We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just plain fun”
Review of Artotel Surabaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artotel Surabaya
Ranked #8 of 135 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Okay, it's true the rooms are little small. And I wish the door would just close would let it go. But really a fun hotel great food wonderful service and joyous staff. The staff really just makes you feel good being there.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 485 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We've spent 3 nights in the artotel Surabaya. From first entering the building onwards we had a very good feeling staying here. Everything looks new & the rooms were very clean. We had the standard room with the king-size bed and breakfast incl. Breakfast was okay, which was in the Roca-Café on the ground floor. The breakfast selection was not very extensive, I only had some bread & some garlic potatoes, so I cannot rate the noodles etc. WiFi was included en-suite. All in all: A very good choice when you're staying in Surabaya, so for vacation as well as for business trips, as this hotel is well-situated in Surabaya-city near the shopping-malls and a 45-minute drive from Juanda Airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LenaManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a budget hotel and suitable for people traveling for business or young couple who will not stay all day long in the room.

Looks like apartment but with tasteful interior.

Breakfast is standard and can be improved.

The annoying part is the water pressure from the shower is not enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is our first time in this hotel We found it by searching in website and choose it because of reasonable price and nice decorated. We r very happy to stay there and hope to come back soon
One of my friend hd forgot diamond earing and jade ring value around 3,000 us $ in his room
and just remember after 3 hrs. check out
But he got it back !!! hotel kept and waiting for him !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tee2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for only 1 day and I loved it! The lobby was attractive with nice decorations, unique chairs and sofas. The check in process was easy and quick. The bedroom is small but beautiful. It has a comfy bed, flat screen TV, nice bathroom with a shower, but the problem is the WiFi.... The speed was really slow from my room, and I had to restart my device over and over again in order to connect with the server. But if you go to the lobby, the connection is wonderful. The bfast is good and they also serve ice cream. Yummy ! You should try the small pudding that served in a tiny glass, it is so delicious. There is a convenience store next door that open for 24hrs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sheepo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although the room is pretty small but this hotel has a comfy bed, the breakfast is also good and the staff is so nice.
The only problem that I got in here is only you can hear some noise from outside and corridor, I think they can provide soundproof room. But overall this place is pretty good.

Try their monster sandwich it's so good

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank Christzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed for only 1 night at Artotel, the hotel looks artistic from the outside and also the interior. The lobby is very attractive with some paintings and sculpture and some unique stuffs for souvenirs. The check in process was quick and easy. The bedroom is quite spacious for a business traveler. Everything works properly except the noise from other room/corridor was so disturbing. I'm not sure whether there were construction going on or what. I believe they could improve it by adding some insulation, as I can hear door banging, people chatting, kids crying etc. Also the noise from outside through the window. I think the glass should be thicker or using some good sealant to prevent the noise.

Breakfast is very nice for a small hotel, they have extensive variations such as bread station, porridge station, main dishes, juices and cereals, fruits, cold cuts. I like the breakfast very much.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, business or holidays. Located near the city center and it's not so crowded.

Room Tip: Perhaps try 6th floor to avoid noise?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kiki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#3 of 135 in Surabaya
834 reviews
1.2 mi away
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
#26 of 135 in Surabaya
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#28 of 135 in Surabaya
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#18 of 135 in Surabaya
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Hotel Surabaya
Quest Hotel Surabaya
#59 of 135 in Surabaya
321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#21 of 135 in Surabaya
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artotel Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artotel Surabaya

Address: Jl. Dr Soetomo 79-81, Surabaya 60264, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#7 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#11 Best Value Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range: $28 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artotel Surabaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand of Artotel is about building a new category in the hospitality industry through a mix of efficiency, simplicity, creativity and an art experience, for business travelers with sophisticated contemporary life style.Collaborating with rising young talented Indonesian contemporary artist & an art galleries, Artotel strives to enhance guest experience & promote the Indonesian Contemporary art to the world.Located in downtown Surabaya, Artotel Surabaya is a perfect place to find a serenity in city rush. A special place for you to indulge your own passion in art. An art inspired hotel is a no frills a accomodation providing best quality basic hotel amenities, where guests can indulge in an ARTISTIC experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artotel Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artotel Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing