We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leisure Weekend”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Last weekend, my family and I decided to stay at Shangri-La hotel Surabaya. It was a great decision, the service & the staffs are excellent. The room is clean and neat too. Not only that we can enjoy the hotel facilities but we can enjoy shuttle service to the nearest mall. The restaurants in the hotel will surely guarantee us with delicious menus. Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya is Definately my go-to hotel for leisure in the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank blessed_noble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    208
    65
    15
    11
See reviews for
103
51
32
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Shangri-la Surabaya give a total service for it's customer, even when I just landed at Juanda Airport, they representative already approach me. The room is also excellence, clean at all times. A little downside maybe only at the in-room dining part, they try to "play safe" with the spice, so the taste of the food is not so strong like if we eat the same menu at the local restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio_Rusli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Plus and minus!
This's an old, old hotel. Check in around 6pm. Asked for NON Smoking room but the room was so smelly. Moved to another room in the same floor. That's when the problems begin:
- SDB was off
- Water in the bathtub couldn't be drained, the serviceman came to our room twice to repair it with no luck.
- The water in the sink, came out from the taps(was wondering why the small towel's always wet.
- The room was way too cold, after 2 hours we realized the room has 2 buttons to off n on d aircon.
- We could smell someone smoking from above or under us becuse the toilet was always smelly(like people smoking near us)

Plus sides:
- Room service: Good service, average foods, fast n quick(better use warmed plate as d temperature in the room was so cold, the foods turned cold in few minutes)
- Breakfast: So so, nothing special but the waitresses were serving us so good
- Shuttle to the nearest mall; polite driver and helpful staffs
- Receptionists: Did an excellent work

Beautiful swimming pools.

Overall, my kids were happy...
Thank you...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear CathDew,

Thank you for giving us such detailed review during your recent visit at our hotel.

We have taken note of your observation and we will use it for our improvement. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Martin Brenner
Shangri-La Hotel, Surabaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

After I got not good impression in the past, last month I stayed again go show. I got excellent welcome and get good impression of improvement.
This is what world class hotel to do with all guests, and I am very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Situmeang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Situmeang,

Thank you for your recent review at Shangri-La Hotel, Surabaya.

We are glad to hear that your second visit has been a great one. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.


Warm Regards,

Martin Brenner,

General Manager
Shangri-La Hotel, Surabaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I did stay at Shang hotel, 2 days during a conference. I found the service overall very professional. The clealiness of the room was tiptop, and i m very particular about cleanliness, also the smell of the room and lobby with all those fresh flower, really lovely. I also like the large screen on tv very hugh, i feel like in the movies theater with A great movie selection, most enjoyable. I ll most definitely come back evdn if the hotel s verg very expensive.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel has beautiful spacious rooms and is also home to a few of Surabaya's best restaurants. One is Portofino's which is a wonderful Italian restaurant that has an open pizza oven and a very friendly and courteous staff. There is a classy Chinese restaurant and a wonderful buffet style restaurant that hosts some of the loveliest Sunday brunches in Surabaya. Downstairs is a Mexican style restaurant and a lively bar that entertains with live bands from all over he world. This hotel boasts a lovely pool area that rivals any resort world wide.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is just excellent, sit in the lobby for half an hour and you will know what I mean. The staff are so attentive to your needs and remember all. The hardest part for staying here is leaving. There is no other place to stay in Surabay.

Room Tip: Enjoy, Enjoy every minute
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 134 in Surabaya
784 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
#10 of 134 in Surabaya
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
2.5 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 134 in Surabaya
319 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
#12 of 134 in Surabaya
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Address: Jln. Mayjen Sungkono 120, Surabaya 60189, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surabaya
#3 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#3 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#4 Family Hotel in Surabaya
#4 Business Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Surabaya is situated in the western area of Surabaya adjacent to with exclusive neighbourhoods and across to the most luxurious shopping mall in the city. This five- star hotel is known for its secure, premier location and resort-like feel with lush tropical greenery and generous outdoor space abound. Being one of the premier Surabaya hotels, guests can easily access numerous golf courses, the city centre business district and the nearby international airport. The award- winning five-star deluxe hotel offers 383 guest rooms and suites, each ideally suited for travellers looking to experience Indonesia from a position of pure graceOur Horizon Club rooms offer the city’s best business services and added personal attention, with the Horizon Club Lounge providing around-the-clock beverage service along with immediate attention to your most critical needs. All rooms contain a deluxe plasma television, DVD entertainment system, and complimentary broadband Internet access.Along with fully-equipped meeting and conference facilities, the hotel also offers 7 excellent restaurants and bars, along with top-end spa and fitness resources. Step into a world of relaxation at the hotel spa for a rejuvenating treatment, get a great workout in the fitness centre or relax beside the pool after a busy day of sightseeing or business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Surabaya
Surabaya Shangri La
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing