We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better hotels in Surabaya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
Ranked #2 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“One of the better hotels in Surabaya”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed for one night and saw some cabin crew checking in so would think it would be a decent enough hotel. However, also because of the crew group checking in, service was slower than expected despite being a Marriot Club member.

Room wise is spacious though it looks dated in need for renovation. The hotel is located near some malls so finding food is not a problem. However due only an overnight stay, we decided to just eat at the hotel which has a few restaurants.

Overall, I would consider this a good business class hotel but perhaps because of the general local atmosphere, there is no clear segmentation of smoking and non smoking area which makes the hotel pretty smoky at various spots in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_TravellerSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    290
    64
    12
    11
See reviews for
150
97
47
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makassar, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

stayed for 2 nights at JW marriot right after New years.
its my first stay here after the hotel take over by JW Marriott.
Nothing change, thats why i said need renovation to match Marriot Class.
i speak to the manager when we meet on the lobby, he said renovation schedule by this year (2014).

the lobby is very crowded when i check in, many guests check out after new year eve party.
long queue for check in but staff is very nice.

hotel location is in the middle of Surabaya city. not far from biggest and famous shopping mal.
very good access to everywhere.

the room is big, they give you fresh welcome fruit on the room. actually the room maintenance is good, looks old but all room properties is still work good and also clean.
city view from room is great especially on night.

breakfast is good only the space is very tight.

i think i will back here only after the renovation done

Room Tip: higher floor have nice view, you can see the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dony H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanker K C, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Mr Dony HR,

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Surabaya!

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our room which also known to be the most spacious room in Surabaya. We thank you for your comments and are pleased to inform that we currently in the process of doing our room renovation project with a reputable design team and also plan to renovate our breakfast venue, The Pavilion, to be more spacious so it can be more comfortable.

We regret to learn that you have experienced long queuing during your check-in process due to peak check out period, please accept our sincere apologies for that matter. However, we thank you for complimenting on our nice staff that managed to deliver a memorable service experience starting from guest’s arrival.

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share this review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to JW Marriott Surabaya and enjoy the newly renovated room soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I love stay in Marriot because of Good Hotel. The Room condition is very nice. Comfort Bed. Location in JW Marriot Surabaya is close to anywhere. In front of Rawon Setan Famous Food in Surabaya. Rawon setan open until 4am so you can go anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonSumarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed a night in Surabaya. Was upgraded to a suite and the views were great. Huge room. Spent a lot of time in the executive lounge. The lounge is great, but they could do better to have some snacks available and cater to vegetarians as well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Abhay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanker K C, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the JW Marriott Surabaya, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suite room and newly renovated executive lounge.

We wish to assure you that we take every feedback with utmost importance to continue offering the best of services at all times. We do have a chef and kitchen facilities at our executive lounge to cater to any special dietary requirements a guest may have, we shall make additional engagement with our guest to ensure they are aware of these options at our executive lounge.

Once again, we wish to thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to JW Marriott Surabaya.

Warm regards,
Shanker K Chandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Excellent and spacious rooms, perfect design, extra clean, and perfect air-condition.
Bathroom well sized including bathtub and separate shower cubicle, good water pressure, and toilet has a Toto bidet.

Rooms have both WiFi and cable internet, bandwidth is excellent and free for Marriott reward members. (In my room Wi-Fi had a good signal just in part of the room).

It is a tall building in a low-housing area, and you get a nice view of city and harbor.
Service is good and friendly

21st floor executive club is large, modern design, and their staff are very friendly and eager to help. (However not too professional, as checkout took them eternity).

One minus for this hotel, as rooms are on the old side, including the plumbing. I had a suite, and there was had no ventilation in toilet.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomad6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanker K C, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. Our executive lounge on 21st floor was recently renovated in November to make our guest feel more comfortable.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any delays you have experienced during your check out process, we shall review the process based on your feedback and perform necessary improvement to merit the confidence you have placed in us. We wish to also inform you that the hotel is presently working on our rooms renovation project with a reputable design team.

Once again, thank you for taking your valuable time to share this feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Best regards,

Shanker K Chandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

+++ : - Free shuttle bus to TP/Sogo every 30 minutes
- Food taste are really nice
- Taxi always available

- - - : - The room little bit old, need to be re-maintained
- Area from breakfast is small, overloaded, even i was put in the smoking lobby area, sit on sofa for bfast

Room Tip: Choose new hotel to get clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mthenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanker K C, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for spending your valuable time to write this comment.

It is true that we have free shuttle to Tunjungan Plaza every 30 minutes and we are very happy that you have enjoyed our food during your stay. Taxi is always available to drive you to your destination, in fact we also provide limousine services as an option.

We are glad to inform you that we have planned to renovate our guest room and also The Pavilion Restaurant (the breakfast venue) to be more spacious and comfortable and able to accommodate our entire guest during breakfast time this year.

We would be delighted to have you returning to our hotel for your future stay.


Warm regards,


Shanker K Chandra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Comfortable place to stay or as your home base while in Surabaya.
Appreciate free shuttle bus to the nearest mall especially in the evening.
Best, across is Rawon Setan café.
Not so far from Pasar Atom to enjoy both shopping and eat out.
Very helpful staffs

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSlamet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
#3 of 134 in Surabaya
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
#10 of 134 in Surabaya
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 134 in Surabaya
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
Address: Jl. Embong Malang 85-89, Surabaya 60261, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#2 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#3 Family Hotel in Surabaya
#6 Business Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extraordinary oasis of calm and refinement, the 5-star JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya in Indonesia exudes the sophistication and intuitive service expected from the finest luxury hotel in Surabaya. Set in the heart of the burgeoning business and shopping district, guests will find spacious East Java Indonesia accommodations featuring exquisite European decor, marble baths, and sublime luxury bedding. Dining at the JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya is a culinary journey, with international sensations tempting guests at our Pavilion Restaurant, Tang Palace Chinese Restaurant, Imari Japanese Restaurant, and the acclaimed Vis a Vis French Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Surabaya
Jw Marriott Surabaya
Surabaya Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing