We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of Raffles splendour at a fraction of the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
Ranked #1 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A touch of Raffles splendour at a fraction of the price”
Reviewed May 23, 2009

On a recent visit to Java in order to see its famous temples we were torn between flying into the country via Surabaya or Jakarta. We opted for Surabaya as we liked the description of the Majapahit Hotel and we were not disappointed. The Majapahit was built by the famous Sarkie brothers who were also responsible for the Raffles, Singapore, the E and O, Penang and the Strand, Rangoon.

The hotel is set in the heart of Surabaya amidst traffic clogged roads and furiously blaring carhorns, but the minute you step inside the hotel miraculously you are in an oasis of calm. The hotel is built around several beautiful colonnaded courtyards each with its own softly bubbling fountain.

Our room was filled with heavy dark wooden furniture reminiscent of a bygone age and had its own peaceful balcony looking out over the largest of the courtyards. A welcome bowl of fruit and some chocolates were provided free on arrival.

The hotel staff were pleasant, smiling and helpful. We arranged a day tour of Surabaya through them , mainly to avoid having to try and cross the city's roads. They can also organize transport to the airport and Mount Bromo.

The Majapahit played its role in Indonesia's history. At one time it was known as Hotel Orange and was a Dutch owned institution. Surabaya spearheaded the Indonesia drive to end Dutch colonialism and achieve independence (this is why Indonesians call it the city of martyrs. One Indonesian youth climbed up to the top floor of the hotel and ripped a strip off the Dutch flag rendering it Indonesian.

The hotel has a pleasant swimming pool and spa. We tried the food in the hotel's famous Chinese restaurant - Sarkies - and enjoyed its elegant colonial era decor.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenemHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    201
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
135
264
70
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lion city
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

I simply can't wait to go back to Majapahit!

The rooms are enormous and comfortable with a nice ambience. Although some of the equipments (kettle and iron) were faulty, the hotel provided excellect service in sending their housekeeping staff within 5 mins.

I love the bathroom! I can simply stay there for hours!

The breakfast buffet was nice, with lots of local delicacies, something foreigners would like to sample. I love their Bakmie goreng. The staff were friendly, greeting us wherever we went.

The spa was superb and relatively cheap. We paid for about US$30 each for a 3 hour spa! And it's Marha Tilaar!! wohooo. I spend US$250 for the same services in Bali.

The atmosphere around the hotel is peaceful and serene. Although this a vintage hotel, it is very well maintained.

Only setback, the internet did not work in my room. But who wanna work in such a nice place?? lols

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel twice now. It is an excellent hotel not only in what it offers but for the value for your money. For a little over USD 100, you get a colonial gem of a hotel, what the Raffles would be but totally without the advertising and the name. It is an oasis of calm in a rather gritty industrial city. On top of that, the attached Chinese restaurant, the Sarkies, is one of the best I know of for its type of cuisine in Indonesia. Its all you cna eat dim sum lunch is not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

My two stays in the Majapahit this month must rank as among my best hotel experiences ever. The hotel is an oasis of calm in a chaotic and gritty east javan city; the architecture is gorgeous; and the halo of excellence from the days of Mandarin Oriental management lingers. Built by the Sarkies brothers in 1910 the Majapahait is like Raffles in Singapore in layout - large colonnaded courtyards with palm trees, scented gardens and fountains, but much quieter and less crowded. And cheaper. The staff were helpful and friendly - especially Adam on reception who brought something I l had left at check out all the way to the airport on a motorbike! Magical stay

  • Liked — The architecture and setting is magnificent
  • Disliked — Surabaya is not a picture postcard city
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at the Majapahit in Surabaya on our way to and from Mudura and wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy this lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly in taking a lot of trouble to help us with our onward travel arrangements. It is a magnificent 100 year old building that has been well-maintained to preserve its character. Colanaded walkways surrounding fountains in courtyards lead to spacious and very comfortable rooms. Although it is on a busy street, the rooms are at the back of the hotel and are very quiet. Excellent value for money - I hope we get the chance to return.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms full of character
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yellowbelly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

I stayed in the Majapahit Hotel for three nights in June 2008. I was genuinely delighted. The hotel's ambience is pleasant. It retains some of the colonial atmosphere that is still recognisable from its appearance as the Oranje Hotel in the novels of Joseph Conrad ("Victory" I think) and Somerset Maugham (forget which one). Yet it has been quite tastefully modernised. It is sparkling clean and seems to be well maintained. It is on Tunjungan Street which is now quite neglected-looking and tatty, but it is just a few minutes walk from the huge Tunjungan Plaza shopping centre. The hotel staff are outstanding, nothing was too much trouble and they are clearly proud of their historic hotel. They quickly and efficiently arranged a train ticket for me to Jogjakarta and arranged for a box of goods to be send abroad by DHL. I also hired a hotel car for a trip to Jombang and back. The driver was safe, competent and polite. All this (with the exception of DHL's pretty steep prices) was very reasonable in cost and the hotel's room rate was also very reasonable. The breakfast is average but nice, with a good range of fruits, pastries and delicious local fried rice. I had a few problems connecting my laptop to the internet in my room and needed a different password on each day of my stay. But the connection itself was stable and quite fast. All in all, this is one of the most pleasant and interesting hotels I have ever stayed in. Recommended, especially if you are looking for a bit of unique olde-world atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Resi_Tunggorono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 134 in Surabaya
785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#3 of 134 in Surabaya
319 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
#4 of 134 in Surabaya
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
0.8 mi away
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
#12 of 134 in Surabaya
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels

Property: Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
Address: Jl. Tunjungan no. 65, Surabaya 60275, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Family Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majapahit is a historic luxury hotel in Surabaya, Indonesia. The hotel was founded in 1910 as Hotel Oranje by Lucas Martin Sarkies. During the Japanese occupation of Indonesia the hotel name was changed to Yamato Hotel. Mantrust Holdings Co. became the new owner in 1969 and it was named after the most enduring kingdom of ancient Indonesia. In 1993 it was formerly operated by the Mandarin Oriental group. PT. Sekman Wisata took over the hotel and changed the name to HOTEL MAJAPAHIT in 2006. Located on Jalan Tunjungan in Indonesia's largest city and capital to East Java, the hotel is located in the centre of Surabaya, close to businesses, government offices and the largest shopping district in Surabaya. HOTEL MAJAPAHIT is trully and oasis in the heart of Surabaya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Surabaya
Surabaya Mandarin Oriental
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya Managed By AccorHotels Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing