We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They haven't thought of much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Ranked #41 of 129 Hotels in Surabaya
Semarang, Indonesia
1 review
“They haven't thought of much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Let it be said that I love the Novotel brand (Yogakarta, Solo and Semarang are excellent) but this city's leaves a lot to be desired. Four people to a room and only 2 hand towels in the bathroom? No idea where the US Consulate is or any idea of how to find it? Not a single suggestion for nearby places to eat when we asked? (And billing problems and pretty average tasting overpriced dishes when we did eat in the hotel.) No mention in advance the pool would be unavailable for part of our stay? Damaged waterslide when the pool did open and a warning that the pool water might still hurt your skin. Despite the family oriented kids club elsewhere, no mention of it or anything special for the kids when we checked in. Even by the local standards of poor (absent?) customer service, this was a disappointment. And yet it is still much better than many other local options if you are just looking for a quick business stay and the company is picking up the tab.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Expatprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    345
    206
    90
    67
See reviews for
320
97
56
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stay 2 nights (25th & 28th March) at this wonderful property. Upon check in, a bellboy brought me to the room immediately. The renovated Superior room was bigger than the ones found at other Novotels. On the first night, there were some banging noice from the upper floor which penentrated thru my room's ceiling. The matter was resolved after I asked someone to check what was happening. On the second check in, the same bellboy recognised me and addressed me by my name. That was nice. The second night was peaceful and I had a great sleep on the 'square' pillows. Hmm...I think I have just found my new favourite hotel in Surabaya!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank drdpcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Air cond in the room did not work as it should be, maintenance personel did come & try to fix it, but the problem stayed. It was warm! Second time this ha happened, previously during our stay at Novotel Bandung. Is that the best Novotel can do?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank m_meriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

nice and big. entering the lobby you feel like your at home. the rooms are big. service is good. but still I think its time the hotel need a fresh look. it looks good now but it is getting old. aside from that its a great place to relax.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James Timothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Book 1 room for 2 night, I stay alone for business but I can enjoy the stay. the pool was good and gym also.
Room service and food also good, and good taste. the view of the room facing to pool is my favorite.

I recommend this hotel for business and leisure hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoni_Agustino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the apartment near the pool. Pools were nice and the hotel have a nice kid's pool. Maybe the pool is only the selling point here. Nearby the pool is a children indoor playground which was also fun for the kids. Room was a bit dated though, with average cleanliness. Facilities were also dated and dusty. Breakfast was decent and many varieties, but the taste was just standard.
However the hotel atmosphere and ambience is relaxing. The garden infront of the apartment is nice to walk about also the seating area nearby the pool. Hotel staffs were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RonnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed with my friend and when we arrived the hotel upgrade our room since the room that we requested full. They have renovation during that time and the renovation start on 8 am -5 pm. Unfortunately, they worked up to 7 pm until we complain to the receptionist and happened again in the next day. The breakfast is standard and same menu everyday. They have many guess that stay for workshop there and during the breakfast it's hard find a seat for us.

The location is quite far from the city. I will not stay again in this hotel, if I'll go to Surabaya.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiurmaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#21 of 129 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.9 mi away
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
#35 of 129 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.2 mi away
Horison Suites Surabaya
Horison Suites Surabaya
#46 of 129 in Surabaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Alana Surabaya
The Alana Surabaya
#7 of 129 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite
Grand Darmo Suite
#23 of 129 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 129 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites

Property: Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Address: Jln. Ngagel 173-175, Surabaya 60246, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites is a 4 star hotel conveniently located in the main business district of Surabaya. For business trips and holidays, this hotel is the perfect destination, offering conference facilities, a fitness centre, outdoor pool, tennis courts, activities and Dolfi Kids Club. Our 209 well appointed rooms offer comfort and convenience. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, or relax and unwind in one of our two bars. This is not just a business hotel, but a holiday resort in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Surabaya Novotel
Novotel Surabaya Hotel And Suites Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing