We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful But Brittle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful But Brittle”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel, great to look at and wonderful to walk around and take pictures. But for an actual stay, quite disappointing. Did not get off to a great start when the hotel, which had confirmed via e-mail airport pickup, nevertheless failed to arrange for pickup. After making own arrangements, no acknowledgement of the error upon check-in. Internet access is terrible. Hotel has outsourced IT to outside contractor, who was unable to help resolve a wifi connection problem despite 3 hours of effort by the on-site rep, his supervisor, and that supervisor's supervisor. Again, no offer to help by providing alternative access. In other words, this is not a business hotel at all. For that, there are plenty of much better alternatives. But if you want a pleasant stay away from the hustle and bustle of Surabaya, then by all means go ahead.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoadWarriorSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    191
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
127
259
67
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

After a long flight this was an oasis. Speedy check in, helpful staff. Room above expectations- breakfast fabulous. Stylishly elegant with an old world charm. Bedroom and amenities excellent- lovely peacefull stay- would go back again on my next trip and stay longer...: 0 )

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 55annabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I have stayed in many hotels in Surabaya (Novotel, Hilton - now Singgasana, Radisson - now Plaza Surabaya, Sommerset, Garden Palace, Santika, Sahid). This hotel is ranked #2 as the best overall hotel in Indonesia by National Geographic 2009 and it truly is. When you take pricing into account, I believe it should be #1 as the currently #1 hotel price is way over Majapahit price. So it is the best value hotel I ever stayed. Yes, the room is calling out for face lit/renovation but it is still beautiful, colonial style. Garden and overall interior and exterior is outstanding (colonial style, built in 1910). Spotless bathroom and room. Nice pool and adequate gym. Can't ask for better location since it is near the city biggest mall (the city itself is not charming at all). Service is excellent (from guest relationship, bell boy, housekeeping until the restaurant staff, all excellent). The only question is when they are going to upgrade the old (CRT) TV? Considering many even 3 star hotels now are using LCD. Without any doubts, Majapahit is the best hotel in Surabaya

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We returned at the Majapahit after about 10 years when it was M.O. managed and
fully agree with other T.A. travellers when they say that a big change has occurred, for
the worst. Rooms (we had a de-luxe) are very damp and dark, still beautifully furnished in
the old colonial style that is becoming tarnished. Superior rooms should be much better (and are less expensive) because they have a balcony, whereas the de-luxe rooms are very closed in,having the entrance door as the only source of incoming air/natural light:
The staff at the lobby counter showed a certain interest in providing " private" tours to various locations since, we were told, "if made thru the hotel if would cost much more".
an unaccettable proposal and not worthy of a serious hotel, Service at breakfast/lunch
was very sloppy and staff unattentive. The only true gem was the chinese reastaurant
Sarkis on the first floor: food was excellent and beautifully presented, staff very professional and the 50% discount on dimsum at weekends was a real gift.
The swimming pool is very nice but while we were there a big RAT made a quick
excursion alongside the pool without showing any fear or restrain ... !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurskog-Holand Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights in the middle of June this year together with my wife. She is from Indonesia so we decided we wanted to try out this hotel while visiting her family in Surabaya. This is a very nice hotel. It is about 100 years old, but the standard of the room was up to date and very good. The size of the room was great and outside we had a lovely small terrace with a couple of chairs. I tried the restaurants and the food was exellent, had onion rings and spare ribs, almost as good as the americans make it. The hotel had a very nice Spa department contributed by Martha Tilaar, very nice pool, staff was nice, beutiful gardens all through the hotel. I can really recommend this hotel as a couple retreat. The Wi-fi internet did not work properly in our rooms, that was the only minus...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabiGulingOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

This is a historic hotel in Surabaya . Do not miss out on staying here. It is affordable, meticulously maintained, and historically preserved. It is a special oasis in the center of the city. Once you enter inside you are in a totally special world. Stayed in a pool suite on a getaway with hubby and was delighted at the room. huge, beautiful and staff that was knowledgeable and helpful. Spa treatment was also first class. If you ever are in Surabaya, stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JavaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The hotel in Mt. Bromo was basic, so this was a real pleasant shock. We stayed he one night recovering from the Volcano, before catching a flight onwards.

We were given a free room upgrade, and they brought us a "Happy Honeymoon" cake. The room was splendid, with lots of luxurious furnishings. Service was very good, and we ordered some cocktails in the hotel lobby/lounge which were very enjoyable.

The pool is very good, and the grounds are very pretty. We didn't book into the spa in time to use it (we left early the next morning) but it looked professional. Which is all just as well since the rest of Surabaya looks even worse than Jakarta - you want to stay cocooned in the hotel and never leave.

WiFi signal in the room was patchy, and they have a crazy permissioning system which left me phoning the front desk for new access codes every time we lost wifi signal. There were mozzies outside, so although the signal was better, it was not pleasant.

The buffet breakfast was good - pretty much anything you can think of was here; I ate a LOT.

Would definitely go back to Majapahit if I'm in/near Surabaya again. I wouldn't go to Surabaya just to stay in the hotel though.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 132 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 132 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
#3 of 132 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
0.8 mi away
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
#12 of 132 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majapahit Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majapahit Surabaya

Property: Hotel Majapahit Surabaya
Address: Jln. Tunjungan 65, Surabaya 60275, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Family Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majapahit Surabaya 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majapahit is a historic luxury hotel in Surabaya, Indonesia. The hotel was founded in 1910 as Hotel Oranje by Lucas Martin Sarkies. During the Japanese occupation of Indonesia the hotel name was changed to Yamato Hotel. Mantrust Holdings Co. became the new owner in 1969 and it was named after the most enduring kingdom of ancient Indonesia. In 1993 it was formerly operated by the Mandarin Oriental group. PT. Sekman Wisata took over the hotel and changed the name to HOTEL MAJAPAHIT in 2006. Located on Jalan Tunjungan in Indonesia's largest city and capital to East Java, the hotel is located in the centre of Surabaya, close to businesses, government offices and the largest shopping district in Surabaya. HOTEL MAJAPAHIT is trully and oasis in the heart of Surabaya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majapahit Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Surabaya
Surabaya Mandarin Oriental
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing