We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
Ranked #1 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Full of history”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The Majapahit is an amazing colonial hotel full of character and history and was a refreshing alternative to the business orientated hotel I had stayed in the night before.
I was offered a room upgrade when checking in at a very reasonable price which I agreed to and was very good value for money. The room was a suite and was spacious and comfortable. The free wifi in the hotel was great and had very strong signal and I was able to FaceTime from most areas of the hotel.
The gym was small but the swimming pool was beautiful and a perfect size to have a rejuvenating swim in. The buffet breakfast on offer had a wide range of hot options. I also had an exotic fruit platter which included delicious yellow water melon.
The hotel is located in on a main road with shops all around it and is five mins walk to a new, huge mall in Surabaya.
If I ever return to Surabaya I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Man_with_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    202
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
138
268
70
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Despite its location on the busy main street of Jalan Tunjungan, the Majapahit is a peaceful, beautiful and historical hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, but what impressed me was the cleaniness and care given to maintaining the common areas of the hotel, such as the central ballroom the gardens/courtyards and stunning mosaic floor verandas. Staff were friendly and professional. Breakfast was average for a five star hotel but overall I had an enjoyable stay and felt that I was staying somewhere quite special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_8Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had anticipated my visit to this hotel for months... craving a bit a well earned luxury before exploring Timor and other islands on a budget. The restoration of this colonial property has been meticulous in every respect. The rooms are insanely comfortable and well appointed, but my most enduring memories will be of the superb staff and their attentiveness to guests. The breakfast buffet which is included in the room price is extensive and delicious. Overall, the hotel is immaculate and is one I found quite difficult to leave. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: For just a few dollars, you can upgrade to an executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Wingding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel three times and enjoy it more each time. It is hard to convey the charm of this beautiful very old hotel: two storey buildings with long covered walkways on each side of a well-manicured and tasteful garden, buildings which form a U-shape at the rear with another vast expanse of garden overlooked by every room. The rooms are in fact suites, on entering from a covered balcony/veranda I am in a lounge/study area with a much appreciated large desk, plenty of comfortable seating and excellent lighting, this flows through to a very large bedroom with wardrobe, mirror and bedside tables, also good lighting for reading in bed, then again flowing through to an enormous bathroom with separate enclosed glass areas for toilet and shower. Everything is elegant, mega-comfortable and convenient. There is a minibar and tea/coffee making facility.My room- service dinner arrived on a portable table with the food kept hot in a compartment underneath. Menu choice is good, service friendly and efficient. The hotel has a large community lounge area where drinks can be enjoyed indoors or at tables outside, also its own little 'bakery' selling delicious goodies. Breakfast provides a wide choice to suit any taste. Overall the historical ambience and quiet dignity of this hotel are a joy to experience.

Room Tip: At the desk the staff may ask if you wish to upgrade your room. . There is absolutely no need to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t_mgrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night - room was fab - all original features, huge bath and great shower. Bed was huge and very comfortable. Slightly strange that the toilet cubicle had a floor-to-ceiling window looking into the shower cubicle. Gardens lovely to wander around. I used the pool sauna and steam room in the morning - deserted at 6am! Surprising how calm the (outdoor) pool and gardens felt considering how busy and noisy the roads were outside. Lots of choice at the breakfast buffet but the food wasn't particularly nice. They did have a chef making eggs on demand however which was good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The property is very well maintained and the service is excellent. It is difficult to find a hotel that is comfortable and historically meaningful. The only other place where we have stayed where we were comfortable and enjoyed the history of a property was at Dwarika's in Kathmandu. The rooms are comfortable, many of the fixtures are original and the food at Sarkies was delicious. Chaplin and J. Conrad stayed at the hotel, and some of the staff were interested in chatting with us about ghosts on the property which is always fun to think about. Attendants change towels and clean the rooms twice per day. The bathrooms do not have windows so it can get a little musty in the room. The place is a nice oasis in Surabaya....highly recommended. Shopping is a 10 minute walk and getting around is easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrellFreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Cove, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Majapahit for 2 nights, and apart from the restaurant, we loved it. Although we only had a standard room, it was huge: a lovely king bed, nice furniture and a big bathroom with separate bath and shower and even separate toilet in it's own cubicle. And the service is fantastic from the staff in the lobby to the people making up the room - they even change the towels twice a day - forget that business of keeping your towel to save detergent! The buildings and grounds are just lovely, and you get the feeling of old-world grandeur as you stroll around. The hotel is a tourist attraction in its own right!

The only reason that I didn't give the Majapahit 5 stars was the restaurant - we found it quite average and pricey. The other problem is that there are very few restaurants within walking distance. There are some in a shopping mall about 10 minutes away, but we couldn't find any local restaurants around. Rather than eating at the hotel, I would suggest taking a taxi to a restaurant area.

Tip: After 7pm the hotel bakery sells its pasteries and breads off at half price - they are yummy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael-Se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 134 in Surabaya
796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
#4 of 134 in Surabaya
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#3 of 134 in Surabaya
341 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels

Property: Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
Address: Jl. Tunjungan no. 65, Surabaya 60275, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majapahit is a historic luxury hotel in Surabaya, Indonesia. The hotel was founded in 1910 as Hotel Oranje by Lucas Martin Sarkies. During the Japanese occupation of Indonesia the hotel name was changed to Yamato Hotel. Mantrust Holdings Co. became the new owner in 1969 and it was named after the most enduring kingdom of ancient Indonesia. In 1993 it was formerly operated by the Mandarin Oriental group. PT. Sekman Wisata took over the hotel and changed the name to HOTEL MAJAPAHIT in 2006. Located on Jalan Tunjungan in Indonesia's largest city and capital to East Java, the hotel is located in the centre of Surabaya, close to businesses, government offices and the largest shopping district in Surabaya. HOTEL MAJAPAHIT is trully and oasis in the heart of Surabaya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Surabaya
Surabaya Mandarin Oriental
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya Managed By AccorHotels Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing