We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with hints of majapahit touch, spacious room and bathroom.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
Ranked #10 of 136 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Overall nice hotel. They should replace the TVs into flat screens. Also free internet wifi would be nice for the price I'm paying. Once they've done that I will rush to stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 393 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

the hotel is nice,but they have an internal problem.our money and jewelery was stolen from the safe,which was locked.this happend there many time,according to the police.But the manager said to me this was the 1st time,and was not really helping us.They could open our door and safe without breaking it,so they have a key.
Nice hotel,but bring your value things with you when leaving.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FeRic2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The Bumi Surabaya is a well appointed, spacious hotel with very helpful staff who went out of their way to make my stay very enjoyable. I did make a few suggestions for improvements to enhance my stay and these were all acted on within 24 hours - very impressive. The hotel has many pleasing design features and the restaurants offer a great range of delicious food. The Club facilities were being refurbished during my stay which was a pity. I never really understood why the Deli discounts in the evening only applied for 'take away' and not when you spent more money buying coffee in the Lobby Lounge. I am hoping that free wireless internet will be available in the near future. Other than that, the Bumi Surabaya is well worth considering for both pleasure and business travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExaminerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed two nights in Hotel Bumi during Idul Fitri holiday 2010. The lobby hotel is really nice and our room was really spacious and comfortable. However feels the hotel needs refurbishment. Every evening during our stay, the hotel had a special offer for al fresco dining at the nice looking garden, it cost only IDR 80,000++ or around USD 8 (value for money) all you can eat local food of Surabaya

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grace_mtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Used to stay at this hotel when it was still under Hyatt management. Now the building is showing its age but still a classy hotel and a very nice place to stay. The staffs are very friendly and at this rate it's a very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bminata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bumisurabaya, Public Relations Manager at Bumi Surabaya City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Mr Bminata,

Thank you for choosing Bumi Surabaya for your accommodation and for providing us this feedback.

We looking forward to welcoming you for your next stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

I have stayed twice at hyatt regency surabaya. My first time was back at 2004. The hotel was not change too much. The building is quite old but still luxurious for me. The granite tile floor makes hyatt lobby looks glamour. The room was quite old but still pretty, even looks better compared with the other hotel in surabaya. Other things that i like about hyatt surabaya is the bathroom. Beside it covered by granite tiles, the bathroom have panoramatic window near the tub. The service was good. The breakfast was quite various and the hotel facilities was well maintained although it's quite old.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_Hardiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We were visiting families in Surabaya and our group of 5 stayed in 2 rooms in this hotel located in the financial district in Surabaya. The location of the hotel is good, but if you want to get closer to the shopping district, stay at the JW Marriott in Surabaya.

The lobby of the hotel is large and spacious with a courtyard in the middle that hosts BBQ dinners. Reception was very courteous and pleasant with our request for connecting rooms being attended to. However, one note, the hotel is showing its age and the lift lobby's carpeting needs a change. The rooms of the Hyatt though is perhaps the most spacious in the city. I stayed in the Shangri-La Surabaya before, and it was a bit small compared to this. One of the rooms had a twin bed and another was furnished with a king bed. The bathrooms are fortunately clean and also spacious, something that would be fitting for a suite. One bad part was the bed, which seems soft and spongy, and the furnishings like the TV and lamps needs re-fitting, as they are far too outdated.

Our stay in the hotel includes breakfast and it was served in a relatively small restaurant in the ground floor. Service staff at the restaurant is lacking in training and basic courtesy, and the manager seems grouchy for all the 3 days we had breakfast there. On top of that, the small restaurant allows smoking, which makes it stuffy and smelly. Not a good place at all. The food was, fortunately, acceptable. Other than several restaurants, the hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool on the 5th or 6th floor which also houses a tennis court and garden.

Overall, the hotel is relatively cheap at around US$45 per night, and can be said to be value for money. This hotel is also good for the business traveller as it is right in the financial district area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank althaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#3 of 136 in Surabaya
846 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
#6 of 136 in Surabaya
673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Surabaya City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Surabaya City Resort

Address: Jl. Basuki Rachmad 106 - 128, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surabaya
#5 Family Hotel in Surabaya
#7 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range: $63 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bumi Surabaya City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Surabaya City Resort is an elegant city resort in the heart of the city just 30 minutes from the airport. It incorporates a charming garden with mature trees and waterways to calm the senses amidst the hustle and bustle of downtown Surabaya. The city resort anticipates the needs of business and leisure travelers alike with an extensive array of meeting and recreational facilities. Accommodation is a total of 242 contemporary rooms and suites styled with subtle references to Java's rich artistic heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bumi Surabaya City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Surabaya
Surabaya Hyatt Regency
Bumi Surabaya City Resort Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing