We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small yet comfortable and affordable”
Review of Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midtown Hotel
Ranked #20 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Small yet comfortable and affordable”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel! It is not as big nor extravagant as its neighbouring hotels around this area but it has all you need for a comfortable stay. I was impressed with the interior designing of the room. It has a modern feel with its furnitures, fixtures and fittings arranged in such a way that it managed to provide that comfy touch.
We had our breakfast at the restaurant and the variety of food offered were pretty fair. The food were delicious.
The famous Tunjungan Plaza mall is just beside the hotel. You can choose to walk or get a taxi which costs only Rp5000.
Overall I did enjoy my stay here and will definitely be back if I visit Surabaya again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinaSoepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    193
    75
    10
    5
See reviews for
61
35
34
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Don't look any further. We stayed 3 nights in a groovy twin and were more than happy. Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and big room. Easy access to wifi. Breakfast was yummy, lots of choices. I would stay again if I was in Surabaya. So central, walking distance to the mall and easy to get a taxi.
The only small complaint I have is there was no where to put your shampoo etc in the shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent one night at the hotel with breakfast included. Good and cheap hotel for a short stopover.

Location: The location is within walking distance to mega mall (7 mins). There is also a minimart which is 3 mins away. Distance to the international airport is about 35mins in the morning without traffic jam.

Room: We were upgraded to the higher floor (17th floor). The rooms are spacious and clean. Toiletries are limited better bring your own. Just a note, a friend got a room which the bathroom has full glass panel that can be seen from the bedroom with no curtains or frosted glass. Do let the hotel know if you have concerns.

Massage: We asked for massage at our room. Though the brochure stated 60mins but the actual massage was only 45 mins. They likely to have included travelling time. Overall, the massage was good but not excellant and price is cheap.

Hotel Service: As we were catching a 7.30am flight, the hotel has kindly packed the breakfast for us to takeaway. The food was simple do not expect hugh portion.

Cheers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The staff were very friendly, responsive and helpful to any issues I brought up. The breakfast had a good variety - suitable for any international palette.

The wifi signal was good in the rooms, but the login username and password expired every 24 hours, or less, then required a new username and password. The staff were nice about giving me new usernames and passwords upon request, but a simpler system would be more user friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsweenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stay only 1 night in the hotel on the late Sept 2013. We booked for Groovy room but we were upgraded to Splendid. Most of Groovy room are Twin bed, so if you were looking for a King size bed, you may need to book in advanced and make sure you request one. We also booked 2 other Groovy rooms, but they weren't upgraded and we both had twin beds.
Groovy rooms are pretty small, the Splendid is bigger. If you just travel for 2, it should be OK, but if you have young kids, Groovy might be a little too small. Splendid will be better for family with young kids as it has more room for them to walk around. Rooms are clean.
The breakfast in the hotel is not too bad, but choice is very limited.
Hotel location is very convenient, less than 5 mins drive from Tunjungan Plaza, it also right next to Restaurant Bumbu Desa.
Recommend to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Groovy room is small and mostly are twin bed. Book in advanced if you need King size bed, or upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiong29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

You can tell that Midtown is a new hotel by the look of lobby and rooms. Everything is in good condition and hopefully will remain so with good up-keeping. The hotel provides all the basic amenities required for the business or leisure traveller.

The size of room and bathroom was just right, not too small to feel budget. Quality of bed linen and towels just pass and you can't complain for the price paid. There are surprisingly numerous TV channels so you won't get bored in the room. Wifi internet is also readily available but don't expect the fastest speeds. The breakfast was alright, although the place was very full and I had to share a table. The problem is the staff just let me in without bringing me to a table, so I had to ask to share.

There is a major shopping mall just 10mins walk away from the hotel. Convenient to relax and for some food. All in all, keeping in mind the budget price, Midtown Hotel is a worthwhile option for visitors to Surabaya.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sramrevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Brand new small hotel, in the CBD of Surabaya. Room size is decent, not to large nor to tight.
Breakfast quality 7,5/10, Easy to get taxi, but if U bring your own car, don't choose this hotel, very small parking space.

I booked this hotel , because some of my local friends recomend Midtown hotel. Room price is affordable for me.

What I hate about this hotel only their very small lobby in front of the Reception desk. Anything else is just perfect for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Surabaya City Center Hotel
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 134 in Surabaya
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
G Suites Hotel
G Suites Hotel
#28 of 134 in Surabaya
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Artotel Surabaya
Artotel Surabaya
#5 of 134 in Surabaya
415 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#26 of 134 in Surabaya
328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#24 of 134 in Surabaya
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hotel

Property: Midtown Hotel
Address: Jl. Basuki Rachmad 76, Surabaya 60262, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Midtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing