We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncopied recipe and taste”

Rawon Setan (Devil's Rawon)
Ranked #28 of 1,537 Restaurants in Surabaya
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: "Rawon Setan" is a place that many locals call it "durung nang suroboyo nek durung mangan rawon setan" or in English means (not translation) "you can't say you were already travelling around surabaya if you didn't eat rawon setan there". The name of the owner is Endang. You may find the other rawon setan with different owner arround Indonesia, but the original one is here in Embong Malang street. The name 'setan' or devil is given in many different reasons. One say it is because the restaurant only open from 23pm, while the other one say it is because when you eat this rawon along with its chilli your stomach will be "kesetanan" (the translate of 'kesetanan' is possessed by the devil, but in this case, the meaning is suffering from hot spices). Many information are provide now in internet, and even the recent president of Indonesia have already invite the owner of this restaurant to make a serving in 'Istana Negara' along with other unique Indonesian's culinary when celebrated an independence day of Indonesia.
jkt
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“uncopied recipe and taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

in jakarta we could find a number of resto claimed themselves to serve rawon setan but the one in surabaya (accross marriott hotel) is the real best rawon I have ever had ... money worth

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank i t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    137
    121
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average food, service could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This eatery enjoys an excellent location, just opposite the Marriot, so one should not have any trouble locating it.

On my first visit, I requested for a menu, as I had seen a copy on the internet (photo taken by a previous patron and posted) and was keen to try the various side-dishes as well. However, the waiter insisted that there was no printed menu and nothing besides rawon.

As such, I ordered just rawon with white rice. The rawon was not particularly flavourful and there were only a few pieces of beef.

On my second visit, I requested for a menu from the waiter attending to us and he was able to provide us with printed menus (I suppose the first waiter just wasn't very enthusiastic about serving customers). This time, in addition to rawon and rice, I ordered the empal and salted egg.

The empal (beef) looked rather dry on the outside, but it was tender and sufficiently juicy on the inside.

Convenient place that serves a decent meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StanSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good environment, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nostalgic with our President Director of Berca Retail Group and his daughter after his business visit of my supervision Area.

Helpful?
Thank Dragonei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makassar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“too pricy for just rawon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

good taste, but i think it's bit too expensive for just a bowl of rawon.
rawon is a traditional javanesse black soup, made of beef, with the special Indonesian spice, kluwak, black coloured spice. it's where the soup black coloured came from.
rawon is one of the indonesian most delicious, very special food.
rawon was widely serve in most of Indonesian restaurant or food stall (warung or hawker).
You can find rawon almost everywhere in surabaya.
try it, n you'll love it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vitruvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“hail devils !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

my local friend brought me to this small resto, located in front of marriot hotel, and shocking me with the taste.

taking this devil for breakfast, with tender meat, hot and special herb inside the soup, enough for make my day.

if you are only care about the taste, please try.. but don't judges this meal by appearances...

devils are always bad, but we do always love our bad-side....laugh....




Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank okie_baik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rawon Setan (Devil's Rawon) also viewed

 

Been to Rawon Setan (Devil's Rawon)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing