We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence
Ranked #53 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My son and I stayed at one of the apartments recently. It was spacious. Airconditioning is good. But the good things stop there. There was no carpeting at all. Some of the tiles are chipped. The televisions are so old and small. There was only one bathroom to share. It was old.
The kitchen was very shabby. Moving to the bedroom, the bed was okay. But the pillows are not soft and fluffy. And the tv is put on the table.
On the second day, they sprayed the apartment with some kind of air perfumer or something, which made the air smelled bad and unbearable. I don't know why they did that.
And I couldn't get it why they didn't provide slippers. I noticed that the hotel guests get slippers. I should mention that they were nice enough to let me check out late at 3 pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Somerset Surabaya Hotel and Serviced Residence.
We will be completing our upgrading of our hotel rooms by end the 4th quater of this year and thereafter, we will upgrade the apartment units. We noted your comments and will take that into consideration when we renovate the apartments.
Thank you once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    73
    55
    17
    4
See reviews for
29
9
7
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Well, as a serviced apartment, I might say not bad. But if you're looking for a luxurious hotel stay, you might want to skip this one.

I stayed there for 1 night only, in a group of 7 adults and 1 baby. We stay at 3 bedroom apartment.
Air conditioned works very well, TV a bit old fashioned (but we didn't spend much time in front of TV), Hot water available, In room WiFi also works well.

The breakfast also great, they provide the breakfast at the same area of Somerset hotel.

The location might a bit far from the City, and you might stuck in traffic jam. But the surrounding environment provide the experience of home.

Room Tip: Higher floor might be better for a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpeJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive comments and I am glad you had enjoyed the buffet breakfast that we served at Terakota Cafe.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset Surabaya and Serviced Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed a night for business. Nice location, near to city centre and about 30 min away from airport. Did not go for hotel's breakfast as there is quite a variety of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Couldn't find a convenience store though. However, the room condition is a bit shabby. The bathroom could use some serious renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WengFai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your valuable comments.
You have to try the breakfast the next time you stay with us. We have a wonderful spread of both local and International dishes with eggs, waffle, pancakes and noodles cooking right in front of you.
We had completed the renovation for some of the floors and by year end the rest of the hotel rooms will be completly renovated.
We look forward to Welcoming You back to Somerset Surabaya Hotel and Serviced Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 1 nite for business trip. The location it's close to airport. If have early flight it's suit u well. One comment only the hotel need big renovation on the bathroom. Shower was terrible & old. One thing that I loved, breakfast was nice & good.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik_Swy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are glad that you had enjoyed your breakfast in our newly renovated Terakota Cafe.
I am glad to share that we had completed the renovation of some of the hotel guest rooms and the rest will be completed by the 4th quater of this year.
Thank you once again for the feedback and we will take your comments into consideration.
Best regards and looking forward to welcoming you back to Surabaya Somerset Hotel and Serviced Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Only one night in this hotel. Service was efficient and satisfying.
To be honest, did not spend much time in the hotel but everything was perfect and smooth.
Its quite a distance from big road which make it good enough to stay away from traffic noise.

Worth to try when you are in surabaya

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive comments and it is the location of Somerset Surabaya Hotel and Serviced Residence that made it a choice property for many of our guests.
It is close to the toll, near to the highway that brings you to all the manufacturing hub, away from the traffic jam and the nearest hotel to all the Golf Courses.
Looking forward to Welcoming you back to Surabaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is cheap for food. You can get breakfast and dinner here for only less than 100.000 rupiah per person. Serve in buffet style will make you enjoy this hotel. The menu is quite a lot so we can choose as long as we can eat.

The swimming pool and fitness center is great. Clean water and also clean room in fitness center.

Bed room is awesome but for Indonesian people will not like the bathroom. No shower to complete the toilet. You need to use your imagination to clean it after you do something in toilet. The bathtub is quite small so if you use the shower you cannot have enough room to do something else.

Room Tip: Rooms is good, but if you can get swimming pool view that will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodolzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive response and I am sure my colleagues and I will be motivated by your feedback to do even better in the future.
I totally agree with you that after our newly renovated Terakota Cafe started operation, we had received numerous compliments for the food, layout and of course the pricing.
Thank you once again for the support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This service apartment is so outdated, with horrible DIRTY furniture, dirty curtains, offensive smell, old 21 inch screen TV, probably the worst lighting on any place I've stayed at. The feeling is like walking into a warehouse. I arrived late in the evening with two tired kids and paid in advance. I was so disturbed I tried looking for another hotel but ended up staying one night. I complained to the receptionist that the TV in the bedroom, wasn't working, and the phone in the living room wasn't working and no help there, just oh sorry. I cannot say enough of what a dump this place is. I booked for three nights but one night is more than enough. I do not understand how ASCOTT and CapitalLand could allow to put there name on this dump.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGZBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyOw, General Manager at Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
No words can describe how sorry I am for your unpleasant stay with us at the Somerset Surabaya Hotel and Serviced Residence. I am sorry.
The renovation for all the hotel rooms will be completed by the 4th quarter of 2013 and we will have a total of 282 fully renovated rooms. There are currently about 35% of our Service Apartment that are fully renovated and the rest will take a little more time due to the high occupancy that we are having right now.
I hope you will give me an opportunity to show you our renovated hotel rooms and apartments for your next visit to Surabaya and please drop me an email for your reservation.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.9 mi away
Java Paragon Hotel & Residences
0.5 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Surabaya
1.1 mi away
Rich Palace Hotel Surabaya
Rich Palace Hotel Surabaya
#45 of 134 in Surabaya
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget HR Muhammad
Ibis Budget HR Muhammad
#48 of 134 in Surabaya
46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Surabaya
2.3 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#27 of 134 in Surabaya
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence

Property: Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence
Address: Jl. Raya Kupang Indah, Surabaya 60139, Indonesia (Formerly Somerset Surabaya Hotel & Serviced Residence)
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verwood Hotel & Serviced Residence is managed by Reveur Hospitality. Strategically nestled in prime city locations, Verwood Hotel offers a seamless blend of comfort and convenience, showcasing contemporary decor and modern amenities. Its friendly services are delightfully infused with local culture. Savvy executives who enjoy good living will embrace the location and facilities of our residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Surabaya Hotel And Serviced Residence
Somerset Hotel Surabaya
Verwood Hotel And Serviced Residence Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing