique, tasty twist on one of Indonesia's most loved and common delicacy. Ok it is on the expensive side (USD$70 plus tax) but you have to try this yummy food.
4) The service is good
5) Clean and comfortable
6) Oh did I mention FOIE GRAS NOODLES!!

There are a few minor drawbacks, such as room doors slamming shut loudly so in the morning you can hear guests leaving clearly from your room, and the aforementioned small room size but for the price paid, I highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HenryOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Okay, it's true the rooms are little small. And I wish the door would just close would let it go. But really a fun hotel great food wonderful service and joyous staff. The staff really just makes you feel good being there.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We've spent 3 nights in the artotel Surabaya. From first entering the building onwards we had a very good feeling staying here. Everything looks new & the rooms were very clean. We had the standard room with the king-size bed and breakfast incl. Breakfast was okay, which was in the Roca-Café on the ground floor. The breakfast selection was not very extensive, I only had some bread & some garlic potatoes, so I cannot rate the noodles etc. WiFi was included en-suite. All in all: A very good choice when you're staying in Surabaya, so for vacation as well as for business trips, as this hotel is well-situated in Surabaya-city near the shopping-malls and a 45-minute drive from Juanda Airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LenaManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Probolinggo, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a budget hotel and suitable for people traveling for business or young couple who will not stay all day long in the room.

Looks like apartment but with tasteful interior.

Breakfast is standard and can be improved.

The annoying part is the water pressure from the shower is not enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is our first time in this hotel We found it by searching in website and choose it because of reasonable price and nice decorated. We r very happy to stay there and hope to come back soon
One of my friend hd forgot diamond earing and jade ring value around 3,000 us $ in his room
and just remember after 3 hrs. check out
But he got it back !!! hotel kept and waiting for him !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tee2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#23 of 134 in Surabaya
350 reviews
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 134 in Surabaya
796 reviews
1.2 mi away
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
#27 of 134 in Surabaya
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#3 of 134 in Surabaya
343 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#26 of 134 in Surabaya
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artotel Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artotel Surabaya

Property: Artotel Surabaya
Address: Jl. Dr Soetomo 79-81, Surabaya 60264, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#6 Best Value Hotel in Surabaya
#7 Business Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artotel Surabaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand of Artotel is about building a new category in the hospitality industry through a mix of efficiency, simplicity, creativity and an art experience, for business travelers with sophisticated contemporary life style.Collaborating with rising young talented Indonesian contemporary artist & an art galleries, Artotel strives to enhance guest experience & promote the Indonesian Contemporary art to the world.Located in downtown Surabaya, Artotel Surabaya is a perfect place to find a serenity in city rush. A special place for you to indulge your own passion in art. An art inspired hotel is a no frills a accomodation providing best quality basic hotel amenities, where guests can indulge in an ARTISTIC experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artotel Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artotel Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing