We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Ranked #37 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    361
    219
    96
    67
See reviews for
333
104
57
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

On the last day of our trip to Surabaya, we decided to stay in Novotel Surabaya. Honestly, we didn't have a clue about the hotel because the relatives we know stayed in this hotel nearly 10 years ago. Well, she said it was a good hotel, but over 10 years it may be getting old now, especially after the fire happened few years ago to their lobby area. Anyway, why worry, we just gave it a go.

The night we arrived there after our long trip from Malang, from a distance the hotel looks warm and secluded. Dropped the bags in the lobby, the staff offered me a nearby parking spot. Check-in process was fast and delightful. The female staff got a conversation with our kids and the other informed us about the hotel facility.

Enter the room, moment of truth. Wow, it's great. We were expecting an old looking room with some sort of aging furniture, but we were completely wrong. With around $50 per night, the room answered our worry beyond our expectation.

In the morning, we were amazed once more by the scenery around the hotel. The pool, especially, is surrounded with a lush of green which is something we love so much. The kids can stay in the children pool within the shade of the big tree and it comes with a 25 mtr slide for kids. The adult pool looks also great and we took around 70 photos around the pool as our lovely memory closing our trip to Surabaya.

PS: the only comment we could make is a bit of murky water due to great number of visitor for the past week as this was school holiday period. Other than this, we will definitely come back to this hotel for our next trip to Surabaya.

Room Tip: Try your luck to get a room on the Ground floor facing the pool. You'll love the scenery in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Septianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is good, the service, the building, the room. The breakfast was okay. The only cons is that the hotel is located not at the best location. Almost no interesting sightseeing accesible by foot around. but it's a good option if you have a transportation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ignatius Untung S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I'm a local, and have been a member of the Novotel gym & pool for over 2 years. Overall the management for the gym and pool is very bad. For two years, there have been many incidents when the gym is not open yet during operational hours because the staff was late. Many of the lockers and padlocks in the gym are broken. We have to do self-service every morning (i.e. get our own towels, etc) because the staff isn't there. The pool is often dirty and not well maintained. I've complained to the Gym's manager, Mrs. Isna, several times, but there's no significant improvement.

Recently, it got much worse. Just on the 30th of June, I went to the pool, and it was very dirty. I don't know for how long already, because I hadn't been there for more than 3 weeks. The next day, July 1st, it was closed for 3 days for maintenance. On Friday, July 4th, it was open, but still remained very dirty a 3-day maintenance. What kind of maintenance was that? Saturday, July 5th, still no improvement. I've complained to the staff on June 30th, July 1st, July 4th, and July 5th.

And today, July 7th, the pool is closed again. And this time, they don't know for how long. What kind of a 4-star hotel is this? They gym staff finally told me to complained to reception, which I did just now. None of the receptionist know when it will be fixed, and they kept asking one another, for almost 30 minutes. I finally asked to speak to the manager.

One of the managers finally came out, Mr. Yanu. He sang the same tunes, that they don't know how long it will take to fix the pool, because it just happened yesterday. Which is not true, since the pool have been having problems for at least 1 week, that I know of. And over the course of more than 2 years, there had been many problems as well. When I said I'm going to put a negative review of the hotel on social media & Internet, if it's not solved quickly, he said, go ahead and do it. So I'm doing it now. This is the most ridiculous answer that I've ever got from a hotel manager in response to a complain. Not hospitable at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceTan2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Surabaya, General Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Ibu Gracetan,

First of all, I thank you for being a member of Fitness Centre at Novotel Surabaya.
I am very sorry to hear that you have experienced unpleasant situation at our Fitness Centre and Swimming pool.

Referring to your comment about the service at Fitness Centre, I would like to inform you that our Fitness Centre is managed by outside company and we already complained to them about those matters. They already changed some of their staff and made some improvement.
At the moment we are in process for reviewing their performance for the contract continuation.

About the condition of our Swimming Pool, we already made some actions to solve the problem. In the process of improvements we need to do analysis many times and it will take some times to determine the root cause of the problem. From those actions finally we found mechanical problem and some leaks on the reliefs at the pool, therefore we have to close the pool for 1 week. By this closing we hope that all the problems can be repaired thoroughly and the swimming pool return to the normal condition.

Once again, on behalf of Management and Team Novotel Surabaya, I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused and thank you for the time to share your concerns as an encouragement to continuously improve our quality and service.

Best regards,
Djulkarnain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
1,283 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel several time. One of the reason as I am member of Accorhotel and easy to make reservation. Hotel staffs are helpful and friendly. Breakfast choices and tate are fine. Lobby are is a bit small. I like the room facing the Pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darnel-HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#25 of 134 in Surabaya
666 reviews
1.9 mi away
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
#34 of 134 in Surabaya
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#23 of 134 in Surabaya
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#3 of 134 in Surabaya
319 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Surabaya
Wyndham Surabaya
#44 of 134 in Surabaya
503 reviews
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 134 in Surabaya
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites

Property: Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Address: Jl. Ngagel no. 173-175, Surabaya 60246, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites is a 4 star hotel conveniently located in the main business district of Surabaya. For business trips and holidays, this hotel is the perfect destination, offering conference facilities, a fitness centre, outdoor pool, tennis courts, activities and Dolfi Kids Club. Our 209 well appointed rooms offer comfort and convenience. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, or relax and unwind in one of our two bars. This is not just a business hotel, but a holiday resort in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Surabaya Novotel
Novotel Surabaya Hotel And Suites Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing