We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Ranked #39 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
276 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed 2 nights over a weekend and found this hotel quite good. Service staff were very friendly and helpful. Check in was fast and welcome drink given promptly.

Our pool view room was renovated to standard Novotel features. However, workmanship is a little on the down side. Wall papers not properly done up with air babbles visible and toilet bowl not securely and firmly fastened to the floor, though not leaking a little rocky could be felt while sitting on it.

Food at the restaurant is good and breakfast spread not bad too but the restaurant is a bit small. We were having lunch and there happened to be a huge group perhaps attending a convention also came for lunch and the place was packed up very quickly. Restaurant staff did their best smiling always even under stress to cope with the crowd. There is an offer of 50% discount for pastry, cakes and bread after 6 pm at the restaurant as well should you like to buy something to munch in the room at night instead of coming down for supper.

Plenty of channels on TV and wifi is free but signal intermittent at times and access is for 2 devices only where password is required.

Swimming pool is nice with maximum depth about 1.6m but smokers sitting near the outdoor section of the restaurant is a bit of a nuisance for non-smokers using the pool.

Bluebird taxis are available at the hotel and rate to Tunjungang Plaza cost around 30,000 rupiah. Taxi coming to the hotel from the airport is fixed at 95,000 rupiah and toll fee another 10,000 rupiah. No bluebird taxi is available from the airport. However going back to the airport using bluebird taxi including toll fee cost around 95,000 rupiah.

Overall this is a relaxing place to chill out but if you are looking for walking distance to the busy part of the city near major shopping malls, this hotel is not for you. However, there is quite a good size mall whose anchor tenant is Carrefour located on the right of the hotel which is about 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Surabaya, General Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear TJX05,

Thank you for staying with us and for this review
We are pleased to learn that you had enjoyable time at Novotel Surabaya.

Your comment about the new room had been taken note and we will work on the mentioned issues to provide better product and please be assured that we constantly maintain our property for keep it on a good level.

Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Djulkarnain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    354
    216
    94
    67
See reviews for
327
104
57
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was my second visit to Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites (from 17th to 18tth September 2013). My recent stay at this hotel was a nice experience of newly renovated rooms, wonderfully friendly staffs and an especially warm hospitality.

The hotel General manager Mr. Djulkarnain is always on hand for his excellent personal touch and attention to detail.

Breakfast is of excellent quality with large selection of Indonesian and Western foods.

Unfortunately there's a few minor downsides, ... toilet amenities & shower holder in the bathroom need a better improved novotel standard. The housekeeping staffs need to pay attention about the cleanliness of the room balcony.

I give Novotel Surabaya Hotel & Suites a B rating and would stay there again for my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Surabaya, General Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Bapak Denny,

Thank you for your second stay and for taking the time to give your review about Novotel Surabaya.

It is great to know that you are happy with our staff hospitality and breakfast selection.
Your comments about our room had been shared with the Manager concerned.

Again, thank you for your review and I look forward for your next stay with us at Novotel Surabaya again soon!

Best regards,
Djulkarnain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I had bad experience when stay in this hotel. I rented 2 rooms all the cheapest room for my family. It cost 860 k . Total I spent 1.720 k . I just knew the have a family room that cost only 1.4 k including 3 bed rooms. When I checked in the reseptionist told me that only one room was ready. The other was still cleaned . We waited so long for the other room until the maghrib prayer. The response of the staffs are slow. I suggest you to eat your breakfast in 6-7 am becoz I must wait 30 minutes when I ate my breakfast at 9. The cafe is so small

The nice thing here is the view, te pool and the free horse riding that make my child happy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Surabaya, General Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Andreaika,

First of all, thank you to choosing Novotel Surabaya as your place to stay during your visit to Surabaya and for your time to share your experience.

We are terribly sorry to hear that you have experienced some inconveniences for long time check in and attentiveness of our front desk. We have taken note your comment about restaurant capacity and become our consideration for the next improvement of our dining room.

Once again thank you for your valuable inputs to allow us improve the quality of product and services and on behalf of Management Novotel Surabaya I sincerely apology for the inconvenience caused.

I wish my team and I remain having the opportunity to welcome you back and serve you better on your next visit to Surabaya.

Best regards,
Djulkarnain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Recently refurbished and has amazing swimming pools and is highly recommended.Dinner was average and cheap by aussie standards
Rooms are new - twin beds are 3/4 size of a double and bathroom has a glass wall!

Room Tip: Top floor 3rd overlooking the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlgoaDoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

comfortable and clean room, great buffet for breakfast, quiet and friendly staff..good for bussines and vacation with family cause have a great swimming pool....location is strategic and near to the shopping center.

Room Tip: suite room is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luq777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#25 of 134 in Surabaya
658 reviews
1.9 mi away
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
#34 of 134 in Surabaya
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#27 of 134 in Surabaya
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Alana Surabaya
The Alana Surabaya
#10 of 134 in Surabaya
432 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 134 in Surabaya
285 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites

Property: Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Address: Jln. Ngagel 173-175, Surabaya 60246, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites is a 4 star hotel conveniently located in the main business district of Surabaya. For business trips and holidays, this hotel is the perfect destination, offering conference facilities, a fitness centre, outdoor pool, tennis courts, activities and Dolfi Kids Club. Our 209 well appointed rooms offer comfort and convenience. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, or relax and unwind in one of our two bars. This is not just a business hotel, but a holiday resort in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Surabaya Novotel
Novotel Surabaya Hotel And Suites Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing