We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel from hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence
Ranked #58 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
jakarta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“hotel from hell”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

we were booked in this hotel by a friend who invited us to a wedding in Surabaya. The check in and the service is relatively good, quite attentive and prompt. The cleanliness is really terrible. The room carpet is dirty and so dated with so many spots. The pillow cases are dirty with the area around the head is of darker color, the pillow case might have been used for years and was not properly laundered. The bathroom is another area with the bathroom fixtures are so thick from years of not being polished. The shower area is so narrow that I have to stand side way in order to fit in, with molds in tiles. I have never stayed in a hotel this dirty. I was thinking of checking out right away but it was past midnight so gotta to bear it.....

Room Tip: none - not recommended to stay in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritaksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and there are no words to describe how sorry I am for your unpleasant stay with us.
I will ensure that it will not happen again to you or any of our guests.
My sincere apology..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    72
    54
    17
    4
See reviews for
27
9
7
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Decided to stay in this hotel again, after my last stay more than a year ago, because it's quite conveniently located for us who go in and out of the city daily for business. Checking in was a pain. Our reservation through an agency was not handed down from their office to the front desk, leaving is sitting in the café for an hour. Internet service in the room was even a bigger pain, same as my last stay. Although all other aspects of the hotel remain pleasant, I guess no attention has been given to this little things to boost guest satisfaction. Nothing Change!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeKYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and I am glad you come back to stay with us after a year. Within the last year, quite a bit of changes had taken place.

We had a newly renovated Terakta Cafe which was in operation early this year. It serves buffet for the 3 meals and we also have an extensive ala carte menu and room service.

Many of our hotel rooms had undergone a full renovation and within the next few months, all hotel rooms will be completely new.

I will continue to look into the internet for the property and may install more routers to facilitate a smoother connection.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments.

Anthony Ow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

1st time stayed in this terrible hotel. Stay in deluxe room has been renovated for two nights. I have been into a lot hotel in the world but never been come across this worse customer service. Not recommended stay in this hotel at all. I would not go back even though is free stay! Too bad really. To the general manager in this hotel pls reviews your staff properly. The staff name is wardani.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikolas46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback. I can fully understand how you feel and I am very concern about the service standard as it cannot be tolerated.
I am truly sorry and I apologize. I had also email to you separately to get more details and once after the investigation, I will reply to you personally. Please do let me know the details.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My son and I stayed at one of the apartments recently. It was spacious. Airconditioning is good. But the good things stop there. There was no carpeting at all. Some of the tiles are chipped. The televisions are so old and small. There was only one bathroom to share. It was old.
The kitchen was very shabby. Moving to the bedroom, the bed was okay. But the pillows are not soft and fluffy. And the tv is put on the table.
On the second day, they sprayed the apartment with some kind of air perfumer or something, which made the air smelled bad and unbearable. I don't know why they did that.
And I couldn't get it why they didn't provide slippers. I noticed that the hotel guests get slippers. I should mention that they were nice enough to let me check out late at 3 pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Somerset Surabaya Hotel and Serviced Residence.
We will be completing our upgrading of our hotel rooms by end the 4th quater of this year and thereafter, we will upgrade the apartment units. We noted your comments and will take that into consideration when we renovate the apartments.
Thank you once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Well, as a serviced apartment, I might say not bad. But if you're looking for a luxurious hotel stay, you might want to skip this one.

I stayed there for 1 night only, in a group of 7 adults and 1 baby. We stay at 3 bedroom apartment.
Air conditioned works very well, TV a bit old fashioned (but we didn't spend much time in front of TV), Hot water available, In room WiFi also works well.

The breakfast also great, they provide the breakfast at the same area of Somerset hotel.

The location might a bit far from the City, and you might stuck in traffic jam. But the surrounding environment provide the experience of home.

Room Tip: Higher floor might be better for a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpeJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive comments and I am glad you had enjoyed the buffet breakfast that we served at Terakota Cafe.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset Surabaya and Serviced Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed a night for business. Nice location, near to city centre and about 30 min away from airport. Did not go for hotel's breakfast as there is quite a variety of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Couldn't find a convenience store though. However, the room condition is a bit shabby. The bathroom could use some serious renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WengFai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your valuable comments.
You have to try the breakfast the next time you stay with us. We have a wonderful spread of both local and International dishes with eggs, waffle, pancakes and noodles cooking right in front of you.
We had completed the renovation for some of the floors and by year end the rest of the hotel rooms will be completly renovated.
We look forward to Welcoming You back to Somerset Surabaya Hotel and Serviced Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 1 nite for business trip. The location it's close to airport. If have early flight it's suit u well. One comment only the hotel need big renovation on the bathroom. Shower was terrible & old. One thing that I loved, breakfast was nice & good.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik_Swy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are glad that you had enjoyed your breakfast in our newly renovated Terakota Cafe.
I am glad to share that we had completed the renovation of some of the hotel guest rooms and the rest will be completed by the 4th quater of this year.
Thank you once again for the feedback and we will take your comments into consideration.
Best regards and looking forward to welcoming you back to Surabaya Somerset Hotel and Serviced Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.9 mi away
Java Paragon Hotel & Residences
0.5 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Surabaya
1.0 mi away
Rich Palace Hotel Surabaya
Rich Palace Hotel Surabaya
#48 of 134 in Surabaya
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget HR Muhammad
Ibis Budget HR Muhammad
#47 of 134 in Surabaya
45 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ascott Waterplace Surabaya
Ascott Waterplace Surabaya
#17 of 134 in Surabaya
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence

Property: Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence
Address: Jl. Raya Kupang Indah, Surabaya 60139, Indonesia (Formerly Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence)
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verwood Hotel & Serviced Residence is managed by Reveur Hospitality. Strategically nestled in prime city locations, Verwood Hotel offers a seamless blend of comfort and convenience, showcasing contemporary decor and modern amenities. Its friendly services are delightfully infused with local culture. Savvy executives who enjoy good living will embrace the location and facilities of our residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Surabaya Hotel And Serviced Residence
Somerset Hotel Surabaya
Verwood Hotel And Serviced Residence Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing